We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Crest Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Save
You added Sea Crest Motor Inn to your Saves list
101 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute getaway to Cape May New Jersey. There were not many places with vacancies and we booked the Sea Crest. A little skeptical because it was not a Chain Hotel. It is family owned. Well we were pleasantly surprised. The Sea Crest was renovated two years ago. The suite overlooked the ocean as well as ocean front pool, jacuzzi and was spotless. The grounds were spotless as well and super clean. The suites all have a kitchenette with full size refrigerator and 4 burner stove if you want to cook. Good sized bathroom and I just can't say enough about the suite. It was wonderful. The staff at the Sea Crest was more then helpful. Our maid (Claudia) surely knew how to clean. No dirt no dust anywhere. This was our first time visiting Cape May and will be back. In fact, we are planning our next trip to cape May and will surely stay here again. Try it, you'll like it !!!! Just one thing. No restaraunt, however, there are more then enough excellent places to eat fairly reasonable, delicious and all within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you like to face the ocean from your suite ask for a suite facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review. We also appreciate you acknowledging "Claudia." Our girls work very hard to keep the rooms spotless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    94
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
263
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I just stayed for 2 days. Arrived in the middle of torrential down pours but the weather cleared and it was very nice the rest of our stay! We had a great view of the ocean and lighthouse from our 4th floor balcony. Can't beat it! The room was very clean and the staff is very pleasant. Talked with Cathy who was extremely personable as well as all the rest of the staff. We will definately stay there again! If you want a drink and something to eat by the ocean, the Rusty Nail is a minute down the street or if you want to catch the sunset, just walk a few minutes in the other direction. Treat yourself to this little gem by the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so glad you got to see the sun come out. That Friday rain was a doozy. Thanks for the nice review and we hope you can stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our first visit to the Sea Crest we had a suite with king size bed kitchen area and a front living room our baloney over looked the pool and ocean. We loved the location. A quick walk to the beach. The view was very beautiful. We enjoyed our stay. It was a longer walk to the mall were we had dinner every night but it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Great to hear that your first stay with us was enjoyable. We know your second will be just as nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the rooms were very clean and roomy! we had the sundeck room which was very private but
the view was terrible -the balcony looked out at a blank wall and the back of another motel which had garbage piled up! the swimming pool was very nice - the people who run the hotel were very nice. The location is excellent-across from the beach in a very quiet part of cape may.Be aware that you have to pay for beach passes!! Also be aware that the taxes you must pay adds a bout
$20 a day to the bill! All in all i woulrd strongly reccomend this hotel but would suggest a different room location!

Room Tip: high floors facing the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. You stayed in our sundeck suites which are our most economical suites because of the view. These rooms sell out quickly because they have 2 rooms and kitchens for the price of a regular motel room. We hope you try one of other rooms when you come next season. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I live in northern NJ and were looking for a weekend getaway. I had heard many good things about Cape May but was turned off by the overwhelming amount of bed and breakfasts at $300+ per night.

The Sea Crest Motor Inn was PERFECT. We just wanted a room. Nothing fancy. Didn't even care if we had a view because the truth is, we were only going to be sleeping there since it was a quick getaway. I called and was greeted by an extremely pleasant woman who offered me their BASIC room with no view. The price was right - so I booked it.

The employees were just as pleasant when we arrived. We arrived earlier than check in time and they accommodated us with no issues.

The room was clean and quiet. Parking was provided. Honestly, the only thing that wasn't perfect was that the bed was on the hard side.

I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
So glad you gave our Inn a try. Also, thanks for letting our potential customers know that you can get a great bargain escpecially if you don't need a view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Returning to the Sea Crest after a few years away, was like going back home again. The Inn is still beautifully maintained and the rooms are spotless. The updated kitchen area, bathroom and wood floors were a nice surprise. You just can't beat the location directly across from the beach, with the sound of the waves and beautiful ocean breeze as you sit on the balcony or enjoy the pool. Bob and Cindy went out of there way to make us comfortable, and we will definitely return next year! Thanks, from Deb and Dave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Deb and Dave. Thanks for letting us know you appreciated the updates to our rooms. Don't stay away so long next time. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the Sea Crest autumn 2012 for 4 days with my family and loved this location. We got a room on the top floor with actual views of the Cap Point Lighthouse. The room was very spacious and ultra clean. While the decor may appear a bit out-of-fashion (it would not win a boutique hotel prize), but it has some nautic charm and, compared to many other front line motels and hotels on Beach Ave., is surely one of the best choices. The pool is lovely and you have the feeling it is almost on the beach.

The owners are a lovely and welcoming couple. A bit less of a positive experience was their receptionist, but once the owners got involved, everything worked out fine again. Note that they offer a substantial discount if you pay cash - so bring our ATM card along, it is worth it. In summary, good value for money at prime location in Cape May.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view some of which even to the Cap Point Lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for the review. We love it when customers let our potential guests know how lovely the fall can be here in Cape May. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Crest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Motor Inn

Address: 101 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is the perfect romantic Cape May getaway for couples. The Sea Crest is owned and operated by a local couple, and located in a quiet part of Cape May overlooking one of the largest beaches on the island. Close to the shopping area, fine restaurants and historical homes.With features like ocean front suites with fully equipped kitchens, the only out door whirlpool in Cape May and extra large balconies, why stay anywhere else? Close to restaurants, nightspots, fishing, tennis, golfing, swimming,biking shopping and just steps away from the beach, you haven't experienced the Jersey Shore until you've experienced Cape May at the Sea Crest Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Motor Hotel Cape May
Sea Crest Cape May
Cape May Sea Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Crest Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.