We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carroll Villa has an incredibly friendly atmosphere, top notch accommodations and great food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Live Music, Happy Hour
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Carroll Villa has an incredibly friendly atmosphere, top notch accommodations and great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

The staff, management and owners, Mark and Pam do a a fantastic job in making our stay a mini retreat. We smile the whole time we are there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    223
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
84
467
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The place was gorgeous! It reminded me of my Great Grandmother's home- of course a bit more modern, but the welcomingness and the decor was that of the earlier era. The fireside lobby was a pleasant place to wind down the night after touring the Christmas lights of Cape May.

I was pleasantly surprised even though we were only about a block from the beach there was no typical musty odor you get in the older seaside home. The place was well cared for - they are updating the rooms to be a bit more modern Victorian, but it still works... I really liked that they were environmentally conscious with soap and shampoo dispensers on the shower stall. Oh and the towels are nice and soft... I've been use to modern hotels where there are lots of noise, I can tell you I didn't hear anything once I was in the room except for my neighbor's bath fan once. My parents commented on the same thing... they only heard the neighbor's alarm go off.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Food was fantastic... actually amazing... I don't know if it was the chef, the water or the fresh air, but it was the best food I tasted in about a year... we had breakfast and lunch at the hotel... just simple omelets and burgers.

The bad? It is a 1882 Victorian home so don't expect large rooms or an elevator. Parking is off street - since it was off season that was easy, but I don't know what they do during high season... it is walking distance to highlights so I could see myself Grey Hounding it in and enjoying a few days without a car...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

My husband and I along with our friends (7 or 8 coouples usually) have been staying here annually for the last 7 years . Mark and Kathi and the staff have become like family to us. They have made our stay comfortable and enjoyable every time. The rooms are warm and comfortable and clean. Best of all are the meals we enjoy every day at the Mad Batter are outstanding. Hope to return for many many years to come.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

This is the worst hotel I have ever been in. Worse than the one star hotel in Ramallah. Worse than the Soviet era hostel in Gatchina, Russia, close to the Artice Circle.
In short, my spouse and I stayed here for a wedding nearby. The room was dingy and unkempt. The phone did not work and the remotely operated AC did not have a remote.

The main point of contention however, was the behavior of the owner when called as a last resort when the room's AC failed on a July night. Rude, condescending, would not shake hands and in general, behaved in a boorish manner. If you read the other reviews, you will see a clear pattern of behavior involving basic common courtesy that apparently eludes the staff of this hotel.It costs nothing to be polite, and yet for several hundred dollars a room, the staff cannot be bothered.

I would not ever recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Please try us another time when coming to Cape May so we can work out our differences. Happy New Year from all of us at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant
Mark Kulkowitz,Pam Huber owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We had another great experience at the Carroll Villa. The bar is fun, the restaurant has great food and friendly service. This time I stayed in room 9. A nice sized room that was recently redone. It's a great space and very comfortable. The staff is always friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Spent two cold blustery nights at the delightful Carroll Villa in early December and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A perfectly charming setting to enjoy our special weekend, the Carroll is very conveniently located to the beach and the shopping areas (although many were closed for the season). The staff was friendly and attentive and the rooms well appointed although the shower stall is small. We had two very good dinners next door at the Mad Batter, and although we had planned to find another good restaurant for the second special evening…decided to go with what works and went back for that last night. Glad we did too! My wife and I have decided the time to visit Cape May is in early December and the place to stay is the Carroll Villa. Thanks Kathi and the good folks who made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Carroll Villa in Cape May. This charming hotel is within walking distance to all the sites, and the delicious breakfasts and dinner were highlights of our Christmas kick-off weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.