We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, gracious hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry Inn

Save Saved
You added Bayberry Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayberry Inn
223 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn, gracious hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We needed to make (very) spur of the moment reservations in Cape May, to meet with our Son, Daughter in Law, and grandbabies, for a few days' fun. Bayberry Inn had an opening for the days we needed, and surprisingly, the price was reasonable, comparatively. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Andy and given a brief history of the home. Then we met with Tobi. We were brought to our room and I was totally impressed with how clean it was, which is one of the most important things to me, when I stay somewhere. Our bed was comfortable, and even though the room was not the largest in the place, it was perfect for us. The breakfasts were all quite delicious. I was also very impressed by Tobi, who was at the time, caring for two little baby cardinals whose parents had "flown the coop" so to speak (they left one evening and did not return the next day, sadly). So, she took on the task of hand feeding them, but trying, at the same time, not to imprint on them, so they could learn to fend for themselves in the wild... she did a great job of this (and I still owe her a few photos of her hand-feeding them, too...). Both of them seem to just go out of their way to make your trip pleasant, but not to be overbearing, at the same time. Will we go back?? YOU BET! Especially since Cape May is my most favorite place in the world to be... and now that I found the Bayberry Inn? I'm set for life! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Looking for a reasonably priced B&B for a weekend getaway in Cape May, I trusted the positive feedbacks from other Tripadvisor reviewers.
The house is two blocks from the pedestrian area, has a lot of character, is impeccably clean, breakfast is great, and the owners are very friendly and helpful.
And if you like Orchids - the house is full of them!

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was the first time my dad and I visit to Cape May. After trying to search for these B&B's to book, they're almost all full. Until then... I've found this, and was vacant! We booked it for the weekend vacation on the near end of July. Lemme tell you... I love this place forever! It's soo beautiful, quiet, tranquil, and was based upon the Victorian architecture- that's more LIKE IT! The innkeepers, Tobi and Andy, (based upon their old-world generations) were sooo nice and sincere. The antique clocks and music boxes they collected were elegant! The multi-course breakfast as not just delicious, but sooo healthy as well... I'll visit here again next time! You MUST visit there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Bayberry Inn was truly the cleanest B & B we have ever stayed at. We are seasoned B n B'ers... this was one of the very best experiences we've had to date. The Innkeepers were so friendly it felt like we knew them forever. The room was lovely... cozy, comfortable, clean. Even the housekeeper was a sweetheart... ran into her in the "Mall" and she immediately recognized us and greeted us. As for the breakfasts, they were truly outstanding. Toby is a fantastic "chef" and Andy is so knowledgeable about Cape May and also gardening/orchids... which, we are AVID gardeners.. The location is excellent - one block from the Washington St. Mall and two 1/2 blocks from the beach. Our spur of the moment vacation to Cape May was truly enjoyable, heightened by the friendliness and hospitality of the innkeepers. We will definitely stay here again, and highly recommend the Bayberry Inn.

Room Tip: Since there are only five rooms at the Inn, it would depend on what you are looking for - if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

we arrived at cape may for a wedding, wife exhausted, checked in bayberry inn and greeted warmly by toby, the owner..showed us our room on the first floor (bad knees prevents climbing stairs) ..the room was small but comfortable. We met Andy, the other half who greeted us warmly as well..slept well, good bed, sweet room and great bed...breakfast is unique for a b and b ..in that everyone eats at 9 at the big dining table...breakfast was wonderful and conversation was equally good among the 6 other people at the b and b...andy and toby were gracious , helpful, entertaining and great hosts...dont plan on rushing thru breakfast, it lasted an hour or so in pleasure and relaxation. I would recommend the bayberry inn and the hosts without reservations...seth and barbara koch

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

After scouring the web and asking several friends about where to stay in Cape May, we decided on the Bayberry Inn for out "babymoon." I needed a private bathroom and wanted to be close by to everything, yet not in the center of the action, I also wanted parking on-site. Bayberry was perfect. The breakfast was super and the innkeepers were friendly, fun and helpful.

Room Tip: Call and ask what's available. The internet is not the only way to find out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Bayberry Inn is a place to go to relax and take your time. If you expect differently, then you might be disappointed. But if you are prepared to start your days a little slower and linger over coffee, then you won't be disappointed.

Centrally located, Bayberry offers easy access to the pleasures of Cape May, but is just far enough off the main drag to avoid much noise. Our room was just above the front of the house and we still slept through all three nights. The rooms are perhaps a little small, but Cape May and the surrounding areas are to be explored and enjoyed----not avoided. Overall, they were clean, comfortable, and cozy.

The house offers a shady side porch and a sunny front to sit and read, which are comfortable places to relax if you want to avoid the crush of people. The side porch also has a refrigerator for guests, making a convenient storage for leftovers, wine, and cheese in case you prefer pack a small lunch than brave the restaurant hordes.

Breakfast was a three-course affair, usually fruit, a typical sweet or savory breakfast dish (e.g. french toast, waffle, or frittata) with a bit of twist, and something special to finish. The food is neither too sweet or too savory, and generally perfectly filling. It is delivered at a leisurely pace and guests are seated together around a long table....enjoy the food and the company.

Last but not least, the owners are fantastic people who balance sociability, respectful distance, and service as best suits the occasion. They are what make Bayberry Inn a delightful stay and an experience worth going back to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn

Address: 223 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're conveniently located, a short walk to our fine beach, shops, dining, live theater, parks, and other attractions. We are known for our friendly hospitality, full breakfasts, and beautiful orchid collection! We now have a 24 hr. coffee bar. Enjoy the ambiance of an earlier era in a setting of unpretentious elegance, and find your inner peace again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bayberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.