We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Mid-Week Special
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great time in Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a great time staying at the Carroll Villa in Cape May last week. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean very pleasant. Breakfast, included, is outstanding. Staff is helpful, courteous, and fun.

Room Tip: You choose your room online when you book and you can see exactly what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Jax2001: Glad to know your Great Time in Cape May included our bed and breakfast hotel. Thank you very much for your perfect review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    230
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
86
495
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I just spent three days at the Carroll Villa and had such a nice time. I love the fact that this is an historic house decorated with antiques. There are so many beautiful pieces of furniture to see. The room was very cosy and I loved the bathroom set-up where the shower had built-in body wash, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in it. So convenient! Location of the Carroll Villa is perfect since it is about a block from the beach in one direction and a block from the Washington Commons Mall the other way. They provide free parking a very short walk from the hotel. Also, you get vouchers for either breakfast or lunch at The Mad Batter, a premier restaurant in Cape Mall that is on the first floor of the hotel. Housekeeping of the room was excellent and always done by the time we got back to the room from morning errands. To top it off, I forgot to leave the parking permit on the rearview mirror of our car one day and the owner of the hotel drove me over to the parking lot himself so I could put it in the car and avoid a ticket. That is SERVICE!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Such a great review. From Housekeeping to the Owner himself, you made our day. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

8/5/14 - 8/8/14 Mini vacation. Victorian bed and breakfast with clean accommodations and attentive staff. Mark and Pam are the owners and are keyed in on customer satisfaction. Perfect location on Jackson St. -- one block from the beach and two blocks from the mall. Breakfast is scrumptious. The bar has live music nightly. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear David K: Thank you for spending your mini vacation at the Carroll Villa and we are happy you found it to your liking. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Carroll Villa Hotel is a quaint, homey bed and breakfast. If you treasure vintage structures you will certainly enjoy your stay. The Mad Batter restaurant was amazing..excellent breakfasts and dinner!! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will certainly visit again!!
This is a fantastic place to stay to enjoy beautiful Cape May!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Luckycat08: Thank you for complementing us so nicely. We are glad you enjoyed Cape May from our vantage point. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

To celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary, my wife and I jumped on a last-minute, one night, July 31 offering from Carroll Villa Hotel. We told them it was our anniversary. For our inexpensive room that came with free parking, a $30 voucher for breakfast or lunch in their "Mad Batter" restaurant and a 30% discount on the dinner menu, the management also gave us an anniversary gift of a bottle of wine for our room and "on-the-house" cocktails at their bar. What a delightful and unexpected way to treat first-time guests! Plus, the Mad Hatter is a nice place to eat; and, because we were guests at Carroll, we did not have to stand in a very long breakfast line of folks coming in off the street. All in all, a good value even if it is not one's anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Carroll Villa to celebrate 49 years! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Best Wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been staying at the Carroll Villa for many years. Great food, great Happy Hour, perfect location and wonderful staff. A must stay in Cape May. The Carroll Villa provides a perfect blend of relaxations, entertainment and fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Ed W: Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest over the years. As always, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your return. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Kathi, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Carroll Villa was so accomodating! We were traveling with 7 month old twins, so it was difficult to find a nice hotel that would accept young children. We stayed in room 20, so there were no stairs to climb with a stroller. And we had a lovely balcony to enjoy a glass of wine while the boys slept. Plus, we were able to order food from the Mad Batter to eat in our room/balcony...such a pleasant staff. And so close to everything! It was the perfect place for us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kara S: It was our pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed what the Carroll Villa has to offer. Please come again. Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.