We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marquis De Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“On the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is open all year. We had a suite with double beds, bath, kitchenette and sitting area. Our balcony looks right out on the ocean. It was clean and comfortable and they have a great breakfast every morning. The biggest downfall was having to go outside to get to our room. You enter the rooms from the back side of the building and the front was your ocean view. All in all it was not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    71
    40
    28
    43
See reviews for
77
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cinnaminson, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Open year round. This is a good get-away location in the off-season. Breakfast included. Plenty to do in area even in teh off-season. All rooms have ocean view and pets are allowed. A few rooms have interior corridors but most are exterior. Short walk for excellant but reasonable casual dining. Keep in mind that this is an older hotel but the rooms still have many amenities including a porch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
btm1323
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have traveled to Cape May for many years and have stayed at many properties (hotels and B&B's) but this was our first time at the Marquis. We stayed here over the Christmas parade weekend with friends. Since we both had dogs (two small pups), we opted for the Poolside Suite. It was a nice size and conveniently located on the first floor. The room itself was just so so. It could use a good updating although it was clean and efficient and we were hardly ever in it. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. My only complaint was when I called to make the reservation the front desk never told us that it would be an additional $25 for another pet as well as $35 for another person (there were three total). When making the reservation we gave the total number of pets and people. We were also never told that there was a $100 (cash) refundable deposit we had to put down. The costs were understandable but we were never told this in advance and ended up having to shell out more money when we got there. I thought that was in poor taste. Had we known in advance, we would have been prepared (particularly with the $100 cash deposit). I rarely carry cash. Overall, this would not be my first place to stay when going to Cape May but since it's really the only pet friendly hotel we would stay there again if we couldn't get a pet sitter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wedding to attend in Cape May this past weekend. The wedding was at another hotel and we waited too long to get accommodations on-site. This hotel was offered as an alternative. The price was less than the wedding hotel and included breakfast. We asked to check in before the 4pm checkin so we could get changed before the wedding. We arrived about 1pm in the afternoon and were check in immediately. Our 2nd floor suite was lovely, clean and comfortable. We had a great night's sleep, watched the sunrise and a terrific breakfast before checking out the next morning. We were so pleased we plan on going down again in the early spring and just spending a nice weekend there. All in all a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a Suite on the 2nd floor although I had requested one on a higher floor but since it was off season they did not book the entire hotel although there were ppl staying on the 6th floor (the highest). Anyway, our suite was lovely. It had 2 very comfortable double beds in one room with very comfortable pillows - which is something I find hard to find in hotels. The sitting area had a pull out bed which we did not pull out but instead slept on it as a couch. All rooms face the ocean and have 2 rocking chairs. There was a large flat screen TV in the sitting area and a regular one in the bedroom area. The suite has a small kitchen complete with microwave, refrigerator, range and full set of dishes, utensils and pots and pans along with detergent to wash dishes. Bathroom was average but could have used a fan. Bedroom is a bit on the dark side and we could not figure out how to turn off the ceiling fan. It was a very windy night and the "wooing" noise coming through the door and windows facing the ocean made it difficult for a good nights sleep. However, we did not hear it in the bedroom. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have ever experienced. I do not have the room to list all that was served but it was everything you would find on a menu in a regular restaurant. It was all very fresh and very very delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms tucked in the corner do not have a good sunrise view b/c they are blocked by part of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a very special reason to visit Cape May NJ in January. There are very few hotels available that time of year. The Marquis de Lafayette was open and readily available for my party. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for a mini-vacation over the 2012 Holiday Season. Great location, great views, great buffet breakfast which was included in the cost of the room. The room itself was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The elevators were a bit questionable??? As a smoker, I thought their non-smoking rules were a bit over the top...no smoking on your private balcony or anywhere outside the building, except for the parking lot. I don't mind not smoking inside my room or the public areas of the hotel...but I found it interesting that they are a "pet friendly" hotel. I'm sorry but really pets can be very dirty and annoying...a lot more than smokers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.