We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday party for David” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Escape
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Paradise, Pa.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“50th birthday party for David”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

One of my best friends held his 50th birthday party at The Mad Batter Restaurant in the Carroll villa Hotel. My stay at the Carroll Villa consisted of two nights. Everyone was most cordial and very personable, the room was beautiful and the food for the party at the Mad Batter was most divine. It could not have been a better experience.

  • Liked — The staff was most personable.
  • Disliked — No parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    223
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
84
466
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

Our stay at the Carroll Villa was perfect. Our room was clean, comfy and offered amenities that we did not expect including a flat screen TV. We were their to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday and every detail for the dinner was fun and well planned. I needed a special diet and Pam was extremely accomodating and went out of her way to be sure my meal was one that I could eat. We cannot wait to go back.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modernphoenixv2
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This is the 13th B&B I've visited in Cape May, though the Carroll Villa is more along the lines of a historic 'boutique' hotel. In all my visits to local inns, I've met some wonderful people and the owner of the Carroll Villa, Mark Kulkowitz, is high on that list.

He and his family, both relatives and adopted relatives (he considers his staff to be family) run a hotel/restaurant that is among the finest I've ever visited. They attended to every detail during my stay and were as friendly as could be.

The hotel itself boasts impeccably clean and comfortable rooms, wonderful views, high-end amenities like huge flat-screen tv's in the rooms, i-pod adaptors and a 5-star restaurant on the premesis, plus the location is fantastic- one block to the outdoor mall and less than a block to the beach. Even so, the best thing The Carroll Villa/Mad Batter has to offer is the warm, friendly atmosphere and the feeling it provides of a home away from home.

From the moment I walked through the door, Mark treated me like I was an old friend he hadn't seen in years and he even took a few hours out of his busy schedule to sit with me at the bar of his restaurant and share stories of his experiences in Cape May. He's a solid guy who genuinely cares about his guests and loves what he does, which might be why the Carroll Villa remains the top hotel in the city over 30 years after his family purchased it.

No stay in Cape May is complete without a trip to the Mad Batter for one of their award-winning breakfasts or a dinner that will guarantee you lingering memories of the best meal you've had in a long time. I highly recommend this place!

Ben Miller

  • Liked — The comfortable atmosphere of the hotel and the warmth of the owner
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pa.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed at the Carroll Villa because of our 13 year old daughter. She loves the Mad Batter and she wanted to stay at the hotel. It was wonderful. Extremely clean and cozy, we had a room on the 3rd floor that accomodated all of us. It had the "antique" feel with all of the modern conveniences. Breakfast is included at the Mad Batter and you can also get 30% off of dinner here. Plus, the location can't be beat, we walked everywhere.

  • Liked — Location, food, very clean
  • Disliked — Off street parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

My wife and i stayed at the C.V.H.from 10/10-10/13.What a delight. Just cant say enough about our long weekend.We stayed in rm. 28,very clean and orderly.(the stairs will give you a good work out) but who cares.The mad batter was perfect for breakfast.I have already spread the word about the C.V.H. to our freinds and family.We will be back! Cape May is a beautiful city by the sea.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Reception at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2009
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Remember, the exercise on the stairs allows you to enjoy the restaurant that much more!! We hope to see you again in the very near future. Check our web site for specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall Md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have been visiting the Carroll Villa for serveral years to celebrate our anniversery. The staff is very helpful and very friendly. We think the rates are super with great value. You get a voucher for a great Breakfast and a 30% discount for dinner in there resturant ( The Madd Batter ) The food is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We loved our stay at the Carroll Villa and enjoyed the food at the Mad Batter immensely. The rooms were filled with amenities. We didn't need flat screen HD in our room because we don't go on vacation to watch TV.
The only problem is there is no valet parking. We had real problems with that. The directions to the parking site, which we never found, were terrible. And they were printed on the back of the permit so we had no directions back to the B&B. They told us if we got lost they would come and get us, but alas when we used our ong distance cell phone to call, they refused us that service, which they promised.
I have stayed at B&Bs before. This one could have used some refreshing in the wallpaper and wood trim in interior rooms but the sleep was delightful.
We highly recommend the restaurant -- the Mad Batter. The food and service were outstanding.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.