We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis De Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
rochester,new york
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent location on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went with a group tour. Rooms all had bedroom, kitchenette, living room and balcony. Furnishings were a bit dated, but all was very clean and tidy. Located across from the beach and 3 blocks from the shopping area. Breakfast was included- had everything! Fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, eggs and an omelette bar, waffles, pancakes... Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    82
    42
    30
    44
See reviews for
86
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayville
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the end of August. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast (The Queen Victoria or The Carol Villa) but now with a two year old we like something with a kitchenette. The hotel had all the amenities we needed. We booked late and still got a room on the second floor overlooking the pool and the ocean. We did not hear any dogs barking right below us, which we were nervous about. Breakfast was included but unfortunately people let their kids cough, sneeze, and touch everything with their hands that we couldn't do the buffet after the first day. The location is great, right across the street from the ocean and a two block walk into town. The staff was friendly and housekeeping was always efficient in cleaning our room early because our daughter takes a nap in the day time. We just called the desk at breakfast time and they came right up. The hotel was not cheap, it was about $300 a night. Also check your bill because they stated 2 adults and 2 children free under 12 and they charged us extra for my daughter. The rectified it when I told them she was under 12. I would rather stay in a bed and breakfast but when you have young children most places don't allow it. The hotel suited our needs and we will likely stay here again till our daughter is old enough to stay in a bed and breakfast. We also went to the Cape May Zoo, which is free to visit with a small donation.
The Cape May Convention hall (newly renovated) had a lot of free shows going on for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Falls, New York, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I travel to Cape May as often as we can and have stayed at other hotels here, but we love the Marquis de Lafayette hotel best. Cape May in general is a little pricier than other resort areas on the coast north of here but it is less rushed and the ocean beach access is abundant. The hotel has lovely Victorian accents in keeping with the town's beautiful mansions but they do it in a way that is not fussy or complicated. The rooms are clean, the pool is clean, staff is friendly and unobtrusive. The hotel is pet friendly but we have not been disturbed by any noise. Breakfast buffet is very good. Our room included a coffee maker, microwave oven and small cooktop. There is nothing better than having coffee on an ocean facing balcony at the Marquis de Lafayette to make you feel pampered, rested and very fortunate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband & I have been going to the Marquis for numerous consecutive years but took a short hiatus for a while. We were now looking forward in returning to which I call, “my home away from home”. I usually read trip advisor for all our destinations. I was so shocked to see some of the negative reviews that I was thinking I was looking at the wrong hotel.
Yes, the hotel is need of some repair but what hotel that is Ocean Front does not need some repair here & there. It’s called weather, salt water, and consistent booking. Our booking with Pat was so easy over the phone – we do hope she is feeling better. Our check-in with Jean was so fast and quick and done with smiles and laughter. Seeing Joan, again was the highlight of our stay with her heart filled welcoming. We also had the pleasure to meet Louise the manager, again another smiling face. Our room was immaculate every day – thanks Ellie! Chris a young gentleman from Romania was so polite and very enjoyable to talk with.
Breakfast was included – service outstanding – food perfect – also the best coffee we have ever tasted!
I understand that most people feel the Marquis is a lil pricey and they will find fault in some things – this is not the Ritz Carlton – but it has the best location in Cape May & every room has an ocean view and private balcony. It does have the feel of comfort and friendliness and for all the years we have been coming here I have never experience any rudeness. If something needed fixing it was done immediately and efficiently.
I am real sorry for those you who did not get the chance to experience the hospitality that the Marquis has to offer. Maybe you should try again! We are certainly looking for our return vacation stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Check in time is 4:00. We arrived early and unfortunately our room was not ready yet. We gave our cell number, and were told it would be ready shortly and they would call. We never received a call and didn't get into our room until after 4. Other than that, we were happy with our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. Sitting on the balcony and looking over to the ocean was very relaxing. The buffet breakfast which is included was good. The restaurant could use updating and I would have preferred not to have to make my own waffles. The variety of foods was very good.
Getting parking and being within walking distance of shops and restaurants was great. They also accommodate pets on the first floor. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We came back from another great long weekend at the Marquis to be surprised by a review claiming the website is "phony". If you are unhappy with your stay, that is one thing, but to falsely accuse an establishment of a phony website is irresponsible. I looked over the website to see what they could be referring to. There is a photo of a staff person in a navy blazer with a name tag, in front of the front desk. If you choose to interpret that as a "uniformed concierge", you will be disappointed. The yellow silk orchids in the same picture were there for a long time, but have since apparently been retired. I hardly think that is cause to accuse someone of being misleading.

Most establishments in Cape May are family and locally run. They are not huge conglomerates with a deep bench of staff. If you are expecting a bunch of people at your beck and call, anticipating all your needs, you will again be disappointed. But when you call the desk with a specific problem it should be fixed, and it always has been for us. A previous guest had lifted the "Cool Cape May" reference book from our room, one of the cleaning staff called in sick on the Friday of a sold out weekend so we had no paper towels in our kitchenette, and the screen door on our penthouse balcony was missing (apparently gone for repairs). All were fixed within an hour.

The maid had saved a small item for us that we had left on a previous trip. She also opened the sofa bed where our son was staying and remade it every day. The room was immaculate. At breakfast we sat next to a couple who had been happily staying at the Marquis since 1984. Some of the little things we love are you always have a parking spot, you never have to wait long for an elevator, there are luggage caddies so you can do all your luggage in one trip, you are right across from a beach entrance, the breakfast is plentiful and delicious, and there is coffee in the rooms. And the wifi actually works. This is, of course, in addition to the best view and location in Cape May.

We like the fact that the bedrooms are dark, because we like to sleep in the dark. There is an overhead light and two bedside lights, so plenty of light when you need it. The living room is full of light from the beachfront view. There are blackout curtains in the living room, and drawers in the living room so anyone using the sofa bed can sleep and have some storage. The lobby is dominated by the original wooden desk from the 1800's version of the hotel, so if you don't like Victorian antiques, you won't like that either.

For some reason Trip Advisor estimates the cost of this hotel as one of the most expensive. It is not. It is in line with the other beachfront hotels. So check it out, it may be the one for you.

Room Tip: We always stay on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

While the location of this hotel is excellent, it is in reall need of a facelift. We stayed in a suite where it was almost too dark to get dressed. The lighting is dismal, our ceiling fan over the bed didn't work and the living area space was tiny. Out bedroom in the back had only one high and locked window that made the room feel like a basement cabin on a cheap cruise ship! Lighting, new bedding and a price deduction are a must! And the lobbey is horrific. Also, at 3:30 our room was still not ready. The front desk gal said she would call us, but she never did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.