We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Rose Victorian Inn

Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
Save Saved
You added Ashley Rose Victorian Inn to your Saves list
715 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly The Victorian Rose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
pa
1 review
“CLEAN!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is the second year in a row we have stayed in the cottage behind the main house. It's a little small, but it's perfect for our family of three. It's well stocked, has everything we need for our "home away from home." The one thing I appreciate most about this place is that it is CLEAN, 100% CLEAN from top to bottom!! That's the main reason we returned this year and plan to again next year. It's in a perfect location, you can literally park your car and not have to move it until you leave. The beach, shopping, restaurants, bike rentals, arcade, mini-golf, etc. is all within a very short walking distance.
I noticed someone stating a negative about the motion-sensitive lights during the night. These lights worked perfect for us. While coming home from shopping in the evening, it was nice to have these lights turn on automatically when you reach the back porch. And there's both blinds and heavy curtains to close at the windows, no light shines through at all.
As for not getting to use the main porch, I totally understand that this porch is reserved for the main house guests. There's a porch out back and an endless list of places to relax in Cape May so....so what!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I have stayed at the Ashley Rose for 10 days for the last 2 summers. I found the apartments clean, comfortable, well stocked and pleasant. The amenities are not luxurious, but simple and what one expects of a beach vacation: nice outdoor showers, communal grills, bike racks and outdoor deck/patio. The location is perfect as it is within 3 blocks of the beach and the downtown area, but quiet and private. Sally has always been accessible and accomodating and I recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Clean, cozy, cute, and convenient! The Ashley Rose Cottage was perfect for my small family. The accommodations were well kept, and the short stroll to the ocean manageable, even with my three year old. We enjoyed the sweet decor, outdoor showers, the grill, and the deck to full advantage. The central location - between the walking mall and the boardwalk - was perfect.

  • Liked — Simple, convenient
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

The Inlet Cottage at Ashley Rose is truly a little escape from hectic everyday life -- a cozy and comfortable retreat -- and a great location.

Jan and Michael (Returning Guests)

  • Liked — cozy and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Seven bedrooms in the beautiful main house, one huge living room and giant dining room table, and a lovely view from the front porch of all the action in town! It looks like a giant barbie dream house -but even the males in our group enjoyed it! The location is an easy walk up the street to the beach, an easy walk down a street to the old town main street with shopping and the best pizza we have ever tasted (Mario's) We came for the Cape May jazz festival but ended up missing most of the performances because we were having so much fun hanging out at the Ashley Rose!
I stayed in Cape May one November in a beach view "hotel" (converted motel) and was appalled at how ugly the motel/hotels were that were located along the boardwalk. So, we tried this house. Our extended family has never taken a vacation together and we were afraid that "bed and breakfast" meant close quarters and frayed nerves. But this house is beautifully designed with plenty of privacy for each room, private bathrooms (some tiny but still quite nice) and high ceilings and gorgeous molding. However, it is not so fancy that we had to worry about the toddler in the group pulling over a priceless antique. We have already asked to return next year and are so excited we found such a lovely spot. I have to admit there were many tourists that stopped by and took a picture of "our" house while ten of us were enjoying the spacious front porch and we smiled proudly as though we owned the place! I thought the cape may area was pricey in general but after looking at the neighborhood on www.zillow.com, these are multi million dollar mansions and worth the price, especially considering it was more fun to cook at home than take a huge group out to a restaurant for each meal.
Soothing and peaceful, and its no big deal to bring my own sheets/towels. I've read the other reviews and while I'm not an experienced B&Ber, I thought Sally was wonderfully accommodating, answering all our questions. As to the front porch, as the big group who used it a lot this last weekend, we would have welcomed all the other guests from the other cottages but I'm sure some groups are not that open to this arrangement so it seems fair that the main house group (there were a LOT of us, we used all the rockers!) would take priority. So much to see and do, I can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Location, location, location and style of the home
  • Disliked — nothing, it was excellent!
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford,ct
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Ashley Rose. We are a large group of family members who visit Cape May yearly and always like to rent a large victorian home so that we can all be together. We had always loved the outside of this home, and hoped to stay in it one day. We were thrilled when we found out that we could rent the main entire main house.
Upon arrival we were delighted to find the home clean, the bedrooms large, and the bathrooms ( 5 full, 1 1/2) great for our large group.
The kitchen is nicely stocked with cooking supplies, and the living and dining areas are bright and large.
To respond to a previous reviewer, there are cottages that are rented out in the back and they do not have front porch priveleges.
This is made clear on the website. When renting an entire house (therefore paying SUBSTANTIALLY MORE) you are obviously entitled to extra priveleges. We were entilted to use of the porch and the 2 parking spaces in the driveway. Many of the older homes that rent rooms do not provide all of the guests with porch priveleges, but all of the Inns do.
When in doubt about priveleges such as these always find out
from the owner before booking.
The Ashley Rose is a beautiful home with tons of room and an easy walk to beaches and dining. We loved it.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We were not told ahead of time that we would not have access to the front porch of this inn - that is one of the reasons we stay at an inn in a place like Cape May, to while away the hours reading in a rocking chair on the porch! Not to mention that the photos Sally sent us of the inn included beautiful pictures of the front porch.

So the first thing that happened after we arrived, was we got kicked out of the porch by the people who were staying in the part of the inn which apparently did get granted this "special privilege."

My husband wrote a letter to Sally, demanding a partial refund, and she wasn't even around enough to pick the letter up.

The room was also smaller than we'd been led to believe, and there was a broken lamp in it.

The kitchen was great, and the location was great, but there are many other choices that have those offerings.

We travel a lot, and I can't remember ever complaining before - we're pretty easy to please. But this place was a definite no-go.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Rose Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Rose Victorian Inn

Address: 715 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly The Victorian Rose)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Rose Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.