We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Victorian Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Manahawkin. NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Victorian Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

Cape May, N.J.--Carroll Villa B & B
March 3, 2007
S. Markert, Manahawkin, N.J.
We previously stayed at a few B & B's in Cape May.
This was our first stay at Carroll Villa.
The ambience of the accommodations was just lovely and VERY clean. We felt very welcome. Entire staff made us feel as if they were happy to have us as their weekend guests. The $30. voucher for two at The Mad Batter was more than sufficient for a hearty breakfast. Location a half block from the beach and block and a half from the Victorian shopping area was a plus. This B & B is far superior to our previous stays in Cape May and we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    223
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
84
467
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

We checked 6-8 B&B inns in Cape May, NJ, and the Carroll Villa was the only one that accepted young children. It's prices were a bargain compared to others -- and it was only half a block to the beach. The location couldn't be better. The street is delightful with beautiful Victorian homes. You're a short walk to great shops and charming restaurants. The room was a good size and comfortable, though the foam pillows were my only (minor) complaint). There was some confusion over whether our breakfast was included the first morning and we just paid for it because the owner was out of town -- but he called in an hour later and immediately cleared the confusion. We were promptly and graciously credited for the breakfast charge. The staff were gracious and helpful and we would certainly go back -- with or without our kids!

j.f.heenehan@att.net

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

We just returned from our weekend stay in Cape May. We visit often just to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We arrived on a freezing Friday night. We ate dinner at the Mad Batter. The food is gourmet and the choices are an ecclectic assortment of delicacy. We didn't need to leave the hotel, just walked up the steps to our beautiful victorian room. On Saturday morning, I choose the victorian breakfast. It is an assortment of fresh fruits, breads and cheeses. We spent a lovely day in wondering around and arrived back to the hotel in time for happy hour! This hotel truly thinks of everything!

We had our reception at the Mad Batter in 2001. Since then, we have returned many times as do some of our guest from our reception!

The service is excellent. The food is the best at the Jersey shore and the prices were reasonable!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

What a wonderful winter getaway! Our room was beautiful, the service was tops with friendly, gracious people. We felt like we've known them for years even though it was our first trip to their Inn. The food was wonderful -- gourmet enough to feel extra special, yet normal enough to know what we were eating! It was prepared exactly as ordered and the presentation was really nice -- not to mention the taste -- awesome! We're looking forward to our next trip down and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!
Mary & David

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.