We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another reason to visit Cape May!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peter Shields Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Peter Shields Inn to your Saves list
The Peter Shields Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Louisville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another reason to visit Cape May!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 2-year wedding anniversary at the Peter Shields Inn. As third time guests (also married there), once again, the Peter Shields Inn delivered a romantic, memorable stay. Our stay this year, however, far exceeded our expectations. The newly redesigned foyer, restaurant, sun and front porches were absolutely beautiful. The choice of décor included all the elements of paying homage to an earlier time while feeling the infusion of a contemporary flair. The deliberate choice in fabric, colors, furniture and style told us that the Peter Shields Inn had one concept in mind…to make each guest visit filled with class, romance with a touch of nostalgia. Matching the elegance of the inn, was the hospitality of the staff. The familiar face of Ms. Bridgette warmly greeted us and immediately made us feel at home. Mr. Jeff proudly provided a personal tour of the inn; our eyes met each updated detail in awe. Later that evening, we enjoyed exquisite cuisine prepared served by the wonderful and professional staff – our warmest regards to the Chef Carl. After a peaceful night’s rest, we again enjoyed a lovely breakfast, including a variety of fruits and pastries, (and on that day) blueberry pancakes with sausage. The most troubling part of our stay was checking out – we didn’t want to leave! The Peter Shields Inn will always hold a special place in our hearts – I look forward to our next stay, to see the staff we’ve come to know and lose ourselves in the beauty and romance if this historic inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    14
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
113
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in January 2012. Cape May is pretty quiet during that time of the year, which provided us with much needed rest and time alone. The house is absolutely beautiful and cozy. Our room had a slight view of the beach (right across the street) and had a warm fireplace that we could control. The service staff was very friendly and engaging. The fresh homemade breakfast was just enough to get us going. The assortment of courtesy snacks in the pantry room and wonderful taffy was a treat. It was just a peaceful experience altogether. The rooms and house are kept clean, very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at PSI last weekend. What a wonderful place. We will measure every other B+B against this one in the future and it will be difficult to come close to the level of excellence we experienced here.The building itself is lovely and the decor just right. Right across the road from the beach, many rooms with water views. We peeked in other rooms and all are immaculate and decorated in a lovely country fashion. Our bathroom was great and had a large tub with jacuzzi. The place has bicycles that we used to ride to the nature center where we hiked and looked for birds. Later we used the beach chairs provided by the hotel and had an hour or so sitting on the beach-great for an April afternoon! The breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit,yogurt parfaits,warm muffins and a special hot breakfast each day. We had dinner at the restaurant on Saturday evening. A gourmet meal with piano player serenading us throughout the meal and beyond. There is a lobby area with a gas fireplace-nice to sit by and read on a cool afternoon. The wine and cheese at 4:30 was an enjoyable way to meet other guests and relax.

We hope to return in the future. They are getting everything just right here.An absolutely delightful place to stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richboro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I needed some downtime after our daughter's wedding, this is what the doctor order. Peter Shields was a very relaxing place, it was very clean, the staff were wonderful.
The place was beautiful, the food and the service were awesome. I highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This mini getaway was sooo needed and the Peter Shields Inn was the perfect location! I booked the Peter Shields Inn for an overnight stay for my mom's birthday - she has always wanted to stay at this beautiful B&B. The Peter Shields Inn was running an amazing $99 special on rooms in March, so we figured it was a nice time to visit, before the crowds head to the beach. Arriving on Sunday, the weather was typical for end of March, overcast and chilly, but the warmth that Bridget's personality brought on, was so appreciated. Bridget is laid back, upbeat, and the perfect hostess. The Inn is appointed in such lovely fashion, and our room was perfect!
We were surprised at how busy the Inn was for March, I think nearly every room was occupied. The wine and cheese reception was a lovely touch, and the full breakfast on the enclosed porch was a nice start to the day.
We dined for dinner at the Peter Shields Inn on Sunday evening. The meal was truly perfect - the oysters were served with a champagne ice that topped the oysters perfectly, the tuna tartare was of top quality sushi, the surf and turf with risotto combined wonderful flavors and the beef tenderloin melted in your mouth. Don't forget dessert - the espresso icecream and date toffee pudding were perfect endings to a fantastic meal. Christophe, our server was top-notch. The decor of the Inn and dining area are so beautiful. And, on Monday morning, the sun arrived, and sitting on the front porch, watching and listening to the Atlantic Ocean made it nearly impossible to checkout. Bridget even offers convincing ideas on how to stay and not have to return to work - if only that were possible! Thank you for providing a perfect getaway retreat for a lovely birthday celebration, and quick refresher!
We will absolutely return, and soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Full disclosure - we stayed at the Peter Shields Inn off-season, in March 2012. Cape May is closed down and quiet at this time of year. We stayed one night (and had dinner) on a driving trip to Florida.

Having said that, if PSI is this nice off-season, it must be awesome when you can go to the beach too!

The Peter Shields inn is over 100 years old and sits on Beach Avenue in Cape May, right across from the beach. The rooms are decorated in a period style - our room had a king bed and gas fireplace. The bathroom was of an older style but well-appointed with modern amenities. The public areas of the Inn are attractive, well-decorated and attractive. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Oh, and the restaurant is terrific too. It is BYOB - so you can bring your own wine for dinner.

We'll come back,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here on a driving holiday from New York to New Orleans. This place is terrific, from the staff (especially Bridget) to the decor and the meals. Nothing could be faulted. Free wine and cheese at 4.00pm just added to the elegance. It was like stepping back in time! A wonderful one night stay and wished that we could have stayed a little longer. Even the gas fires in each room added to the opulence and individuality of this establishment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peter Shields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peter Shields Inn

Address: 1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peter Shields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter Shields Inn is Cape May's most romantic bed and breakfast. Enjoy the beautiful Cape May ocean views from our porch. Experience the luxurious, high-ceilinged rooms and five-star gourmet meals in our Zagat-rated restaurant. Sumptuous, leisurely breakfasts are included with your stay as well as leisurely afternoon "wine and cheese." Additional amenities include his-and-her bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, plush bedding and nightly turndown, and five-star concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Peter Shields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peter Shields Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peter Shields Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.