We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time in Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Escape
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time in Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Caroll Villa in the heart of the historic district in Cape May, NJ was quaint and accommodating. The people were gratious and they made it was a wonderful relaxing time in Cape May. We purchased a package from "Living Social" and it turned out to be a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, The Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Greetings from the Carroll Villa. We appreciate your gracious comments and thank you for choosing to stay with us through Living Social. Glad you had a wonderful time.
Sincerely, All of us at the CV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    223
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
85
466
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, Pa.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Just love this place! Quaint, relaxing, beautiful decor, comfortable beds and the staff is so friendly and helpful! Love the fact that they have a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with great food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter and that you appreciate our hospitality and the quaint charm of the hotel. Thank you for your nice review.
Please come see us again when you next return to Cape May.
The Staff at the hotel and restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Once again the Carroll Villa Hotel provided a fabulous experience for 18 students attending the Mel Stabin Workshop. Everyone has been pleased with the accommodations, food, and the staff. They are all excited about doing it again next year!

Green Features: Love the fact they r so conscious of protecting the environment.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant and nice stay at this bed and breakfast. We purchased a package on Travelzoo and got a good deal. The rooms were so quaint and cute. We had a delicious breakfast and several martini's at the bar before dinner. Would stay again,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your Travel Zoo stay.
Hope you can join us again sometime soon.
Kathi and Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our stay at the Carroll Villa hotel was a real value. The location can't be beat - just a block from the ocean, and the breakfast that was part of the package was excellent (in the adjoining Mad Batter restaurant). Most of the regular rooms were already reserved for the date we had to be there, but they told us they had a room with a separate bathroom available. Indeed, the entire bathroom was exclusively for our use (we had the key) but it was located all the way down at the other end of the hall from our room. A little unusual, but the bathroom was nice. I believe all of the rest of the rooms had connected bathrooms.

The people running the Carroll Villa hotel were very nice and provided us with whatever we needed. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well there. I am sure that during the beach season, this entire area is really hopping, but we enjoyed a quiet stay during the off-season.

We would return to the Carroll Villa Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and for your positive comments. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy a different room on a return visit. Thanks again for your appreciation of our hotel and our location.
Front Desk Staff at the Carroll Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Carroll Villa due to a Travelzoo promotion. The hotel is well-located, close to the beach and the shopping mall. The Mad Batter restaurant is right on the property, which is nice, and it has good food and service. The managers of the hotel were also very accomodating. The property is in an old victorian structure with pealing paint. It's nicer inside, but if you're looking for a modern hotel, look elsewhere. Some of the rooms do not have a private bath. Our did, but it was small, and the shower was very small. The hotel's HVAC units were right outside the windows, so it was somewhat noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman,NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second time staying here and the staff does an excellent job. The room was good size and very clean. They even had a welcome back balloon with some salt water taffy's attached in our room which was a nice touch. After the guys golfed and the women shopped we caught happy hour again at the bar which has a good selection of craft beers. We had dinner at Tisha's (excellent) and returned to the bar to catch a very good blues guitar artist playing live. The next morning breakfast was superb at the Mad Batter. Hated to go home but will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again. The staff appreciates your positive comments. We take pride in our lovely rooms and in providing good service for our guests.
Cape May awaits your return.
Thank you,
Jill at the front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.