We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B Alternative - at a price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marquis De Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Gambrills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A B&B Alternative - at a price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you come to Cape May and aren't doing the B&B circuit, this hotel may work for you. Conveniently located in the center of everything, off-street parking, a pool that always seems to have available chairs open from 10am to 7pm, and a breakfast banquet that offers tons of options and all-you-can-eat are the pluses to this establishment. On the downside, the rooms are modestly furnished, the bath is a bit small, and the beds get more uncomfortable as the week progresses. At $400/night in the July/August timeframe for a standard room, the price is a bit much. We have repeated for 2 years now and they offer a 25% discount for repeat customers, so that eases the pain in the wallet a bit.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies overlooking Beach Avenue and the ocean, so the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Happy to hear you had a good stay! We try our best to make everyone's stay comfortable and memorable. With so many preferences to bedding it is hard to keep everyone 100% satisfied...some say the mattresses are too soft, some say too hard, and others feel they are just right. We look forward to seeing you again and recommend trying a different room style such as a suite, penthouse, or apartment. Those units will definitely provide you with more space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    71
    40
    28
    43
See reviews for
77
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been updated but still has to old beachfront frame work so don't expect really modern & metro. What it does have is fairly clean rooms & an excellent location with beach view balcony on each suite ( except maybe 1st floor). We had a great corner room on upper floor & loved the view & breeze. The room was a suite & had ample space & most amenities for the 2 of us. The only real negative was the corner we had was over the intersection of Beach Ave & a street with a busy corner bar (at nite) that resulted in loud music & people on the weekend. I guess the street fight was kind of entertaining if that's you're thing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments! The Hotel is one of the best locations in Cape May...in the center of town and on the beach front. Being in the hub of activity can have some disadvantages, but they are few and far between. We encourage our customers to let us know any time they are uncomfortable or disturbed by noise inside or outside the building. You will find our staff provides great support in these matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Needs major renovation to justify the prices. The room was very clean, bed comfortable enough, enjoyed the rocking chairs on the balcony and the location is ideal because you never need your car the whole time you are there. BUT......it's old and a bit rundown without charm. The bathroom is tiny, shower barely adequate and the towels are from the year one. Breakfast came with it and that was okay, the staff in the restaurant were very helpful but the room is dreary and needs a major re-do. So does the lobby. The pool wasn't too bad, staff friendly.

The front desk people were not as helpful. They would barely greet you when you walked in the lobby and if you had a question they would barely move out of their chair to help you.

I do have to say the room and rest of the place was very clean.....which saved it from being a complete fiasco. Also, if you don't tip the chambermaid.....you don't get any towels.....very interesting!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We appreciate your comments and regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your review will be addressed with the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Marquis!

Location, location, location! Across from the beach with a splendid view from our balcony. We could see the dolphins/porpoises (still not certain which!) in the surf early and late in the day. We were even "treated" to an early-morning storm and sat outside, watching the lightning over the ocean.

Our room was a "suite" with bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom, living room with TV and balcony. Bathroom and kitchenette were very small, but still functional. It was nice to have a fridge to hold some soda and a few remains of restaurant meals, and very nice to be able to make a cup of tea in the evening and before we went to breakfast.

Furnishings were more than adequate; a little dated, but we did not choose this for a luxurious stay. We were more interested in being outside.

Front desk staff was always helpful and friendly.

We received a free buffet breakfast with the room. Breakfast foods were very good and plentiful. Wait staff was friendly and efficient.

Although we didn't use the pool, we noticed it was always full and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

During our stay, we drove past several other hotels I had seen advertised or reviewed on the 'Net. When I compared their location and visibility of the beach, I was even more pleased with our choice of the Marquis. We felt it was an excellent overall value.

I am really glad I chose this one, despite some of the negative reviews I read.

If we could do one thing over, we would have stayed longer! Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Any room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerdale, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were in the part of this hotel that was built in 1955, 57 years ago. This is also the section that is closest to the beach. This section needs a lot of upgrading. The paint in our room was peeling on the bathroom cabinet. The furniture and lamps are white wicker. Two of the lamp shades were broken. The bathroom is dinky, small, crowded. There is no electrical outlet over the sink for a shaver, etc. The electrical outlet is is on the opposite wall. The king size bed was very comfortable, but since there is no central airconditioning you had to rely on an individual room air conditioner that is noisy and may keep a light sleeper awake. The porch on the front of the room, facing the ocean was excellent. My wife really enjoyed the view. The cost of the room includes a full breakfast in the hotel's restuarant. The breakfast was excellent and the waiters and waitresses were excellent. Service is top notch. The people on the front desk were very accommodating. Parking is in the back of the hotel and there was always a place to park. We have often stayed at the Bed and Breakfasts in Cape May. If you enjoy a Victorian atmosphere these are our recommendation. However, there is usually not ocean view. The price per day is about the same or maybe slightly higher in some B&B's.

Room Tip: Check out the newer section to the left of the building. This section was added after 1955. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Your comments are very important to us and thank you for taking the time to write. Hopefully you gave us the opportunity to correct the issues you found in your room. Please contact us through TripAdvisor's messaging center to let us know which room you were in so we can ensure the problems were corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I (husband and 3 kids) stayed in a suite here in June. We were very happy with this hotel. We loved the pool with the bar! And even had lunch from the restaurant poolside. We did have some problems with our bathroom, but maintenance fixed it right away (twice). The location is perfect. My husband and I enjoyed the patio with the ocean view at night! Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the Memorial Day Weekend. We were a little concerned about the large amount of negative reviews, but decided to stay there given the pretty nice internet special they had. We must say that this hotel has an incredible location in Cape May. It is located right in front of the beach and close to all the downtown attractions.

We stayed in one of the Marquise suites. The room was spacious and had a little kitchenette. The balcony was facing the ocean. The set-up of the room was a bit dark as the bed was in the back and the the small living room faced the balcony. The accommodations were pretty standard. We were pretty disappointed about the bed – indeed this is our only complaint. The bed was so saggy that caused us major backaches. If all the beds in this hotel are like the one in our room, they all must be changed right away. Also, the customer service at the front desk must improve...

Besides the terrible bed, the hotel was average with the best possible location in Cape May. Likewise, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It was complimentary and pretty good with a lot of options. We can recommend the hotel and would stay here again as long as we could take advantage of the internet special and the beds were replaced for new ones that can offer more support to your back

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room on the 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for responding to my request for additional information. Since your stay in May, several mattresses were replaced as part of our pre-summer routine. The front desk manager has been advised about your comment regarding the customer service and it has been addressed with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.