We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ocean vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Beachfront Inn

Save Saved
You added La Mer Beachfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Mer Beachfront Inn
1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing ocean vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I came for the first time to Cape May, NJ and stayed at the best hotel! As we are both avid travelers, we can say with absolute certainty that La Mer made our trip one of the most memorable...from the time we arrived until we left! The hotel is first class in so many ways...the hotel is super clean, even after 2 back to back storms the glass of the french balcony doors was spotless! As a female, I was particularly impressed with the bathroom (spacious) because the lighting was perfect for applying make-up, and the hair dryer was as strong as the one I brought..normally even top-notch hotels never get this right! When you enter the room, it is bright and very spacious, the kitchenette has dark wood cabinets, stainless steel CLEAN appliances, and a marble counter...simply WOW! The bed, the pillows, the flat-screen TV, the inviting balcony, the million-dollar view...and most of all the super friendly staff made us feel like we were in someone's home! We were pampered and treated like very special guests...We ate dinner at the restaurant Pier House next to the hotel...the food was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend this hotel for making our trip so relaxing and comfortable...we are definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Ocean view all the way....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the amazing, 5-star review. We love that you found our hotel as first class and that we made your trip a memorable one.

Thanks for pointing out that our bathrooms are spacious, our rooms as clean and our balconies as inviting. We truly appreciate you providing these in-depth details to fellow travelers.

Thanks again for the kind words and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    108
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
129
114
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in an oceanfront room which, being on the third floor had magnificent views of the breakers and beach. The room was spacious and very clean. The kitchenette made for easy preparation of food we had brought from home-soups, pasta and salads. When I realized the did not provide tea bags (only coffee), my husband went down to the front desk, and an employee named Kate provided him with two from her personal supply. All the staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. The Inn is in a very nice location, away, but not too far from the center of town. Truly an upscale beachfront hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay in an oceanfront room on the third or fourth floor for best ocean views. Be wary of corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend as Sandy was approaching at La Mer. We had a room with a panoramic few, which was even nicer than the view from our previous room. No complaints about the room or service.
We did have noisy neighbors, who thought nothing of talking loudly on their balcony in the middle of the night, but that is not the Inn's fault.
We ate two meals at the on-site restaurant. Interesting menu with delicious, if expensive, items. Service was a little slow at dinner and at breakfast the next day. Next time we will just eat at the restaurants 'in-town'. They are very good and less expensive.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have views of the pool and the ocean. The rooms with panoramic views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Outstanding service, clean, comfortable room. Great parking. Lynne at the front desk very pleasant and helpful. Hotel is located at the northern end of Cape May, away from the hustle and bustle of the central Ocean Avenue district. Quiet and the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CateatLaMer, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Lynne is a gem and we are blessed to have her! Glad to hear you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our 4-day stay at La Mer. Our room was looking out over the ocean. The room was spacious and plenty of room in the bathroom. Very clean. The front desk was very nice and efficient. Everyone we spoke to couldn't say enough good things about the inn. Will defiantly go back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CateatLaMer, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the feedback! Our staff really appreciates being recognized and they definitely bring our regular guests back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

La Mer was the perfect place for our 3-day stay in beautiful Cape May, NJ. Check-in on a Sunday morning was quick, handled by a very friendly front desk woman. Although we were too early to go to our room, we were advised that we were free to use the hotel pool, which I did. The day was quite warm for late September, and using the pool and relaxing in the lounge chairs made the waiting time pass very quickly. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a balcony and beautiful ocean view. A small kitchenette was part of the room, complete with microwave, mini-fridge and even dishes and flatware. This proved to come in very handy to store and warm up leftovers. The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable, and the size of the room was larger than most hotel rooms. Grounds were very well maintained, the pool was quite large and very clean, and everyone we encountered was friendly.

Cape May is a beautiful city, and visiting in late Sept./early Oct. was the perfect time to go, as the weather was still nice, but the crowds were gone. I liked it that La Mer is not close to the busier part of Cape May, so it was very quiet, but only about a mile and a quarter walk to the shopping area. This was ideal for me, as I love to walk, especially when on vacation.

I would definitely recommend La Mer to anyone looking for a top-notch hotel in Cape May. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The 4th floor (top floor) gave an excellent view of the ocean. Our room was 420, everything about i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CateatLaMer, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the glowing review of the hotel. Lovely La Mer is quite catchy! And you are correct, there is no place like Cape May! We hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We thought this was a great choice for a weekend get away. Very friendly check in and the room was really nice. The beach ammenities were great. Very nice attendants who set us up with lounges, towels, etc just like any great resort. The only downside was the restaurant on site which isn't owned by them. The breakfast was really lousy. Wouldn't consider going back there for any other meal but not a problem since Cape May has plenty of nice restaurants. A little far to walk to the shopping area but we had no problem moving the car and parking. Would stay at La Mer again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a side view which was fine. Saved a few $$$ that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the glowing 5-star review! We truly appreciate the fact you found our Inn as a great choice during your stay in Cape May. We are over-the-moon you were pleased with your room, our beach amenities and staff. We are so happy you would return without hesitation. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
La Mer Beachfront Hotel
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Beachfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.