We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Macomber a trip back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macomber

Save Saved
You added Hotel Macomber to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Macomber
727 Beach Drive, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 hotels in Cape May
st. george, ks.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Macomber a trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

While there was a host of more modern and probably less challenging places to stay in Cape May, this hotel evokes a past glorious era, the destination of wealthy and privileged, and today, its sitting room appointed with Victorian era touches lets one feel part of that. Challenging because there is no elevator, one needs to take the stairs slowly. Modest furnishings in the rooms encourage humility, but they are spotless, the beds finished with whimsical 'towel' animals (mine ha a dog made from one). At night, the sea wind makes eerie sounds in the wooden structure, and the ocean's breaking waves lend a rhythm that induces sleep. Sadly, the restaurant was closed during our visit, but I plan to return to feel that sense of place the hotel offers.

Room Tip: try to book the front room on the second floor - view of ocean excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    27
    15
    15
See reviews for
24
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I often visit Cape May, staying in B&Bs. We decided to try a hotel for our two day stay this time. BTW, we've traveled extensively through the States and Europe for both business and pleasure. We had problems with the Macomber (room 51), which I will list below. Our main complaint is more about the way in which our issues were either ignored or mishandled. The two desk agents have little or no idea of what customer satisfaction is about.
Our complaints: we were greeted by surly woman and NOT told that the front desk is only staffed from 9:00AM until 9:00PM and if we had a problem we would have to call a phone number listed on a small plaque at the front desk, our room was 4 flights up and we were not offered any help with our bags, when we went to take a shower at 10:00PM WE HAD NO HOT Water in the room, as there are no phones in the room I was unable to reach the front desk - but it wouldn't have mattered as there was nobody at the front desk. I use my cell to all the main number and got a recorded message. As per the recording, I left message which was never answered. Not that night, nor the next day. When we complained the next morning we were told that, "there is not way we couldn't have had hot water." Was I lying or just unable to figure out who to use a sink and/or shower faucet? I told her that we let the water run for over 20 minutes. THERE WAS NO APOLOGY until the next when we were checking out. As an adjustment in the room rate was not offered, I suggested would that it would be appropriate. That did not happen.
Some other minor issues, no wireless in our room - they said we'd have to come down the lobby (remember we're 4 flights of stairs away). No chair-told to get one from hall, if there is one. Towels like sand paper. No place in bathroom to put anything down. This rooms is more like a "Garret" - scantly decorated, while we paid the same $ as other rooms. No closet. Old soap left in shower. No shampoo - you better bring your own.
While the hotel is nicely situated and has an "old fashioned charm", that does not extend to the staff or the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We attended a wedding held in the hotel at the Union Park Restaurant. We stayed two nights in a second floor room with a slight view of the ocean. The room was acceptable. The decor was dated. There was a dehumidifier in the room which had me a little concerned but there was no sign of any mold or mildew.
For the price ($129 + taxes) i would have thought they could include a few basics such as shampoo and conditioner.

There is a nice wrap around porch with plenty of seating but there was almost always someone smoking when we were out there. The hotel obviously did not mind since they provided lots of ash trays.

The location was the best part of the stay. The beach is across the street. The convention center is less than a minute walk. There is some shopping near by and a nice little cafe located under the hotel. It was only a half mile walk to the outdoor shopping plaza where there are lots of stores and restaurants.
Not sure i would stay again just for the value alone.

Room Tip: The two front rooms with a shared porch seemed to be the nicest in the hotel. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed there three nights. The shower is tiny with a curtain and the bathroom is small. There are no frills to this hotel. I would try another place next time but it is clean. There are many many steps......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

First, I should say that it was our first time in Cape May. The hotel is old and has a lot of character. But what it didn't have are bed bugs (at least i didn't find any) -- it's the first thing i look for when i enter a room. Second thing I check is the bathroom; it was newly remodeled and impeccably clean, but there was a problem with the window. The wicker furniture was dirty; didn't like that -- that was a bit gross. I always carry disinfectant wipes with me so i wipe off everything.
The stairs weren't really a problem or issue -- as they say on the website: "pack light."
Front desk staff, as with everyone we came in contact with in Cape May, they were friendly and SUPER helpful! The hotel is centrally located; it was great to walk through all the neighborhoods and to restaurants.
I think the review from Dee G about the flat screen TV was a little off-base because the tv was small but who goes to the beach to watch tv?
Overall, the hotel was adequate. There are so many places to stay in Cape May that it depends on There are so many places to choose from in Cape May that it all depends on what you want.
Hotel Macomber is centrally located, good bargain, and very nice staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

You can't beat the location of the hotel, its in the middle of everything. It has a lot of character and if you are really active then the stairs won't bother you. We were on the second floor which is really like the third floor. It has a historic feel to it, the stairs creek and there was a slight mold odor in the hallway. Our room was called a petite and it was very petite, but we didn't mind. We honestly enjoyed our time there. We didn't have any problems but the only down side was that we arrived early and we understood our room was not ready so we asked to use a bathroom to just change into our bathing suits so we can enjoy the beach. Well there was a firm No on that one. They explained they had no bathroom in the lobby area and directed us to the public bathrooms across the street if we wanted to use that. So there was no bending of rules.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, either don't stay here or ask for a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I am writing this review while I am on “vacation”. This should tell you that is no ordinary matter.
If you ever heard the motto “you get what you pay for” this hotel typifies it. For the record this is one of the cheapest places to stay on Beach Avenue in Cape May for a good reason – Cheap service.
Not just the customer service but the product too – the advertised “flat screen TV”… is barely bigger than my computer monitor. The “individually controlled AC/heat” is also a misnomer… watch out for those wall A/C units (not kidding). The manager scheduled major maintenance on a Saturday afternoon, yes a Saturday, when rooms are the busiest. If you ever visit here’s a tip… the shower lines were switched when installed… so what’s normally the “hot” region of the shower dial is the “cold” and vice versa.
If you need maintenance to come up to the room, sign language might help(read good luck communicating). He forgot to plug the fridge back! What?!? Kiss those food items goodbye…
Location is nice. The beach is right there. I’m glad something worked out well for us. And the book I am reading now is fabulous…
In short, “you get what you pay for”… I would not recommend this hotel unless you don’t mind possible annoyances on your vacation.
As an alternative I would suggest Ocean Club Hotel. This is the real deal, clean and elegant. Just two blocks away…

Anyone familiar with the “i”Phone? Now come along with me for one minute… Let’s talk about Hotel Macomber.
Serv”i” – Where SERVICE is not complete. You the visitor is to Serv”i”, who only cares about what’s in it for the “i”-Owners.
If you are looking for window-mounted A/C units and outdoor wicker furniture including your bed, you’ve found your spot! Rosetta Stone gift set not included.
IMO, save yourself some time and hassle. Buck up to a better hotel – great service, great accommodations.
You get what you pay for… good luck in finding your spot…

Room Tip: Enter at your own risk. OK, it's not that bad... but you should get my point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Address: 727 Beach Drive, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.