We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bed and breakfst experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayberry Inn
Save
You added Bayberry Inn to your Saves list
223 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful bed and breakfst experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Bayberry Inn in Cape May during August 10-14, 2007. The inn keepers, Toby and Andy were so warm and hospitable. Any requests were greeted with a smile and they were so enjoyable to talk to. The breakfasts were delicious. It was so much fun meeting the other guests and chatting with them at breakfast. We also loved using the rocking chairs on the front porch. I can't wait to return and I hope to do so next summer.
I would recommend the Bayberry Inn to anyone vacationing in Cape May. The inn's location is excellent: 2 blocks from the beach and one short block from the pedestrian mall in Cape May where everything is happening!
Another plus is that they give you beach chairs and towels for the beach, so you don't have to lug them from home.
I'm smiling as I am writing this, remembering what a wonderful time we had!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I liked the facilities. We stayed in a 3rd floor suite that had all the amenities, very nice jacuzzi, well appointed (bad paintings but this isn't the Ritz). However, the inn keepers were kind of unhospitable about coffee and food. The coffee is served at 8 am and if you want it earlier "you can go to the Wa-Wa down the block". Several days the coffee was not available until significantly after 8. The same thing with the food "breakfast is served at 9 and if you want something at another time we can reccommend...". Well the one day we decided to try the breakfast it was served 20 min late and with such pomp that my husband said "I felt like I was in boarding school not on vacation". Breakfas WAS delicious, but it was served over the course of an hour, one course at a time, Ladies first. We felt it was a waste of time.
Parking can be a hassle, you have to leave your key on the mantle.

At the end of the stay I felt like they had this idea that a victorian bed and breakfast should be a certain way, and it didn't matter if the guests had what they needed or not.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi
  • Disliked — The inn keepers didn't seem to mind wasting their guests time with victorian protocol at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeMayDiamond, owner at Bayberry Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2007
Yes, we remember these guests... We welcomed them personally with the same genuine hospitality and concern for their comfort as we have everyone for the 8 years we've been in business.

While the vast majority of our guests enjoy our three course breakfasts, we understand that some have a desire to be out early; so we provide an early-birder breakfast to go. Breakfast was a few minutes later on the one morning they decided to have breakfast, due to a situation beyond our control. We apologized.

This guest implies that parking could be a problem; yet, at no time during their stay had anyone been inconvenienced. We even made sure that their car was always easily accessable to them. That's why leaving a key on the mantle is a good idea - and we are here to move any car that needs to be moved.

These people were rude and inconsiderate. They did not respect us or our property, though we made every effort to see to their comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

The Bayberry Inn is in a perfect location -- a short walk from the beach, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable (but not overdone like some B&Bs), Toby's breakfasts are wonderful, and Andy always seems to be there when you're looking for something or have a question. We like the sit-down breakfast (a great start before an afternoon at the beach) -- not only for the food but getting to know the other guests. There are so many terrific things to do in Cape May, but sitting on the front porch (or the back porch for that matter) at the Bayberry Inn is one of our favorites.

  • Liked — location and hospitality of innkeepers
  • Disliked — couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast in the middle of June as a mid-week getaway. It was a truly relaxing and refreshing experience. We were extremely impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the
owners, Toby and Andy. Their breakfasts were homemade and delicious, and they were very attentive to our likes and dislikes, asking us upon check-in if there were any foods we were allergic to or just plain disliked. They were also very helpful in making dinner reservations for us, and offering suggestions to area restaurants and activities. They also supplied us with beach towels as well as tags (chairs are also available). At night, they have a lovely little
screened-in back porch where you can sit and enjoy the evening without being bitten by mosquitoes. They also have a drawer full of board games you can play while you're there.

We stayed in the Sunshine Room, which was lovely. It was immaculately
clean and very nicely decorated. The bathroom, although a bit on the tiny side, was clean as well and everything was in excellent working order. I would like to second the one reviewer who said that you can smell the fresh coffee brewing in the morning!

Since we were out most afternoons, we only experienced the afternoon tea once, but the cookies were amazing!

This was our first experience at a Cape May B&B, but I can't think of anything that would have made our experience any better.

  • Liked — Breakfast, location, cleanliness, owners
  • Disliked — No complaints!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

This is the third time my fiance and I have been to the Bayberry Inn. This B & B is a block from the Washington Street Mall and an easy walk to the beach. The inn keepers (Andy & Toby) are friendly, knowledgable of the area and attractions and detail oriented. If you love flowers- particularly orchids, Toby displays many unusual varieties in the parlor. These flowers rivaled the ones at the NY Botanical Gardens. The guest rooms are a nice size and since they only have five rooms, it never feels crowded like a hotel or the B & B's that have 30 rooms and have lost their quaint charm. The Ivy Room is my favorite because it has a fireplace in the room. However, Andy is currently working on renovations and I look forward to seeing their new jacuzzi suite next visit.

They made us feel welcomed and looked to make our stay even better by helping with dinner reservations and by making recommendations. Breakfast was wonderful and served restaurant style. The day of check in we were asked if we had any dietary restrictions or food dislikes- so they could adjust the breakfast menu accordingly, which I thought was very considerate. Additionally, afternoon tea is a must- Toby makes the best peanut butter-chocolate chip cookies. We enjoyed tea and cookies sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs. I can't think of a single complaint, except that we didn't stay longer to relax and enjoy the Bayberry Inn.

  • Liked — Friendly relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

When we first arrived at the Bayberry Inn after a long 2+ hour drive, my father had to use the bathroom. They said that there was not a public bathroom. We were about an hour off from checking in and he was not allowed to use the bathroom. Give me a break!!

Breakfast is served at 9:00 am and you have to let them know then night before whether or not you will be there. Well, what if you decide to sleep in? Or what if you decide at the last minute you want breakfast? They do serve a good breakfast, but it is very formal and lasts about 45 to an hour. Your day won't start until 10:00 or so.
Then my sister wanted more towels (I used the two that were given to me, one for my hair and one for my body). She was not allowed to receive another towel until the wet ones were brought back. I don't know if the thought was that we might be trying to steal these towels, but a little ridiculous and offensive. The towels aren't even the big fluffy body towels. They are something you would see in a locker room!!

Compared to other B & Bs, this is low on the comfort level. There are too many rules you have to abide by. I would look around before booking this one. For the money you are paying every night on a 3 night minimum stay, I just expected more.

But if you are going for the location only, this would be a good place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rules of the Inn
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeMayDiamond, owner/innkeeper at Bayberry Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2006
Being a small B&B, we desire to give all our guests the best possible service and personal attention. We greet everyone personally at check-in and are available throughout their stay with us. When guests arrive before check-in, we let them park in our driveway as a courtesy, give them a map, and show them where they may find restaurants (and restrooms) within a short block of our Inn. Unfortunately, we do not have bathroom facilities outside the guest rooms, which were not yet ready.

Because we prepare a full 3 course breakfast each day, rather than buffet style, we ask our guests to let us know if they will not be joining us for breakfast; yet we understand that this is not always known ahead of time. Lighter fare is always available for late risers.

Bath and beach towels are always available and gladdly replaced, but during our high season, the washer is kept going so that we don't run out.

Our policies were created thoughtfully with the intent of making Bayberry Inn comfortable and inviting to the vast majority. We regret that this individual did not find it so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

We stayed at the Bayberry Inn B&B last week. It was a great experience! The gourmet breakfast is served in their beautiful Victorian dining room, by the host Innkeeper, Andy.
It was wonderfully prepared by the hostess Innkeeper, Toby. Together they made our stay at the Bayberry Inn truly memorable. Our room was immaculate, with authentic Victorian decor. The sheets were so soft and smooth, they felt like fine silk. Tea was served on the front porch, since the weather was so nice. It was great to park our car, on the premises, and be able to walk to the mall to shop and to restaurants. Super location in Cape May. We look forward to going back to the Bayberry Inn whenever we can get away for a restful, elegant, and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn

Address: 223 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're conveniently located, a short walk to our fine beach, shops, dining, live theater, parks, and other attractions. We are known for our friendly hospitality, full breakfasts, and beautiful orchid collection! We now have a 24 hr. coffee bar. Enjoy the ambiance of an earlier era in a setting of unpretentious elegance, and find your inner peace again! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.