We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Macomber to your Saves list
Hotel Macomber
727 Beach Drive, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone which is unfortunate because the location and price are ideal. But as things usually reflect their price in this case its an understatement. First things first we went with a group of 8 and this was our ONLY vacation this summer do to affordability and schedules. Upon checking in we were told we would be on the top floor (floor 3) which is 6 sets of steps up with NO elevator. We had our 75 year old grandmother staying with us. Secondly there is NO restroom in the lobby on the ground floor NOTHING. We had to either go across the street and down a block to use the restroom or up 6 flights of stairs. I have Ulcerative Colitus and need to be near a bathroom. IT WAS A NIGHTMARE! Next were the hideously dated and smelly rooms. One was very small for 4 people and we asked for queens and got doubles. We were all so grossed out by the smell and dampness; couple this with an old muffin and cracker found between the bed and nightstand; we couldnt wait to leave! When we spoke to the front desk she just said "sorry". Lastly we asked for a rollaway bed for the 2nd night and not only did we have to call 6 times, yes 6 times when it finally came it had a HUGE brown stain in the middle and had NO sheets or blankets with it. I have a picture that I will post later. DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    60
    30
    16
    17
See reviews for
28
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have been a business traveler for 27 years, and averaged a 1 to 2 nights in hotels a week over the course of that time. I have stayed in at least a hundred different hotels, and the bed at the Hotel Macomber is in the top 3 most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. We were in Room 5, and the bed was as hard as a rock. We may have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor. I woke up at least three times and could not feel my right arm. I don't remember the last time that happened. My wife is is stiff as a board. I got up at 3:00AM and went to my car to get some Advil.
I can't comment on the other rooms. I also understand that how firm a bed is, is a personal preference. However, I have a lot of experience staying in hotel rooms, and this bed was way below the norm for comfort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A great place to celebrate your anniversary or special occasion. Its charming (romantic), close to the ocean, within walking distance to great restaurants and has onsite parking. There's actually a great (fine dining) restaurant on the main floor-- try it out!

Room Tip: Opt for a room away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I had the opportunity to take a before "season" getaway for a long weekend in Cape May and wanted to stay across from the beach and near whatever restaurants were open before the seasons weekends began. The Macomber fit nicely. The standard Jacobsen room on the second floor was spacious with a private bath with double shower and dresser, wardrobe and 2 chairs along with a nice comfortable king bed. The staff was helpful and pleasant and there was a nice (a bit expensive) restaurant in the hotel - unfortunately it was a BYOB - which i found fairly common in Cape May. The front porch is raised and has rocking chairs and there is a view of the beach to to the left but directly across the street is an arcade - which actually was fun to my surprise. The newly opened Cape May Convention Center is also across the street which should make this hotel a good spot when events are in town. Access to the boardwalk is also directly across the street. The hotel and room was very clean and there are other businesses including a bagel place and a bike rental spot in the bottom floor on street level. There are many restaurants nearby for breakfast & dinner. It made for a good base for a great getaway.

Room Tip: Jacobsen room is best for space and value here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to check in, to learn that they lost our reservations, but they gave us a different room and charged us for the second room additionally. We walked on to find our towels smelled used and were damp. On Top of this, we found a small black hair on my pillow (not beard or scalp). We then pulled down the blanket to find multiple hairs and stains on our sheets. We then went downstairs to complain and were offered a different room. When entering this room, both our pillows had many short black hairs on them. It was absolutely disgusting and we demanded a refund. After leaving, we received a call from the person at the desk trying to tell us that in our ten minute inspection of the first room, we "used" it. She and I were thoroughly offended and will tell everyone to never stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Fond memories of our stay at the Macomber. The Hotel is comfortable and friendly. We could see the mini golf from one of our windows. The room was clean and bright. Hotel is right opposite the beach and convenient to everything. Kids loved the beach and arcade across the street and my daughter often recalls how well she and her usually pesky little brother got along in the relaxed, friendly atmosphere of the Macomber. Staff very nice and helpful. When we missed our Ferry boat due to a violent storm on our way there and had to stay in Lewes they kindly waived the fees for that missed first night. Excellent! Really put us at ease. Porch, rocking chairs, view, convenience, service, its all there. We have tried several times to return but, of course, they have been fully booked. We are returning this weekend but can't get the Macomber and so will have to settle for elsewhere. Highly recommend it if you can get in!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights here in the middle of May.

Pros:
The room was very spacious and clean. It was right across from the beach, and very easy to find. The staff were friendly, we had no major problems.

Cons:
The bed was very "bouncy", everytime one of us moved, the other would get bounced around.

The en-suite bathroom seemed to be an afterthought, was small, and the sink was in the main bedroom.

While the hotel was in a very central location, that also means that it was not quite as peaceful as we were hoping. The first morning we were woken up early because a road race had its finish line right outside the hotel where all the supporters were cheering. The second morning we were woken up early by some moron getting breakfast from the bagel place downstairs pressing the panic button instead of the lock button on her car keys and not realizing until she got back to her car. Also, the first night there was a 16th birthday party hosted in the restaurant downstairs which was fairly loud for a while (though not unreasonably late).

Room Tip: we could hear the people walking around in the room above us, so you could try a room on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Address: 727 Beach Drive, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.