We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were hoping for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Beachfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Mer Beachfront Inn to your Saves list
La Mer Beachfront Inn
1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were hoping for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Mer Sept. 8-11, 2013, having booked after looking at the multiple positive reviews. The good reviews were "right on," no exaggerations. Location is at the quiet end of town, steps from the beach. Room was what we wanted, very clean and spacious, with a balcony we enjoyed. The front desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Best of all: never having to lug beach lounge chairs, towels or umbrella - or try to find any that were unoccupied. The beach staff happily set us up with everything we needed in the location we wanted. (We have stayed at luxury resorts that should aspire to that level of beach service.) We highly recommend this hotel and are very likely to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    132
    23
    20
    19
See reviews for
155
144
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse Station
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed there with family for Labor Day weekend and the reviews were right on. Some quick highlights:

Beach Access: Located right across the street from the beach, only a 5 minute walk. Beach tags are provided, and when you cross the the beach the cabana/pool boys immediately get you chairs, towels, and a prime location of your choosing. Beach crowd is normal, although not packed w/as many kids as you would expect. No real boardwalk, just a set of smaller poolside shops and a small arcade. Good for walks though.

Pool: Pool is on the smaller side, but perfect after a trip to the beach. Getting their early for seats is key, b/c it can get crowded, but otherwise good for a dip after the beach. A little murky at times though, with all the folks coming back from the beach with sand. Pool does a good job cleaning it every morning though.

Hotel: Rooms are long and effective, although the beds listed as queen size are smaller than queens. We put 5 people to one room with 2 queens and a sofa pull-out and it was tight. The sofa pull out is not at all comfortable and not really usable, so recommend to book a bigger room if you have more people or your back will pay for it. The fridge was large size and good though. As with most hotels by the beach, the AC units are very loud. they shut off for about 5-10 minutes and turn on, and can be quite loud. If you're used to central air and are a light sleeper, this will wake you up at night.

Cape May Town: The hotel is located at the end of Beach Avenue, which is a bit of a walk to the center of town, but doesn't matter. A convenient Trolley goes from the hotel down to Washington Mall every 25 minutes or so, and stops right outside the hotel. TROLLEY TIP: you need to only show your hotel key to get on at the hotel, but when getting back on to come back, they will ask if you shopped at the mall. Make sure you say yes (and or pick up something so you have a receipt) and they'll give you a free ride back. otherwise it's only $1 to get the ride back. The shops are cute and quaint, normal stuff at the gift shops and salt water taffy, etc. The town has an interesting vibe, much older crowd than Point Pleasant or Seaside, or higher up the coast.

Overall I would recommend. We booked last minute so was a little pricey, but otherwise was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at LaMer at the end of August with my husband and 14 year old son, along with another couple and their 14 year twins. This was my first trip to Cape May and was not sure what to expect. I was advised that it was a beach town and don't expect luxury. Well I felt like we did have luxury. The hotel has a very elegant, though small lobby. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had partial ocean view room with a small balcony which was perfect for sitting with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. All four adults were able to sit out and sip our wine. The kitchenette was nice for coffee in the am and we had a mini fridge for our water and wine.

The parking lot below the building is very convenient. We enjoyed the pool and loved the beach service. Beach fee was included in the room rate and what a wonderful surprise when you show your hotel tags on the beach there is someone to set up your lounge chair and umbrella and provide you with towels. What more can you ask for? The only thing I would add to La Mer is perhaps some activities near the pool, such as shuffle board or foose ball.

We loved the Pier House restaurant on the property. Amazing breakfasts, lunches and dinner. We ate outside every morning, (no bug bites) Our waitress Loren was the absolute best; we made sure to sit at her station every am. Have already recommended La Mer and the Pier House to friends.

I am glad we trusted the trip advisor reviews and booked La Mer. It was a wonderful experience from the time we called to book until the last day of our vacation. Definitely will stay here again on our next trip to CM.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room on the upper floors for a nicer view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Staying here RIGHT NOW!
The bestbplace we have ever stayed at in Cape May. Been here many times. This is tops. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Clean, friendly, attentive. Beach pass included with stay,chairs,umbrellas the whole works. The restaurant has breakfasts that are GIGANTIC. If I had to say anything about the location I would say that there are no convenience stores nearby... But you can stock up before you come...the rooms have nice galley kitchens , fridge etc. stop at WaWa on the way in if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Its right on the beach. They provide lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels for you. pool has a 1 foot sectionioned off which is great if you have small children. Would have given it five stars if the price were a little less and there was a stovetop our room...other than that this place has it all!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 208 which is s side ocean view. It only has a microwave and refrigerator. And two que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are extremely saddened by your review, yet at the same time feel it's our duty to let you know that our hotel is — time and time again — touted for its cleanliness and attention to details. If you read our reviews, our customers consistently applaud our property for its spic and span nature. In fact, we have an in-house Housekeeping Manager whom inspects each and every room for cleanliness before our room keys are handed over to our guests. With this said, we find this review as highly suspect. We're sorry your weren't 100 percent happy with your stay and hope you come back to Cape May in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we have always stayed at B&B's in cape may over the last 20 years. we also rent a house for 2 weeks every summer. we decided to try something different by staying at La Mer. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, the beach service (chairs etc) beach tags, and was very happy to be on a less crowded area of the beach. it is walkable to town, but wear walking shoes! we booked last minute for our anniversary. we had 2 different rooms for each of 2 nights. the 2nd. night we had ocean view but on the 2nd. floor near the restaurant. it wasn't bad, but we would''ve liked to have been on the 4th. floor. I do love B&B's for their quiet atmosphere and not children (our girls are college age and older). but I might consider staying her again for the location, cleanliness, and beach chairs/badges. Having said that, the ONE thing that was so aggravating, was the noise when the AC kicked on. It was abrupt and awakened me all night. it's kind of a jolt, and sounds like someone unlocking the door. I wish the AC was different! other than that, I do think it's best for families, since we did hear children running and noisy etc. from time to time, but not too bad.

Room Tip: balconies don't offer privacy, but ocean views are great. good for families; not quiet enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My teens and I were to spend 4 nights at the La Mer. Unfortunately, the overbooked and had to move us to another hotel for one night. In compensation, they gave us a free dinner at their restaurant, The Pier House, which we enjoyed.

Other than this mixup, we enjoyed our stay at La Mer, based on the amenities offered including free wifi at the hotel and the beach, an onsite restaurant, Beach food service and beach chairs, towels and an umbrella (included in your room rate) and set up for you on the beach. This last service is well worth not having to pack chairs etc in your car and then lug it back and forth to the beach every day.

Our room, 227, had two queens and a sleeper love seat, a nice updated kitchen and bath. The room was updated and spotless. The balcony is spacious and overlooks the pool and the beach, although there are no privacy dividers between balconies. The oceanfront rooms at either end of the hotel are not over the pool and therefore a bit more private, but we liked our location.

La Mer is the last hotel on the oceanfront, farthest from town, before you reach a residential area. Even though the beach is lively, it is not crowded at all.

The Trolley, which is free one way for guests at many of the hotels in Cape May, stops right by the La Mer parking lot every 20-30 minutes and you can call the driver to find out when they will be at La Mer.

There is plenty of parking and the hotel is nicely landscaped. We would gladly return to the La Mer in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Beachfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.