We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poor Richard's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poor Richard's Inn
Save
You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list
17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Floro, Norway
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a treasure of a place, so Cape May quaint. Very central, lovely clean rooms, The hostess was full of charm, had a totally long breakfast where we got to know the other guests. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had a very nice time! Harriet is a very experienced and helpful hostess and innkeeper. The breakfast is self-serve, ample, and delicious, with one hot entrée, a cake or sweet bread, toasting bread and/ or English muffins, cereal, fruit, etc. The room was very functional with a refrigerator, TV, and a comfortable and clean bed. For Cape May, which can be very pricey, Poor Richards delivers very good price/ performance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Well, me and my wife have been staying here for years. I think I've been in each room, which are charming, clean and super comfortable. This 3 story B and B built in 1872 is very affordable, located in the perfect spot and has a beautiful 2nd story porch with views of historic JACKSON ST. and Beach. Speaking of the beach, Jackson St, is the most gorgeous location. Get ready to take scenic pics from the Jetty on the beach directly down the Street from Poor Richards. Washington St. is a stone's throw from our home away from home and features great shopping, eating and strolling opportunities. Harriet is an absolutely wonderful host. Heck we got engaged on the beach at Jackson Street. Why not its got romance written all over it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Second stay with Harriet at the inn....awesome ... We stayed for nine days in room number 8, we were comfortable, breakfast was A1 and the b&b was clean and everyone was friendly! You can't beat the price and the location half block from beach cannot be beat !!!!!!
We will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have stayed at Poor Richard's twice now, and we are hooked. You cannot beat the location, a block from the beach and 2 blocks from the Washington street shopping area. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. Harriet is a great host who helped us out with all of our questions and needs.

The parking is off site, and the breakfast is informal/continental, and we accept that as the trade off for the great price. If you want all the extras that a fancy B&B offers, book there and pay more. If you want to stay at a nice, clean, comfortable B&B, in a super location at a great price, then stay at Poor Richard's.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Poor Richard's Inn provides a stress free, laid back vacation atmosphere. Harriet, the innkeeper, is always friendly and helpful. She is a fantastic artist and displays her artwork throughout the inn. The rooms are comfortable, not over done and cheerful. One of the best bargains in Cape May without all of the fuss, and only a block from the beach. The outdoor shower is awesome after a sandy day on the beach, and the porches all provide a pleasant way to start or end your day. Breakfast is an informal affair, just as it should be when you are on a vacation (and does not require you to get up at the break of dawn!) . The staff is cheerful (even Ralph the cat). We have been going here for years, and extend our stay every year....

Room Tip: Room 6 has a tub in the room, very romantic and great for long baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This Is our third consecutive year staying at Poor Richard's Inn for our annual Cape May Vacation. We have had accommodations in two different rooms and both have been very clean and nicely appointed. Park your car and forget it. The location is fantastic! The breakfasts are varied and quite satisfying. Lovely porches for relaxing. The innkeeper, Harriet, is friendly and very helpful. Her team of staff are also very nice. We feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed in this wonderful B&B. We plan to return again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Poor Richard's we try to strike a balance between today's informality and yesterday's charm, without being pretentious or overbearing. We're friendly and helpful, but respect your privacy; and while the rooms are furnished with period pieces, our primary goal is to have guests feel comfortable and "at home" — we're not aiming at strict Victorian authenticity...and our prices aren't too outrageous. We are located less than a minute's walk to Cape May's main beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.