We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A September stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A September stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is my 3rd time at the Carroll Villa and my husband's first. It is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are warm and welcoming and have the romantic charm you are looking to get for a quick week getaway. Only 1 block from the beach and 2 from downtown, everything you need is in walking distance. You can basically forget about using your car. The Villa has everything, from food, to a friendly staff to help with all your needs. And to top it all off, they provide you with a$30 voucher to use for each night of stay to use towards breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: This has 3 flights of stairs and no elevators. Not all rooms have bathrooms in them, your bathroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Tracy M.
Thank you for saying the Carroll Villa is a wonderful place to stay and for pointing out the romantic charm of our rooms. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again. Have a great day from all of us at the CV and the MB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    223
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
84
467
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I had another wonderful stay at Carroll Villa Hotel. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful, and the hotel is filled with warm, comfortable furnishings. The restaurant makes the "deal" especially desirable, since breakfast is included in the room price. The people that wait outside the restaurant for a table every morning is a testament to the great breakfasts that are served. The beach is a half block away, as is the mall. Cape May is a great place for walking or bike riding, and the Carroll Villa Hotel is ideally placed.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the only room on the ground floor, It is very small but has a porch to sit on and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Victoria: We are glad to know that you had an excellent experience at our B&B. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stepped into the room, and immediately noticed a fresh scent and the clean, well maintained bedroom. The bathroom was very clean and very well kept (I was very impressed with this as I am rather particular about bathroom cleanliness). The room was snug but adequately sized for two people. You get a $30 dining credit for each morning you stay at the Carroll Villa and it is more than enough. The breakfast portions are generousely sized, and that is probably an understatement. The staff was friendly, and helpful. You are less than a 1 block walk from the beach and 1 block from Washington Street which is the town outdoor shopping mall. Fantastic experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to express that it was "as good as it gets". Hope you can join us again sometime. From all of us at the CV and the MB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

just got home and had to post as nice as it gets room very comfortable .The place is almost a B&B has all the charm of a B&B right off the beach and 2 blocks from downtown you can walk every place from her staff is warm and friendly ready to help with any thing could not ask for anything more . Place is post card pretty 1800 s Victorian and very well taken care of

Room Tip: has stairs call first for your needs
See more room tips
Green Features: keep up the Read about Carroll Villa Hotel's environmentally friendly practices... good housekeeping practices
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Can I give the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter 6 stars? I have been taking my son (11 years old) to Cape May for many years now. This is the first time we stayed at the Carroll Villa. It will not be the last. Great room, great location, great service, just a great value. 1800’s experience with all the modern amenities. Very family friendly. Just be mindful that there is not an elevator. Only three floors so not a problem for us.
The Mad Batter is just simply wonderful. It’s like visiting family every year we go there. We eat most of our meals there during our stay. Just can’t get enough. The menu is outstanding. There is a reason that there is a wait for a table all day long. Thank You, to all the wonderful staff at the restaurant and hotel. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Poppy W. Thank you very much for your vote of six stars! We in turn enjoyed your company very much indeed. Have a great year from all of us at the CV and the MB. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harrison, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

WOW! What an amazing time we had. The place has that Jersey Hometown feel, friendly staff, Chica, Pam and Kathy the staff, I cannot say enough about their willingness to help with our stay. The food was great!! The beautiful tree line streets and clean, really clean..I would recommend the Carroll Villa to all my friends and family.

Again, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL VACATION!!!!!

Green Features: Carrol Villa meets all environmentally-friendly practice and I should know. My family member works for the EPA
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Norma:
That's our all star line-up. Pam, Kathi and Chita. Always ready, willing and able. Like Jordan, Pippen and Rodman. Thank you for your kind review from all of us at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at the Carroll Villa in Cape May, NJ.....and we had the best time ever! My husband and I came along with our daughter, son-in-law and 9 1/2 month old grandson...we would definitely stay here again. The rooms were perfect, hotel staff were wonderful. As far as the Mad Batter Restuarant.....the BEST breakfast's around!! Thanks to the Carroll Villa we had a tremendous time.

Room Tip: For a family with a baby, Room 31 seemed perfect for our daughter and son-in-law and their very acti...
See more room tips
Green Features: The practices of The Carroll Villa are right on board with doing what's best for our environment.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Hotel Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Its is so nice to hear that you had the best time ever while staying for the first time at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Our staff work very hard to ensure our guests are happy and it is gratifying to know that you enjoyed yourself and had a lovely time with your family. Thank you for your nice review.
Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.