We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Beachfront Inn

Save Saved
You added La Mer Beachfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Mer Beachfront Inn
1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. I taught a class there and used their conference center as a classroom. It was also extremely comfortable. I loved that my room had an apartment-sized refrigerator, microwave and sink in the kitchenette area. That meant I could easily make my own breakfast in my room each morning. Full ocean view -- I could watch the waves and the fishermen from my room. All you do is cross the street and you're on the sand. Lovely place to stay and fabulous place to teach a class. Since we went at the beginning of May, the rates were extremely reasonable -- plus they gave us a discounted rate since we were a group. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for the raving 5-star review! We just love it when our customers take the time to leave kind words for us on this particular platform. We are thrilled you found our staff friendly, warm and accommodating. As for our rooms — we agree — they are so comfortable, well equipped and boast amazing ocean views. Again, thanks so much for the awesome words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    108
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
129
114
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Room Type: King with Side Ocean View
Rate Paid: $169
Reason For Stay: Leisure
Overall Score: 65/70

Location - 8/10

Located right up against the ocean, for beach visits you can't get much more convenient. In terms of the town however, the hotel is located quite a ways down the beach (about 1.5 miles) from the main shopping/activity area. The area around the hotel has mostly more formal dining attached to other hotels, so it can be a bit of a hike (or you have to drive and worry about parking) to get to more casual fare and light bites. It's a very nice walk however.

Room Design - 10/10

Plenty of space in our room which featured a king bed, pullout sofa, table with 4 chairs, kitchenette and large bathroom. Sliding doors opened to a smaller size balcony with two chairs and a nice view of the ocean if you looked to the right.

Room Amenities - 9/10

This is where things were a bit more hit and miss. The TV offered many channels, the internet was reasonably fast, the towels were super fluffy. Lots of extra pillows available. Plenty of storage. Fully furnished kitchenette. The sheets however were very thin, and there were little details that threw you. The book of Cape May events, which included a schedule, was from 2010-2011. The alarm clock was ancient and still had a bracket to me mounted to a wall. These small details detracted from an otherwise very nice room.

Hotel Design and Layout - 11/10

The hotel is well laid out, with multiple elevators to access each wing (large spacious ones too). Rooms are clearly marked. New RFID key cards make access a lot easier when handling luggage. Plenty of parking is available, much of it covered, a huge plus in wet/hot weather. They got a bonus point for that.

Amenities - Non Club - 10/10

There is an outdoor pool and a well equipped workout room. There is a Spa as well, we didn't check that out.

Club Room - Not Applicable

Hotel Staff - 9/10

The staff was quite friendly, knew the area and was always willing to answer questions. There was a little bit of confusion at checkout. Housekeeping did a great job on the room.

Dining - 8/10

The attached hotel (The Pier House) had what looked to be a very nice dinner menu. We had breakfast there, the portions were huge (to the point of it being a negative). Service was a bit slow, but it was still the offseason.

Comments and Notes:

As the title says, with a little attention to detail, this could be a top scoring hotel. The location may be a bit of a negative OR a positive, depending on what your plans are. For a family that wants to spend time on the beach and doesn't mind popping into town for dinner, its a great option given the kitchenette and short walk to the beach, plus the pool. If you are more interested in seeing the Victorian architecture, maybe staylng closer might be a better choice (although there are some stunning hotels along the walk to town via Beach Avenue).

I did forget to check, I know there is a trolley that runs around Cape May at various times, if it comes out near the hotel, that would mitigate a lot of the location issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter bought us one night stay for Christmas and we added 1more night. We had a panaroma view.The view was just stunning I did not want to leave .Just setting on the bed looking out was so relaxing.
We liked the balconies we were out there all times of the day and night.we seen the sun rise and dolphins .
Our room had a king size bed,flat screen,wet bar area and a nice bathroom. staff was great.thank you
La Mar hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rooms are very large - great for families - we stay several times a year and love the newly renovated rooms. They added a Gym since last stay and are now opening a Spa in the next couple of months. So nice just to walk outside the hotel and straight onto the beach. Very personal and family run hotel. Cape May is so peaceful and safe that it feels from another age but contemporary at the same time. We also got a late check out at no extra charge which was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front or corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerdale, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was great. Everything is state of the art. Only problem is cell phone service. The front desk advised us that we may have problems because of the hurricane measures in the building. We had few problems. Also, no free breakfast. You will like it here.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms were a few dollars more. Side rooms have a lesser view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for the stellar 5-star response! We truly give thanks to customers like yourself if take time from their busy schedule to leave us positive feedback. We are over-the-moon you found our Inn state-of-art. As for the cell phone service, we are working on that as well. Again. thank you so very much for the kind words and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, NJ
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The La Mer is our favorite hotel in Cape May. We tend to go for one night when we want a quick getaway to Cape May. We've stayed here several times and it's always a psotive experience. The rooms are large, clean and well maintained. The staff is always friendly and efficient. The La Mer is definitely recommended by this reviewer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the positive review. We love that we are your hotel of choice when planning a quick getaway to cape May, NJ. We truly value your opinion and are honored that you have stayed with us several times and always experience a positive vacation. We are thrilled you find our rooms large, clean and well maintained. We will be sure to relay the message to our staff that you find them always friendly and efficient. Again, thanks so much for staying with us and we look forward to servicing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went to Cape May in April 2013 and decided to mix it up with one nite in a Victorian B&B and another in a motel on the beach. Both were great! We loved La Mer b/c it is across the street from the beach, has a great restaurant/bar "Pier House" attached, staff is super friendly, covered parking, large rooms ( ones with ocean view and balconies are great) and also fridge, microwave and sink in the rooms. This hotel is a bit far from the Washington Street mall but it is an easy 5 minute drive. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds. It is a very large property with over 100+ rooms and they are all spacious and super clean. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The beds are comfortable and the room even had a small table and chairs for eating. This hotel is across the street from the beach and next to Peter Shields House which is a 5 star restaurant. We had a king partial ocean view room with a small balcony and it was heaven. The decor was a bit dated but for the room rate it was worth every penny. Our front desk agent, Lynne, was super friendly and informative. The room rates seem to be comparable if not lower to other motels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We truly appreciate your positive review on this platform. We are thrilled you chose to stay one night in a B&B (they are so special to Cape May!) and one night with us. We adore the fact you took advantage of our beach and restaurant, too. We will also be sure to let our staff know you found them super friendly. Again, thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
La Mer Beachfront Hotel
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Beachfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.