We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an incredible stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry Inn

Save Saved
You added Bayberry Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayberry Inn
223 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
You'll love our location!
Ranked #24 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Ocean, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an incredible stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

What an amazing weekend. Staying at the Bayberry Inn was a perfect way to celebrate a special anniversary. Toby and Andy have the gift of hospitality and everything about the place says, "Welcome, we are glad you are here." Toby's breakfasts are 5 stars - not to be missed. We stayed in the suite and felt pampered the whole weekend, from the plush robes, to a relaxing soaking tub, to a fireplace, a sweet window seat, and more. A whole floor to ourselves! We will return and and enjoy their special touches again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I recently stayed at the Bayberry Inn with my sister and mom for our annual "Mommy-Daughter Getaway", and would stay here again in a heartbeat! This beautifully restored, historical home is warm and welcoming. Andy and Toby, the owners and hosts, have created an environment that provides all the creature comforts, but also maintains the historical charm of Cape May. The breakfasts are simply AMAZING...3-courses, all home-made, starting with fresh fruit, a sweet or savory main dish, and dessert! The upside-down french toast was so perfect, my mouth waters just thinking about it! The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable (although our air conditioner was a little noisy), and the location is ideal for shopping and the beach. We love the Bayberry Inn and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We went to Cape May for bird watching and were extremely pleased not only with the birding but also with the Bayberry Inn. The rooms were clean and well-appointed, the breakfasts were extraordinary, and the location central to everything. Even though it is located in the heart of downtown Cape May, we found the Inn quiet and restful. We were particularly taken with the screened-in side porch which overlooks a secluded garden. The innkeepers were very amiable and helpful in orienting us to the Cape, a welcome factor as this was our first (but clearly not our last) visit to the region.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our stay in the Bayberry Inn exceeded our expectations. It was magical. We actually got engaged the weekend of our stay!! The Bayberry Inn has a special place in our hearts and enabled us to have the most memorable engagement and weekend.

The home represents all that Cape May is known for. It was built during the early 1800's, maintains all of its Colonial charm and has a great porch for relaxing. Toby and Andy were very helpful hosts, and they take a lot of pride in the home. Andy has an award winning collection of Orchids, and Toby's 3 course breakfasts were simply magnificent. The location is a block and a half from the beach and a minutes walk to the Washington St Mall area, so you're right in the heart of the action.

The room itself was nice and inviting, and the same Colonial/Victorian style as the rest of the house. The home offers parking and beach chairs for its guests. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Thank you Toby and Andy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I have stayed at the Bayberry Inn so many times that it really does feel like "home away from home." It is like visiting old friends. The hospitality, cleanliness, decor, and breakfasts are just wonderful. I have been there in the Spring, Fall, and at Christmas time. I loved it each and every time. I always hate leaving and can't wait until the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia-santiago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

With so many B&B's in Cape May it was hard to chose one. My husband loved the idea that the innkeepers raise orchids, so that's how we selected the Bayberry Inn. We are so happy we did. The innkeepers are natives of the area and beaming with pride in their inn and the area. We are fond of places that are owner-operated, with less commercialism and an emphasis quality, and the Bayberry Inn is all those things. They were also very knowledgable about great places for a walk and restaurants, too. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband & I have have stayed in about 15 B&Bs in Cape May since 2004.

We particularly like to visit during the 1st/2nd week of December to enjoy the Victorian Christmas Decor, the tours and events during this time.

This year I selected the Bayberry because of the great location. You can walk to all the stores, shops and restaurant being only a few blocks away from everything.

We arrived on Friday and left on Monday and didn't use the car at all!

The Christmas Parade- first Saturday in December, came directly in front of the Bayberry- what a great spot! Homemade delicious chile and hot cider was available to the guests and what a delight since the evening was so cold.

Our accommodations far exceeded the pics on the internet! We had a comfortable and spacious suite with the quietest whirlpool tub I had ever been in... and impeccably clean!!!

Our breakfasts were simply divine!!!! We left the table stuffed and content with the great tasting food. Toby was very considerate in inquiring about any likes/dislikes for breakfast.

We had the most enjoyable time talking with other quests while we dined.

Everything was perfect!!!! The Bayberry Inn is definitely a B&B we will return next year!

Thanks Andy & Toby for a delightful experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn

Address: 223 Perry Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're conveniently located, a short walk to our fine beach, shops, dining, live theater, parks, and other attractions. We are known for our friendly hospitality, full breakfasts, and beautiful orchid collection! We now have a 24 hr. coffee bar. Enjoy the ambiance of an earlier era in a setting of unpretentious elegance, and find your inner peace again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bayberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.