We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Beachfront Inn

Save Saved
You added La Mer Beachfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Hagaman, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the La Mer. We have stayed there before, and keep going back because of the location, cleanliness, and overall appearance of the hotel. The view is beautiful, and the rooms are large. The staff is always very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the stellar five-star review! We love our repeat guests and truly appreciate the notion you have taken time from your busy schedule to praise us. We are over-the-moon that you keep returning to the La Mer compliments of our location, cleanliness, large rooms and friendly staff. Again, thank you for the awesome review! We hope to keep serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    113
    22
    14
    16
See reviews for
135
127
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had our annual wine event at this place and the hotel is great. the ocean front rooms have a great view. The rooms are quite large and have a small kitchen. The place looks great and they make you feel very welcome. They have an adjoining restaurant which serve good food. I highly recommended, especially in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hooray for a Good Stay! Thanks so much for the lovely review, too. We are thrilled you chose to stay with us during our annual wine event and that you found our rooms large and well appointed with kitchenettes. We will be sure to our staff know you found them warm and accommodating, too. We are happy you savored our restaurant, The Pier House, as well. Again, thank you for the awesome review and we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed at the La Mer several times over the last 9 yrs or so. I've come with my husband and baby girl and other times for a girls weekend with my Mom. I have never had any issues or complaints about any of my stays. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Rooms and grounds clean and well kept. Pool was nice and clean. If I come to Cape May I always try to stay here if there are vacancies

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms AMAZING
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you for the five-star review! There's nothing we love more than a repeat guest and the notion you keep choosing to stay with us while you are in Cape May means the world to us. Again, thank you for the stellar review and we hope you visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stay at La Mer every time we go to Cape May. The rooms are large, clean and the ocean front rooms have a great view. The restaurant is very good and the workout room is well equipped. We would definitely recommend La Mer.

Room Tip: Choose a 4th floor ocean front room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We truly appreciate it when our guests go out of their way to commend our property. We are thrilled you found our rooms spacious, clean and well appointed. We are happy you enjoyed our restaurant, The Pier House, and utilized our state-of-the-art gym, too. Again, thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time at the hotel. The staff were great and so friendly. The room was beautiful and very clean. And the view of the ocean was terrific! This is our hotel when we are in Cape may. Thanks for a great stay. DR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We just love a review entitled Awesome Stay! Thanks so much for the kind words. As a first time guest, we are so happy you found our staff cordial, our rooms gorgeous and clean and our views as breath-taking. We are over-the-moon we have become your go-to hotel when visiting Victorian Cape May. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, N.J.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay during our annual Dionysian Event, great hosts and accommodating staff. There were several wine seminars which meant a lot of glasses being washed. Housekeeping staff were friendly as they worked around our schedules.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for the lovely review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the annual Dionysian event. We are over-the-moon you took the time out of your busy schedule to leave us such a positive review and we will be sure to commend our housekeeping staff for doing such a stellar job. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My family and I make a trip down to Cape May every fall, and we always stay at La Mer! The view from this hotel is amazing and the location is great (right across from the Ocean). The reason we chose this hotel in the first place is because they offered rooms that fit 5 people, very comfortably and at a great price - which is still absolutely the case. One year, we were even lucky enough to stay at one of their lofts (above the Martini Bar) and aside from the creepy elevator, the room was AMAZING! We even saw a couple get engaged on the beach from the view at the room!

The rooms are always very clean and comfortable, and although we never had breakfast here (we tend to go to the pancake house) I am sure it is lovely.

The ONLY con I would have, is that we had made plans to stay here this past fall, but then Hurricane Sandy came and we were not able to travel down there (they didn't give us our deposit back because it was only a voluntary evacuation at that point). I was still surprise that they hadn't given it back after the devastation that the coast endured...BUT they did let us hold it, so we are thinking of coming back this spring/summer.

Overall, this hotel is GREAT and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
There's nothing we love more than a repeat guest and we SO appreciate your five-star review! We are thrilled to be your go-to Inn while taking your Fall vacation to lovely Cape May. We are over-the-moon you got to relish one of our beach-front penthouses, too. They are gems in this town! Again, thank you so much for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Beachfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.