We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Poor Richard's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poor Richard's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poor Richard's Inn
17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Poor Richard's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and i chose to stay at Poor Richard's Inn again this past weekend. Harriet is a great hostess and is very helpful. We were in room 6 on the third floor, which was a nice, decent sized room. The clawfoot tub in the corner of the room was a nice touch, although the shower was definitely not designed with a 6'4" guy in mind. No biggie though- we had a wonderful time. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were good with a good selection of fresh fruits, breads, and different hot items each morning. The inn is located on Jackson Street, which is pretty much right at the center of it all. The rates are great, staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are nice too. What more do you need? We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Gosh, everybody's so nice to me. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Poor Richard's Inn definately enhances a vacation in Cape May with it's breakfasts, accomodations and charm. Harriet is a great hostess with a wonderful breakfast and wonderful accomodations of morning newspapers,beach chairs, beach towels, books and games in the event the day or night may keeps you indoors.Of course the breakfast was always fabulous and she helps to create a comfortable atmosphere where the other guests enjoy talking with each other and with her. She also was able to share special events that were occuring in Cape May during our visit as well as restaurant suggestions. The house is beautiful and the location is ideal. Our vacation in Cape May was definately exceptional because of our stay at Poor Richard's Inn. Sue B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
When you have great guests, how can you not want to make them happy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love Poor Richard's Inn in Cape May. I have stayed there maybe a dozen times and always have a good experience. You cannot get a better location in the city of Cape May and Harriet, the owner always does a great job of making guests feel welcome. There are fancier B&B's, and you can certainly spend more money for lodging, and you can even be slightly closer to the beach, but you will not find a better value overall. Over the years I there have been numerous improvements to the inn, and it is always clean, comfortable, and well kept. Harriet knows what she's doing and knows how to train her help as well. Poor Richard's is one half block from the beach on Jackson Street and right in the heart of Cape May. The Washington Street Mall is a block and a half in the opposite direction, so the location is ideal. I have stayed at other B&B's in Cape May, and have visited friends staying at various other inns as well, and I have no desire to stay anywhere else. Harriet's breakfasts are of the continental plus variety, and are sometimes a bit overly carb laden, but breads, spreads, cereals, fruit, coffee, teas, juice and an occaisional quiche or casserole abound and you will not go hungry. Poor Richard's also attracts an eclectic mix of travelers from all over the northeast and the south, and I have met some interesting people staying there. Harriet is a talented artist as well, and her artwork may be seen all over the walls throughout the inn. Cape May has become my seaside home away from home, and Poor Richard's Inn is my lodging of choice when staying there.

Room Tip: Poor Richard's Inn has three floors, so book as far ahead as possible if climbing stairs are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words. I love this business and when guests take the time to post something nice it really keeps me going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

On a return visit to Cape May, I stayed in Poor Richard's Inn and I would say that it is definitely an excellent value for the area. The Inn is centrally located and the Inn hosts are very welcoming and hospitable.
I liked the morning breakfast set up. It is self serve and comes with fresh fruits and excellent coffee! You can either eat in the table area or you can use a tray to bring your food back to your room or upstairs to the very cute shared terrace which overlooks Jackson street.
I stayed in a very spacious room with three side exposures....... wonderful!
I guess the only thing keeping me from giving five stars is the fact that it has the quirks of an older home. You can hear the footsteps of those above you .......but this wasn't anything awful.
The water pressure is good, so showering is not a concern.
Overall, a very good experience and highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet...pick a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Poor Richards is our favorite place to stay in Cape May. We have had to stay at other places when Harriet was all booked. They didn't even compare. The Inn is decorated in Harriets own colliage art which is absolutley incredible..each room has it's own character and charm. Harriet makes you feel like you have known her for years from the first time you meet her. We have recommended this Inn to all our friends. Just a block from the beach and two blocks from all the restaurants and town...once you park your car, you can leave it for the week and just relax. Our last stay began the evening after a hurricane went through the area. While the rest of the town was boarded up...we contacted Harriet and of course she said "come on down!" If you are going to Cape May...there is only place that I would stay...great job to Harriet, Melana and the whole staff.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is on the second floor in the front of the Inn...right off the porch that give a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you to all who gave me great reviews this year. I love my guests and my job as innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is one of the quaintest bed and breakfasts in Cape May. The owner, Harriet, makes you feel that you are more than a guest, but rather a good friend. Prices are reasonable by local standards. The best deals can be had after Labor Day. You are within walking distance of the beach and the mall. We love it and have been coming here for 20 years.

Room Tip: Reserve early and get the best choices. Try to get a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floro, Norway
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a treasure of a place, so Cape May quaint. Very central, lovely clean rooms, The hostess was full of charm, had a totally long breakfast where we got to know the other guests. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Poor Richard's we try to strike a balance between today's informality and yesterday's charm, without being pretentious or overbearing. We're friendly and helpful, but respect your privacy; and while the rooms are furnished with period pieces, our primary goal is to have guests feel comfortable and "at home" — we're not aiming at strict Victorian authenticity...and our prices aren't too outrageous. We are located less than a minute's walk to Cape May's main beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list