We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Rose Victorian Inn

Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
715 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly The Victorian Rose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
pennington
1 review
“Clean and Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Clean, cozy, cute, and convenient! The Ashley Rose Cottage was perfect for my small family. The accommodations were well kept, and the short stroll to the ocean manageable, even with my three year old. We enjoyed the sweet decor, outdoor showers, the grill, and the deck to full advantage. The central location - between the walking mall and the boardwalk - was perfect.

  • Liked — Simple, convenient
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

The Inlet Cottage at Ashley Rose is truly a little escape from hectic everyday life -- a cozy and comfortable retreat -- and a great location.

Jan and Michael (Returning Guests)

  • Liked — cozy and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Seven bedrooms in the beautiful main house, one huge living room and giant dining room table, and a lovely view from the front porch of all the action in town! It looks like a giant barbie dream house -but even the males in our group enjoyed it! The location is an easy walk up the street to the beach, an easy walk down a street to the old town main street with shopping and the best pizza we have ever tasted (Mario's) We came for the Cape May jazz festival but ended up missing most of the performances because we were having so much fun hanging out at the Ashley Rose!
I stayed in Cape May one November in a beach view "hotel" (converted motel) and was appalled at how ugly the motel/hotels were that were located along the boardwalk. So, we tried this house. Our extended family has never taken a vacation together and we were afraid that "bed and breakfast" meant close quarters and frayed nerves. But this house is beautifully designed with plenty of privacy for each room, private bathrooms (some tiny but still quite nice) and high ceilings and gorgeous molding. However, it is not so fancy that we had to worry about the toddler in the group pulling over a priceless antique. We have already asked to return next year and are so excited we found such a lovely spot. I have to admit there were many tourists that stopped by and took a picture of "our" house while ten of us were enjoying the spacious front porch and we smiled proudly as though we owned the place! I thought the cape may area was pricey in general but after looking at the neighborhood on www.zillow.com, these are multi million dollar mansions and worth the price, especially considering it was more fun to cook at home than take a huge group out to a restaurant for each meal.
Soothing and peaceful, and its no big deal to bring my own sheets/towels. I've read the other reviews and while I'm not an experienced B&Ber, I thought Sally was wonderfully accommodating, answering all our questions. As to the front porch, as the big group who used it a lot this last weekend, we would have welcomed all the other guests from the other cottages but I'm sure some groups are not that open to this arrangement so it seems fair that the main house group (there were a LOT of us, we used all the rockers!) would take priority. So much to see and do, I can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Location, location, location and style of the home
  • Disliked — nothing, it was excellent!
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford,ct
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Ashley Rose. We are a large group of family members who visit Cape May yearly and always like to rent a large victorian home so that we can all be together. We had always loved the outside of this home, and hoped to stay in it one day. We were thrilled when we found out that we could rent the main entire main house.
Upon arrival we were delighted to find the home clean, the bedrooms large, and the bathrooms ( 5 full, 1 1/2) great for our large group.
The kitchen is nicely stocked with cooking supplies, and the living and dining areas are bright and large.
To respond to a previous reviewer, there are cottages that are rented out in the back and they do not have front porch priveleges.
This is made clear on the website. When renting an entire house (therefore paying SUBSTANTIALLY MORE) you are obviously entitled to extra priveleges. We were entilted to use of the porch and the 2 parking spaces in the driveway. Many of the older homes that rent rooms do not provide all of the guests with porch priveleges, but all of the Inns do.
When in doubt about priveleges such as these always find out
from the owner before booking.
The Ashley Rose is a beautiful home with tons of room and an easy walk to beaches and dining. We loved it.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We were not told ahead of time that we would not have access to the front porch of this inn - that is one of the reasons we stay at an inn in a place like Cape May, to while away the hours reading in a rocking chair on the porch! Not to mention that the photos Sally sent us of the inn included beautiful pictures of the front porch.

So the first thing that happened after we arrived, was we got kicked out of the porch by the people who were staying in the part of the inn which apparently did get granted this "special privilege."

My husband wrote a letter to Sally, demanding a partial refund, and she wasn't even around enough to pick the letter up.

The room was also smaller than we'd been led to believe, and there was a broken lamp in it.

The kitchen was great, and the location was great, but there are many other choices that have those offerings.

We travel a lot, and I can't remember ever complaining before - we're pretty easy to please. But this place was a definite no-go.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

Very "Clean" and great location. We made last minute plans, unforseen circumstances........and Sally was able to accommodate us. She explained that we were renting a room, similar to an apartment and had to make our own bed. Not a problem, I understood completely and did not mind in the least. She supplied linens. We did, however, find that we could not sit in the main room of the Inn to watch television. Sally was concerned that it would bother the guests staying in adjacent rooms. We were staying only one night so it did not affect us. We sat on the front porch, very peaceful. We walked to dinner, breakfast, the mall, and the beach.

So goes the story of the Bed, not Bed and Breakfast. I'm sure this is a great place for reunions where you would have the run of the house.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

We stayed at this bed and breakfast last summer - although it should really just be called a "bed" since breakfast is no longer offered to the guests (be warned -- this is not a full service bed and breakfast!). Sally was pleasant enough (I did see shades of the attitude that the previous unhappy reviewer did, but I think it was just a personality clash. Basically she is a nice person). We appreciated the fact that she welcomed and accomodated us (with short notice) and our 2 year old daughter - however I must say it is not the perfect location for a two year old. The room we stayed in had no door on the bedroom (main room) therefore it was difficult to put her down for the night and still remain awake in the other room. Sally lent us a folding wall (broken) and we fashioned a makeshift door ourselves. There is no tub in the bathroom (luckily we had brought our own plastic one) for our 2 year old. Also, the motion sensor lights outside! Aaah! Anytime someone walked by whether it be 9pm or 1am those motion sensor lights BLASTED on and shone through our windows (through the heavy curtains) and woke up the house. Very annoying!

Overall, Sally has made and keeps a very nice house - the personal touches were beautiful, and we especially liked the back porch with picnic table. The location to other things in Cape May is also a plus (short walk to beach). However, Sally is not there all the time and because there is no personalized food service, you hardly see her. We actually saw her assistant more, wandering the grounds smoking her Marlboro Lights which you smelled wherever you walked.

For the price, it's not a horrible stay unless you are expecting more (i.e. a full-service, spectacular bed and breakfast experience) and one can DEFINITELY do better. We are certainly looking elsewhere for this summer. It's a shame because with a little effort and personalized service, this could be a hidden jewel. But right now - it's not.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashley Rose Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Rose Victorian Inn

Address: 715 Columbia Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly The Victorian Rose)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Rose Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashley Rose Victorian Inn to your Saves list