We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel Near Beach & Shops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Live Music, Happy Hour
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel Near Beach & Shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is well located within walking distance to beach and shops. We had a queen room on the third floor. The room was small as one would expect in an older home in which a bathroom has been adde, but clean and well air conditioned. Breakfast was a voucher to the Mad Batter Restaurant which is right downstairs....nice perk, but make sure you get down there on the weekends by 8:30-9am, otherwise you have a wait on your hands. Food was good....coffee was not. The bar bar serves well priced happy hour drinks. The only downside to the hotel is the parking.....after unloading on the street across from the hotel you have to drive to a parking lot (voucher included) about 1/2 mile away and walk back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Book early enough to get a room on the second floor....it gets old climbing up two floors, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are glad that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are glad to have been a part of your visit to the nation's oldest seaside resort and hope you will stay with us again someday. As Cape May was built and designed pre-Model T, parking is quite a challenge for all of us here and we are happy that we can offer our guests free access to parking. We have just purchased a golf cart to better serve our guests regarding the parking lot. Thank you for your review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    227
    53
    16
    15
See reviews for
85
478
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The folks who work there are very friendly and helpful. This is the best place to stay in CM.
Sure, the rooms are on the small side, but the location is terrific.
The beach is a half block away and everything else is nearby.
The Mad Batter breakfast is one of the best anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear PelicanSunset: Thank you for your great review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our first visit to Cape May. Although we thought the price was high, it was a lot less than most of the hotels in the area. Also, as a guest of this hotel you are given a 30% discount at the restaurant (The Mad Batter) in the same building, so therefore it's a pretty good value.

Our room was small but it met our needs because we were hardly in the room. More importantly, it was clean and had a private bath. The hotel is old, the floors are a little crooked, the aisles are narrow and the steps are steep but that is what gives Cape May its historic atmosphere. This hotel would be difficult for someone who cannot walk up and down steps. The location of the hotel was great; just a half block from the beach and about one block from the Pedestrian Mall (Washington St.).

The staff is efficient and friendly and would stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Want2travel: Thank you for choosing the Carroll Villa for your first visit to our beautiful old town. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and soaked up the historic atmosphere. We hope that you will return again soon. Your friends at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My fiancee and I spent a few nights in Cape May for Valentine's Day. We have eaten at the Mad Batter several times but this was our first stay at the Carroll Villa. The building is a historic B&B with a great location. Our trip was planned with short notice and we were happy that they had a room for us. The room was a bit small but it was clean and we had everything we needed to be comfortable. Please know that this is an old building. You will have to climb stairs and you will hear creaking floor boards and such. If that bothers you, maybe you would be more comfortable in a hotel. We love the character of old buildings so we consider those things a plus. We were even able to climb up into the belvidere to watch the snow flurries float over Cape May and the ocean. It was lovely and romantic.
The staff at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter are extremely nice and helpful; from the wait staff, to the person at the desk, to the house keeper!
We would definitely recommend the Carroll Villa and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear BlynG: Thank you for sharing your happy memories of your Valentine's Day stay with us. Its especially nice to know that you really appreciate the character and charm of the Carroll Villa. Keep in mind that Halloween weekend in Cape May is a lot of fun too. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a great time staying at the Carroll Villa in Cape May last week. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean very pleasant. Breakfast, included, is outstanding. Staff is helpful, courteous, and fun.

Room Tip: You choose your room online when you book and you can see exactly what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Jax2001: Glad to know your Great Time in Cape May included our bed and breakfast hotel. Thank you very much for your perfect review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I just spent three days at the Carroll Villa and had such a nice time. I love the fact that this is an historic house decorated with antiques. There are so many beautiful pieces of furniture to see. The room was very cosy and I loved the bathroom set-up where the shower had built-in body wash, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in it. So convenient! Location of the Carroll Villa is perfect since it is about a block from the beach in one direction and a block from the Washington Commons Mall the other way. They provide free parking a very short walk from the hotel. Also, you get vouchers for either breakfast or lunch at The Mad Batter, a premier restaurant in Cape Mall that is on the first floor of the hotel. Housekeeping of the room was excellent and always done by the time we got back to the room from morning errands. To top it off, I forgot to leave the parking permit on the rearview mirror of our car one day and the owner of the hotel drove me over to the parking lot himself so I could put it in the car and avoid a ticket. That is SERVICE!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Such a great review. From Housekeeping to the Owner himself, you made our day. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

8/5/14 - 8/8/14 Mini vacation. Victorian bed and breakfast with clean accommodations and attentive staff. Mark and Pam are the owners and are keyed in on customer satisfaction. Perfect location on Jackson St. -- one block from the beach and two blocks from the mall. Breakfast is scrumptious. The bar has live music nightly. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear David K: Thank you for spending your mini vacation at the Carroll Villa and we are happy you found it to your liking. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.