We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Christmas Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Gables
Save
You added Twin Gables to your Saves list
731 Columbia Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Malvern, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A Wonderful Christmas Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We came to Cape May over the December 18th weekend for the Christmas Candlelight House Tour and wanted a reasonably priced B&B within walking distance of the tour. We picked Twin Gables because of the positive reviews, room availability, good price and that there was no two night minimum requirement. We arrived to find an intimate, warm and friendly B&B with Regina as our hostess. Everything was perfect from the victorian decor of the bedrooms and living room to the afternoon tea and morning breakfast to the great location on Columbia Avenue. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to come back again to visit Regina. Thanks for making our weekend so pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Regina, the innkeeper of Twin Gables, is one of the nicest, most accommodating B&B hosts we have ever had the pleasure of staying with. Staying with her was like visiting a favorite aunt (or other female relative) who loves to dote on you. One proof of this is the number of people who return to stay with her again and again; we noted that a number of the other guests during our stay fit into that category. We will definitely stay with Regina again when we next visit Cape May. Also, Regina goes all out with her breakfasts, which are inventive, delicious and take guests' dietary needs into account. Twin Gables was clean, quiet and well-located, and staying there was all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Twin Gables was great - clean, value priced, wonderful innkeeper in Regina, who welcomed us and our boys. Close to the beach, clean, great food. As a bonus, there are two wonderful well behaved dogs on the property - Rascal and Brandy! highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Regina, Brandy and Rascal were wonderful hosts. Many of the guests staying the same weekend were repeat guests - which is always a wonderful sign. Breakfast and afternoon goodies were yummy! In fact, I gained 3 pounds over the weekend - but have no regrets.
The room was what I expected (bed was very comfy in the Dwyer Room). Walls are a bit thin, so if you are a light sleeper you may be up earlier than expected by movement throughout the house. But, nothing beats waking up to the smell of bacon and anything baked!
The Inn is a great value and I will visit again. Thanks Regina - I felt like I was visiting with family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Had a pleasant stay and an incredible breakfast. Regina was a gracious and pleasant host, and so was Brandy. We would recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Our stay at the Twin Gables was so relaxing. It is a fantastic bed and breakfast, the Inn keeper Regina makes a fabulous breakfast. It is about 3 blocks from the beach and parking is easy to find on the street. The B&B is very relaxing, you will love just sitting out on the porch enjoying the slow relaxed lifestyle of Cape May after a great day at the beach. The rooms are comfortable with ceiling fans and air conditioning to keep you comfortable and private bathrooms in each room. There are beach towels and chairs available as well as a shower in the back for you to clean the sand off after a nice relaxing day at the beach. There is even a snack time in the afternoon with snacks and wine to enjoy. I definitely recommend the Twin Gables for your trip to Cape May.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

I just returned from a mini vacation in cape may. Had to stay three different places in order to secure my days.Twin gables was my day 2 and 3. I will definately return. The Inn is charming and the Inn Keeper couldn"t have been more acomadating. We go to cape may to escape, and this was a great escape. The reviewer disgruntled because of no Tv should go stay at the holiday Inn. One of the charms of cape may is the feeling of going back in time. The food and tea and wine at 3pm was great. Brandy is the resident Golden Retreiver what a love. we are alredy trying to figure out when we can return. cathie&jim at the jersey shore

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twin Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Gables

Address: 731 Columbia Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Gables is the left house of a Victorian Twin built in 1879. The guest rooms are located on the 2nd floor. Guests may enjoy the screened veranda, antique-filled parlor or garden. WIFI is located throughout the Inn. Breakfast served on the veranda or parlor based on the season. Teatime is served in the afternoon and consists of homemade refreshments, tea and wine. All guest rooms include private, stall-shower baths, ceiling fans and a/c. Guest rooms are decorated with Victorian antiques. Parking located on street - no meters. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.