We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windward House
Save
You added Windward House to your Saves list
24 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We're a couple, both 30 yrs old and booked this B&B fairly last minute for Labor Day weekend and I have to say we had a great time. You can't beat the location - right off the ocean, what more could you ask for? We also shared a large terrace with another room, but never saw the other people out there so we had it all to ourselves. The owner was great. Lovely, we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: The Edwardian Room has a shared terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    9
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. We were in the Summer Suite which, as someone else noted, is on the ground floor, and opens directly into the breakfast room. If you plan to sleep past 8 am, ask for a different room. We did not have any issues because we get up early even on vacation, but I could see how you might be disturbed by the breakfast preparation as well as the other guests having breakfast. In the summer, just turn on the AC and you won't hear anything. Breakfast is at 8:45 and goes until about 10 or 10:30. Someone else complained that it was too early. I would have liked it earlier but that is a personal preference and not a complaint. You need to sign up the day before to let them know: a. You will be having breakfast, and b. What beverages you want.
The Summer Suite has a private entrance, which we thought was a great perk and used it all the time.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, and the French Toast (mentioned in several other reviews) is fantastic, if pretty high in sugar. We loved it.
We stayed Labor Day weekend. We felt that the service was good, but rather perfunctory. Sandy Miller was always VERY pleasant, but we only saw her at one breakfast. The other person is not as effusive. She is not at all rude or unpleasant, we just got the feeling that she was bored with the entire affair and glad that the high season was coming to an end.
We did get beach tags, which was another great perk.
The parking is about a 10 minute walk away, but I believe that they provide on-site parking for guests with physical disabilities. But I read this from another source and it is not mentioned on the website, so I have no proof.
There is WiFi, and for us it worked best on the front porch. It was slow inside the room but it worked. Another great perk, and fairly standard today, I should think.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Windward House. We had the Eastlake room, which is on the second floor, and has a large Eastlake King bed, dresser, armoire and couch. All period pieces, all magnificent. Over the course of a very hot summer weekend, the room AC and ceiling fan kept us cool and quite comfortable. The renovated bathroom is gorgeous, and makes use of the space such that it feels more than ample, even with a gratis compact refrigerator in there (great for bringing back leftovers!). I loved the shower, and the amenities left us wanting for nothing, from plentiful towels, to soap, shampoo, tissues and a blow dryer. There's even an ice bucket and glasses that await your chilled wine!
The Windward House will have you looking in every corner at Sandy Miller's collections. From blue glass to Communion sets to scads of figurines, you'll never stop being amazed at what you see.
Breakfast each day brought a selection of warm dishes, juice, fruits, breads, yogurts and cereals. The coffee was very good. We enjoyed each morning meal on the front veranda, overlooking bustling Jackson St.
The beach chairs were all in good shape and Sandy provides beach tags, which is a nice amenity. We were also able to store our umbrella in the garage.
You can tell the Windward House is loved. It's impeccably clean and very welcoming. I think, after all these years and many BnB's, we've found "the one".
PS... thank you for the egg recipe. I can't wait to impress guests with it!

Room Tip: We loved the Eastlake room, with it's period pieces, generous space and renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

When searching for a hotel, we look for location, service, cost, and comfort. The windward house has it all. Located on the most beautiful block in cape may, Jackson Street, the windward house is 1/2 block from the ocean, and 1/2 block from the Washington Street Mall shops (no autos allowed on this 5 block stretch that has quaint shops, art galleries, a book store, etc. There is a choice of 9 clean and comfortable rooms at this B&B, all equipped with baths, air conditioning, refrigerator, flat screen tvs, etc. 2 rooms on the second floor have access to a private porch that is great for people watching. Service is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast, which is included in the price of the room, is excellent (the french toast is our favorite). The cost is extremely reasonable and includes beach tags, parking, beach towels and chairs, etc. This is a wonderful inn to kick back, relax, and enjoy a bit of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our last vacation before our first baby. We stayed in the Edwardian Room which had a nice 2nd floor porch that you share with another room. The house has a lot of antiques and is very nice inside. It also has a very nice front porch. There is window air conditioning and the bathrooms are newly remodeled. Sandy, the inn-keeper, is very friendly. She greets you as you check-in and provides you with info about Cape May, beach tags, towels/beach chair access, and a parking pass. There is breakfast in the morning and cookies/snacks, coffee, tea, water, and a dessert liquor in the afternoon. Parking is in the Bank Street Lot which is a little bit of a walk from the location. It is not really a big deal, but it may be an issue for you depending on your situation. The location is wonderful VERY close to the beach, the mall, restaurants, Hot Dog Tommys, and The Mad Batter. All in all it is a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Windward House in Cape May for a long weekend. We spent the weekend with my college roommate and his wife. The home is a treasure house of victorian bric-a-brac and is lovely. Everything is first class. The outside porches are lovely, the furniture is lovely, the artwork is lovely, the beds are most comfortable, and the breakfasts were outstanding. The owner, Sandy Miller, has paid attention to every detail. It was a wonderful experience and we certainly plan to return again next year.
David and Virginia Spencer

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed in the Renaissance Room, which actually faces the front of the house. With people walking in and out, I felt like they could see me through the lace-covered windows. I checked outside and while you couldn't see in during the day, I was very uncomfortable to change clothes and at night I am sure that people could see in. Also the shower was tiny. Maybe I would feel differently if I had stayed in another room. The location was great and we loved visiting Cape May, but we would try a different place next time. We also didn't eat the breakfast since they wanted to serve it too early and was more continental style. We LOVED the Mad Batter - right across the street, and ate there for two meals.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
star24CapeMay_N_J_, Owner at Windward House, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
This reviewer only stayed with us one night, yet made it sound like they had to have 2 breakfasts out because our breakfast was too early. We serve a full homemade breakfast (not continental) every day from 8:45 until approximately 10:30 - is that too early? If they were so unhappy with the room they should have said something, but they said nothing. We had 3 other rooms available and would have gladly moved them or refunded their money. Wouldn't it have been more fair to let us correct the problem first. The Renaissance Room is repeatedly requested by return guests, and has both full window shades as well as privacy curtains. It is requested for 2 reasons - it is our smallest but cheapest room or because people want a first floor room ( many do). Why did these people take 5 months to post the review? A reputable company that I travel with will only accept one month old reviews - they feel that longer than that makes it less accurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward House

Address: 24 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windward House Bed and Breakfast Inn is located in the heart of Cape May's historic district on Jackson Street, the oldest street in Cape May. It's unbeatable location is close to most things Cape May has to offer: Cape May's wonderful beaches are just 1/2 a block down the street, Shopping is just 1/2 block up the street and most of Cape May's restaurants and tour sites are within walking distance. Windward House is a gracious Cape May Bed and Breakfast Inn with a tradition of hospitality and comfort in Cape May for over 30 years. Built in Cape May during a period when rooms were large, spacious and airy, Windward House Bed and Breakfast Inn also has 3 wonderful porches to capture the warm Cape May sun or to savor the cool seashore seabreezes in the shade while relaxing. One of Cape May's finest collections of stained and beveled glass can be found in this New Jersey Bed and Breakfast Inn,along with museum quality antiques,the owner's special collections and spacious rooms replicating the comfort and luxury enjoyed by the Victorians as well as our guests today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.