We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cape May experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Cape May experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

8/5/14 - 8/8/14 Mini vacation. Victorian bed and breakfast with clean accommodations and attentive staff. Mark and Pam are the owners and are keyed in on customer satisfaction. Perfect location on Jackson St. -- one block from the beach and two blocks from the mall. Breakfast is scrumptious. The bar has live music nightly. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear David K: Thank you for spending your mini vacation at the Carroll Villa and we are happy you found it to your liking. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kathi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    278
    67
    25
    18
See reviews for
102
617
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Carroll Villa Hotel is a quaint, homey bed and breakfast. If you treasure vintage structures you will certainly enjoy your stay. The Mad Batter restaurant was amazing..excellent breakfasts and dinner!! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will certainly visit again!!
This is a fantastic place to stay to enjoy beautiful Cape May!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Luckycat08: Thank you for complementing us so nicely. We are glad you enjoyed Cape May from our vantage point. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

To celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary, my wife and I jumped on a last-minute, one night, July 31 offering from Carroll Villa Hotel. We told them it was our anniversary. For our inexpensive room that came with free parking, a $30 voucher for breakfast or lunch in their "Mad Batter" restaurant and a 30% discount on the dinner menu, the management also gave us an anniversary gift of a bottle of wine for our room and "on-the-house" cocktails at their bar. What a delightful and unexpected way to treat first-time guests! Plus, the Mad Hatter is a nice place to eat; and, because we were guests at Carroll, we did not have to stand in a very long breakfast line of folks coming in off the street. All in all, a good value even if it is not one's anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Carroll Villa to celebrate 49 years! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Best Wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been staying at the Carroll Villa for many years. Great food, great Happy Hour, perfect location and wonderful staff. A must stay in Cape May. The Carroll Villa provides a perfect blend of relaxations, entertainment and fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Ed W: Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest over the years. As always, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your return. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Kathi, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Carroll Villa was so accomodating! We were traveling with 7 month old twins, so it was difficult to find a nice hotel that would accept young children. We stayed in room 20, so there were no stairs to climb with a stroller. And we had a lovely balcony to enjoy a glass of wine while the boys slept. Plus, we were able to order food from the Mad Batter to eat in our room/balcony...such a pleasant staff. And so close to everything! It was the perfect place for us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kara S: It was our pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed what the Carroll Villa has to offer. Please come again. Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We just got back from spending two nights at the Carroll Villa Hotel and overall, it was a good experience. The location is perfect and everything is within walking distance. Parking is not available on-site and you are required to park about a half mile away. We timed the walk from the parking lot to the hotel and it took 10 minutes. If you walk briskly, you could probably make the walk in 6-7 minutes. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. We stayed in room 13 and it's a great room with plenty of space. You can see the beach from one window and historic Jackson from another window. The only negative feedback is that the bathroom is very small, especially the shower. The bed was also very uncomfortable because it sags in the middle. A new mattress would make this room perfect! We highly recommend the Mad Batter for breakfast and the $30 vouchers are more than enough for breakfast for two people. We would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel to family and friends. We would just recommend that you inquire about the mattress in room 13 :).

Room Tip: Inquire about the age of the mattress in room 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear MFurman:
We are glad your experience at our B&B hotel was a good one overall. Thank you for your review and your suggestion regarding the room. We especially appreciate that you wrote you would recommend us to friends and family. Have a wonderful rest of the summer from all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We took advantage of a midweek opening before the 4th of July holiday. As always the service was great, happy hour was happy, the entertainment was very good. We ate there as usual and the quality was great. If there was a drawback the breakfasts were too large.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Tony & Karen: We are glad you keep coming back and that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#9 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#9 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.