We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis De Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Lake Harmony, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I just love Cape May and this hotel is smack dab in the center of everything!
The rooms are clean and comfortable, the free breakfast is excellent and the staff are polite, professional and friendly!
My dog JoJo gave it 2 paws up and made allot of new friends over the Easter weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    82
    42
    30
    44
See reviews for
86
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had to travel to Cape May to handle some business ( it's April and no one is around). Stopped at MDL Hotel to see if we could get a room for one night (6 April) for both of us and our small canine family member. No problem - we got a clean, comfortable room (albeit small), nicely appointed, convenient for our needs and reasonably priced. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got a great room on first level with porch and rocking chairs, although our room was very small, this compensated for it. Great breakfast included and lobby full of antiques and character. very nice and nice caretakers - i.e. i forgot my computer charger and they mailed it back to me.

Room Tip: any room is good as each has a porch with rocking chairs. nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel in which we normally stay in Cape May, was booked, so we stayed here. When I entered the room, the first thing I thought was that it was cute, BUT I expected so much more. It was quite outdated, especially the bathroom. There were not enough outlets in the room, and the heater was very loud, and when it was turning off there would be a clicking sound that woke me up. We did have a nice view and even though it was cool, my husband and I sat out on our 2nd floor balcony. Breakfast was included, which was very nice and we enjoyed that. They allow pets, and what is good is the fact that the first floor is where they set aside 17 rooms for those taking their pets. The price for off season was still kind of steep, so I really don't think we would that we would reconsider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We found this to be the ideal location for the Jazz Festival last November, and are staying here again for the Jazz Festival the end of May. We most recently stayed for the wine school weekend in February.

If you park in the main parking lot, there is a gentle ramp to the lobby level. From there, there are two elevators available to take you to your floor. If you have strollers, wheeled luggage, are using the luggage carts, or just have trouble with stairs, this is great. Many of the hotels in Cape May, even with several stories, do not have elevators.

If you have limited mobility, there is at least one true ADA apartment with a roll-in shower. Otherwise, the only limitation would be getting into a 10 inch high tub to use the shower (ours had a grab bar).

Outstanding ocean front views, central location, ample parking, great breakfast buffet, clean, comfortable and convenient. First floor pet friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We always stay on the new sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I needed a long weekend vacation and this hotel was one of the few on the beach and with a restaurant that was available and the off-season rate was very reasonable. we were on the third floor with a king bed. the room was nice, tho I have to admit I'd be hesitant to pay the in-season rate. we appreciated the built in cubby shelves in the closet and good amount of shelf space in the bathroom. we didn't make a lot of plans for this trip and relied on the front desk staff to direct us to restaurants and bars open in January (we didn't anticipate so many would be closed) and got great recommendations/directions. sure, it's an old place with its quirks but that's what you get with historic inns. If you want to be directly on the beach in cape may you're going to get the noise from the road and nearby bars, esp if your room is on a lower floor. it would have bummed me out if staff hadn't been nice, as stated in other reviews and am glad we didn't have that problem!

Room Tip: if you're sensitive to noise get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place is weird. The guy at the desk was really negative and the room had water dripping from the ceiling. The view was nice, but the room was small and I didn't sleep well in the bed. It's also overpriced. I've stayed in small beach motels for less money that were better maintained. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.