We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly~but air conditioner over the bed was a bummer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avondale by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Avondale by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avondale by the Sea
609 Beach Avenue, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly~but air conditioner over the bed was a bummer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in a room on the third floor with our 5 y.o. We loved the breakfast included with the room. The donuts were delivered every morning, fresh from a local bakery and they were divine. The room was immaculate and we loved all the staff. We had a fabulous ocean view and enjoyed sitting on the balcony. We had two issues one which could have been resolved and wasn't and one which might a deal breaker for next year. When we arrived I asked for skirt hangers, I was told that in 9 years no one had ever asked for a skirt hanger before. I was surprised because I have never stayed in a hotel (including Motel 6 type hotels) that didn't provide skirt hangers. Although we stayed there for a week, no effort was made to get/provide skirt hangers. The potential deal breaker was that the air conditioning unit is located directly over the bed, so if you want the AC on at night you are lying directly under the blast of cold air. There really was no way to fix that issue. Not sure if all the rooms had the same lay out, but it was uncomfortable for us and did stop us from having a really peaceful nights sleep. If that wouldn't bother you, this place was great!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    40
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
48
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Avondale for a September weekend every year for the past 5, and each time have found the place welcoming, the desk staff knowledgeable and helpful, and the property well maintained and spotless. The location, just across the street from the beach, couldn't be better.

This is not an elegant inn with precious antiques nor a high-end place with pillow-preference menus. But for a no-frills accommodation situated right by the beach, you couldn't do better. A basic breakfast is included--bagels, toast, cereal, doughnuts, coffee, juice--not a full, hot meal, but enough to get you started on the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When our usual hotel had 'no vacancy' for our annual Cape May trip, we decided to try Avondale by the Sea. It has always appeared to be a well kept property and it is! Rooms are large and very clean. Hotel is quiet and could not be in a better location. A few blocks from the mall, and directly across the street from the beach! We moved our car once to go out to Sunset Beach other than that you are within walking distance to everything. Having a pool is a bonus on those extra hot days, and staff was very accomodating. Highly recommend and we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First time staying at Avondale By the Sea. Room was very clean and roomy. Location was great - right across the street from the beach. Price was great in September for a senior couple. Pool was clean and great. Location was also wonderful. Just a short walk to the Washington Street shops.Highly recommend Avondale by the Sea.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This review is a bit overdue but its been a busy summer. We start our summer every year at Cape May for over 20 yrs. We go every Memorial Wknd. It's a lovely town with excellent food and beautiful beaches. We have stayed at The Avondale by the Sea several times now. The hotel is kept very clean, wi-fi is available and best of all is in the perfect location you can park your car at the hotel and walk or bike to every hot spot in Cape May. You only have to cross the street and the beach is right there. The staff is great, specially Alex he is always very helpful and an excellent host. We met the owners several times and they were very friendly and pleasant. Will return to Avondale on our next visit to Cape May! See you next Memorial Wknd!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparta-nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My adult children and I spent four nights at the Avondale, renting two rooms, one one the 3rd floor and one on the first. The 3rd floor unit was nice, but the one on the first floor had no carpeting and was obviously a handicapped room. Most hotels will alert you to this fact before renting the room. This should be a courtesy provided to guests as the floor seemed slippery and, plain, gross when barefoot.

The positive:
Great location
Great view
Extremely clean rooms

The negative:
Continental breakfast consists of sugary donuts, bagels, coffee, juice and bananas. Very basic.

Hotel bath towels were hard and thin. Very cheap.

May rent you a room with no carpeting and not let you know in advance.

The owner is not that friendly or accommodating. He made it quite clear that on the day you check out (11am). Your hotel priviledges expire. So after 11am you are not allowed to use the pool. He acted like he was doing us a huge favor by allowing us the use their rest room at the end of the day before departing Cape May.

I do not plan on staying at this hotel again. If all hotels in Cape May are booked and this is our only option........maybe.

Room Tip: I would not recommend first floor units, they do not have a good view of ocean. Also, I would reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed mid-week and the location really is fantastic. The breakfast is basic but it is free. The pool gets crowded and is strictly run and there is a small kiddie pool too. No jumping and no ball throwing either. The rooms are bare bones basic but very clean and no they are not chic. You are there for the shore and strolling the streets of Cape May after all. We would stay again knowing what we would be getting. The pullout sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable and the single wall air-conditioning unit was a bit loud for the bedroom in order to keep the entire suite cool. We would recommend a third floor room for the view.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have great views as do second floor rooms. First floor rooms really don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Address: 609 Beach Avenue, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondale by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.