We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't recommend this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis De Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“I wouldn't recommend this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We were due to stay for 2 nights this past weekend.

Upon arrival, we were informed - by the not-so-friendly woman working at the front desk, that our room wasn't ready and that they would call our cell phone when it was.

When we did check in a couple of hours later, we were very displeased with the accommodations. The room was damp, it did not smell very nice, the bedroom was like a dark dungeon with no windows, and the room was dirty. I sat on the floor and could see dirt, dust, crumbs, and I don't know what else under the television stand.

The ceiling fans did not work.

I put some water in the refrigerator and saw there was a lot of water laying at the bottom of it. When I wiped it up and it spilled out to the floor, the towels that I cleaned it up with were filthy.

Upon using the toilet, it wouldn't flush and overflowed.

Upon making a pot of coffee, the in-room coffee pot leaked all over the top of the microwave.

We checked out and went home.

  • Liked — The hotel is in a great location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2008
Sometimes our employees fail to perform as we need them to. That is why we rely on and highly encourage our customers to let us know about issues to give us an opportunity to rectify the situation. There is a manager on duty from 8 a.m. until midnight on most days. Waiting until after you check out or posting comments on complaint sites instead of making us aware of problems as they occur doesn’t give us any opportunity to make your stay comfortable. There is nothing we can do after the fact. Not happy with your room? We can show you another one. Almost every issue has a reasonable and quick solution.

Our official check in time is 4 p.m. If the room is clean and inspected for release prior to this time our guests may check in as they become available. If they are not ready when a customer arrives early we ask for a cell phone number so we can reach them as soon as the room is released. We do this as a courtesy to our guests. Arriving early does not guarantee a room early. Readiness of a room depends on how early the previous guest checks out, and the workload of the housekeeping department. In the meantime, parking permits are issued and everyone is free to explore the town and stop for lunch instead of waiting in the lobby.

Toilets will block, light bulbs will burn out, and equipment will fail. On occasion, it happens in every home … with normal wear and tear. I’m sure it can be appreciated that in an 83 unit hotel it happens much more often. It goes with the territory and we make maintenance calls our priority—within a few minutes of a guest’s call to the front desk—24 hours a day. We don’t always find that the equipment is broken. Sometimes a quick demonstration on how everything in the rooms works does the trick. For example: Ceiling fans in all our rooms are regulated by a switch for power and two small rheostats to control the fan speed and brightness of the light. These switches sometimes can be hard to see. In an effort to conserve water, New Jersey State Law requires all hotels to install low-flow toilet tanks. A great concept however it doesn’t always provide a good flow to flush waste and excessive paper through the lines. A minor inconvenience to our guests, but a quick fix with a plunger for our maintenance department.

We are truly sorry that the reviewer’s experience did not meet with expectations but it could have if we were given the opportunity to make it better right from the start. We cannot imagine that the things written about were not satisfactorily resolved after reporting them to us. In addition, all our rooms have windows and televisions are either mounted on wall brackets or on a dresser that is flush with the floor. As the reviewer is anonymous we are unable to identify the specifics especially when descriptions do not match up. However if he/she is willing to identify themselves in a letter to the attention of our General Manager with the specific details of their stay outlining the problems and actions taken it would be thoroughly reviewed. Only then can we convene with the proper staff to ensure the failures do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    82
    42
    30
    44
See reviews for
86
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

My husband and I just returned, once again, to our home away from home. The Marquis is our getaway time for rest and relaxation. We have been spending our anniversary here now for years. Every time we go I keep asking myself the same question, "Can it get any better?". Well the answer is, "YES it can!". The service is wonderful, the staff is outstanding and the familiar faces of returning guests that you see year after year. I would think that if you see the same staff members and especially the same guests returning, I know that this hotel is doing something extremely outstanding.
I met a new employee while he was cleaning around the hotel. He was so friendly, polite and his first time working at the Marquis - his name is Khan. Thank you Khan for always having that wonderful smile of yours every time we saw you. Hector, thanks some much for your thoughtfulness & kindness by the pool. Claudia, our cleaning girl, "great" I wish I could take her home with me.
The location, the view, the great breakfast, the cleanliness of the rooms and friendly staff may not add up to a 5 Star hotel to some people, but to me it is a 10 Star! Their managerial staff is fantastic and thanks to Joan, Blair & Peggy and everyone for making this hotel my Home away from Home.
Please feel free to contact me with any questions.
Enjoy the Best Spot in Cape May!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

The location and the view are the best parts of this hotel the rest is below average. When you pay $500 dollars a night you can expect a lot more than what this hotel can offer. The quality of the staff is totally inconsistent. There are some very friendly young people working there but some others are just rude. I dont think that it is normal to be awaked at 8am on a Sunday by the alarm clock from the guy next door. Or to be able to clearly ear his personal conversations when trying to rest in your bedroom. When they say that the hotel has been renovated, do they really mean to install cheap plastic bathtubs?

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The rest
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

This is our second trip to the Marquis. This hotel is absolutely magnificent. It is a dog friendly hotel, and the staff is very accommodating and gracious to you. We have 2 small dogs and can't wait to go back each year. They charge $100.00 cash as a security deposit for the pets and when they inspect the room they return it to you if no damage is done. We had 2 rockers in front of our ocean view room and sat there after dinner with our dogs after their walk and enjoyed the view.We suggest if you have kids to upgrade to one of the suites. The room was immaculate, many upgrades since the last time we were there, it keeps getting better each year. The buffet breakfast was awesome it included everything. The beach is literally right across the street, walking distance. We saw dolphins swimming, all shopping and attractions are in walking distance from there. The hotel also has a pool if you don't want to stay at the beach. Great food at the Marion around the corner with entertainment. We would highly suggest you stay here even if you don't have a dog. The Cape May area itself is family friendly and so are the restaurants. Thanks Marquis we'll see you soon.

  • Liked — PET FRIENDLY
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

I have stayed at the Marquis for most of my 50 years and wouldn't really consider staying elsewhere. I enjoy the view from the balcony, the constant roar of the ocean, and being at the center of the beach area. I would highly recommend getting one of the suite rooms and avoiding the Abbey or Victoria rooms as they are too small for my liking, the suites are larger with two separate areas with the kitchenette and bathrooms dividing the room sections...most suites vary only in number of beds or small amenities, so consider your needs. The animal friendly rooms are on the ground floors and don't have the nicer view of the beach. The free breakfast is consistent, but seems to get a bit smaller with a few less items year after year.
This is a great place but don't expect 5 star service...this is a beachfront hotel and a lot of families stay here with children, so the pool area can be noisy during the day, but is quiet at night. All of the sights and sounds of the beach and nightlife are within a block or two and walking is the preferred mode for the local area, parking can be pricey, difficult to find, and expensive for a parking ticket...the hotel maintains several lots for it's customer's use, so parking isn't a problem if you are a guest.
In summary, I love the hotel and have come to recognize (and be recognized) by many of the longtime staff and other local merchants. The rooms are nice and next to the beach, but room service and a full service restaurant (other than breakfast) are two of the weak spots. If you want pampered, stay at the Congress Hall, if you want to enjoy he beach and relax listening to the surf and sea gulls, the Marquis is the place. Its not cheap, but it is in the center of the beach area and has a super view of the boardwalk and beach...the views from the top floors are spectacular and the best in the city!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Room Service and dining
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

This was our first experience taking our pet with us on vacation. This hotel was the only one we could find that was truly ocean front. The pet rooms are on the first floor with ceramic tiled floors and area carpets. Pluses include ocean front, centrally located to downtown Cape May, we walked everywhere and didn't move our car for a week, convenient parking, responsive front desk and housekeeping, great private sitting area in front of the room overlooking the ocean that is well elevated and sits back and separated by a railing from the one line of cars that can park in front of the hotel. It is private and separated from neighboring rooms by a solid barrier without blocking your view. Great place to people watch and read also. There is a free daily breakfast buffet included in the room rate [check on the type of breakfast based on the time you're there, the daily hot buffet starts early summer, for us it was Continental during the week, full hot buffet on weekends which offered many hot entrees and a made-to-order omelette bar, and the servors were fast and friendly. Downsides included dark small room, typical smell of a pet/beach front room on the first floor [somewhat dank], facility was a bit rough around the edges for the price we paid but overall we had a great time, and plan to return for our offered 25% discount to come back a second time. Cape May has really come back from what it was years a go, it was very interesting, the Victorian architecture was beautiful, many fine restaurants, interesting shops, pubs, clubs and all within walking distance from this hotel. There were many pubs that had live music the weekend we were there in May. The town had a real buzz without being overwhelmingly busy.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed one night and the hotel was fine as somewhere to sleep and use for just that purpose. The hotel is centrally located and close enough to things that you could walk everywhere and just leave your car parked. The room was not fancy but was clean, nicely furnished and large enough for just the two of us. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet. The front desk staff could use some instruction in customer service; some of the most dour folks I've ever encountered and I travel often. Some eye contact and a smile go along way!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.