We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Daily Happy Hour
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

Had a great time and this was a great place to stay. I recommend it highly. My partner and I were very comfortable here. We had a wonderful time. and will stay there again.

  • Liked — Great Locations
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    270
    67
    23
    18
See reviews for
99
607
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

This inn is comfortable, reasonably priced (especially with the breakfast discount offers), and a block to the beaches and the Washington Street Mall. Very good location.The bathrooms are clean. The rooms have heating and air conditioning. Room 31 is a comfortable size for two adults and a child, with a nice size bathroom. A good choice for couples too.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed for a getaway weekend. The staff is relaxed and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is perfect for walking around the town. Breakfast and dinner in the Mad Batter, their restaurant, was sensational. The best clam chowder I have every experienced - superb food. I told one of the waiters I could move in permanently! A great find!

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

We only stayed one night but were pleasantly surprised at how helpful the staff was. They even opened the restaurant early the next morning to accommodate our schedule. The room was perfect and breakfast was great at the Mad Batter. We were concerned at just picking a B&B out of the many B&B's in Cape May but this experience turned out great. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — location, service, comfortable bed and room
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin. NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

Cape May, N.J.--Carroll Villa B & B
March 3, 2007
S. Markert, Manahawkin, N.J.
We previously stayed at a few B & B's in Cape May.
This was our first stay at Carroll Villa.
The ambience of the accommodations was just lovely and VERY clean. We felt very welcome. Entire staff made us feel as if they were happy to have us as their weekend guests. The $30. voucher for two at The Mad Batter was more than sufficient for a hearty breakfast. Location a half block from the beach and block and a half from the Victorian shopping area was a plus. This B & B is far superior to our previous stays in Cape May and we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

We checked 6-8 B&B inns in Cape May, NJ, and the Carroll Villa was the only one that accepted young children. It's prices were a bargain compared to others -- and it was only half a block to the beach. The location couldn't be better. The street is delightful with beautiful Victorian homes. You're a short walk to great shops and charming restaurants. The room was a good size and comfortable, though the foam pillows were my only (minor) complaint). There was some confusion over whether our breakfast was included the first morning and we just paid for it because the owner was out of town -- but he called in an hour later and immediately cleared the confusion. We were promptly and graciously credited for the breakfast charge. The staff were gracious and helpful and we would certainly go back -- with or without our kids!

j.f.heenehan@att.net

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

We just returned from our weekend stay in Cape May. We visit often just to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We arrived on a freezing Friday night. We ate dinner at the Mad Batter. The food is gourmet and the choices are an ecclectic assortment of delicacy. We didn't need to leave the hotel, just walked up the steps to our beautiful victorian room. On Saturday morning, I choose the victorian breakfast. It is an assortment of fresh fruits, breads and cheeses. We spent a lovely day in wondering around and arrived back to the hotel in time for happy hour! This hotel truly thinks of everything!

We had our reception at the Mad Batter in 2001. Since then, we have returned many times as do some of our guest from our reception!

The service is excellent. The food is the best at the Jersey shore and the prices were reasonable!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.