We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast Cape May NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Daily Happy Hour
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
scranton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast Cape May NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant and nice stay at this bed and breakfast. We purchased a package on Travelzoo and got a good deal. The rooms were so quaint and cute. We had a delicious breakfast and several martini's at the bar before dinner. Would stay again,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your Travel Zoo stay.
Hope you can join us again sometime soon.
Kathi and Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    283
    67
    25
    18
See reviews for
104
622
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our stay at the Carroll Villa hotel was a real value. The location can't be beat - just a block from the ocean, and the breakfast that was part of the package was excellent (in the adjoining Mad Batter restaurant). Most of the regular rooms were already reserved for the date we had to be there, but they told us they had a room with a separate bathroom available. Indeed, the entire bathroom was exclusively for our use (we had the key) but it was located all the way down at the other end of the hall from our room. A little unusual, but the bathroom was nice. I believe all of the rest of the rooms had connected bathrooms.

The people running the Carroll Villa hotel were very nice and provided us with whatever we needed. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well there. I am sure that during the beach season, this entire area is really hopping, but we enjoyed a quiet stay during the off-season.

We would return to the Carroll Villa Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and for your positive comments. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy a different room on a return visit. Thanks again for your appreciation of our hotel and our location.
Front Desk Staff at the Carroll Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Carroll Villa due to a Travelzoo promotion. The hotel is well-located, close to the beach and the shopping mall. The Mad Batter restaurant is right on the property, which is nice, and it has good food and service. The managers of the hotel were also very accomodating. The property is in an old victorian structure with pealing paint. It's nicer inside, but if you're looking for a modern hotel, look elsewhere. Some of the rooms do not have a private bath. Our did, but it was small, and the shower was very small. The hotel's HVAC units were right outside the windows, so it was somewhat noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman,NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second time staying here and the staff does an excellent job. The room was good size and very clean. They even had a welcome back balloon with some salt water taffy's attached in our room which was a nice touch. After the guys golfed and the women shopped we caught happy hour again at the bar which has a good selection of craft beers. We had dinner at Tisha's (excellent) and returned to the bar to catch a very good blues guitar artist playing live. The next morning breakfast was superb at the Mad Batter. Hated to go home but will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again. The staff appreciates your positive comments. We take pride in our lovely rooms and in providing good service for our guests.
Cape May awaits your return.
Thank you,
Jill at the front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this through a living social deal. We arrived very early (around noon). We knew it was too early to check in, however, they were very accomodating in that they gave us the vouchers we were entitled to so we could start enjoying our stay. They told us about wine tastings in the area and a nice place to pick up some cheese and snacks for our visit there. When we came back to check in everything was ready as promised, and they gave us the key to our very nice room. We stayed in room #9. It was beautiful and very romantic. We had a great trip and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are pleased that you had a great time with the Living Social special and appreciate that you took the time to let us know that you enjoyed staying with us. We take pride in the appearance of the hotel and are glad you found you room beautiful and romantic. We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon. Thank you.
Jill, Front Desk and all the staff at the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was happy with our stay at the Carroll Villa, it was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful.
I may try a smaller Bed & Breakfast next time we visit Cape May.
The Mad Batter was excellant and would definitley eat there again.

Room Tip: The Carroll Villa was very nice; I would of like to stay in a smaller B&B with the more personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What does a hotel usually do when a reservation is missed? Well, I mixed up the dates of my reservation at Carroll Villa and arrived on a Thursday instead of Wednesday, the date of my reservation. I was upset and embarrassed by my error and fully expected to lose money for the night I missed, but Kathy at the front desk quickly put me and my partner at ease when she offered us a room without further cost! She settled us comfortably in a lovely room and because of her gracious offer, our 5-day vacation immediately was put back on track. Thank you Kathy and lovely hotel staff for going out of your way to assist us in every matter! You are indeed a roll model for other hotels who may be missing these very important customer service qualities!

Shirley Miller

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know that you had a great time.
Kathi is our manager and has been with the Carroll Villa for over 20 years. We have several staff members that have been with us for many years and we are proud of all of them and the good will they extend to our customers. Thanks again for your thoughtful comments.
Hope you can visit us during the summer.
Very truly yours,
The Carroll Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#10 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.