We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MID-WEEK 7/20/14 to 7/31/
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Pitman,NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second time staying here and the staff does an excellent job. The room was good size and very clean. They even had a welcome back balloon with some salt water taffy's attached in our room which was a nice touch. After the guys golfed and the women shopped we caught happy hour again at the bar which has a good selection of craft beers. We had dinner at Tisha's (excellent) and returned to the bar to catch a very good blues guitar artist playing live. The next morning breakfast was superb at the Mad Batter. Hated to go home but will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again. The staff appreciates your positive comments. We take pride in our lovely rooms and in providing good service for our guests.
Cape May awaits your return.
Thank you,
Jill at the front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    218
    50
    15
    14
See reviews for
82
455
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this through a living social deal. We arrived very early (around noon). We knew it was too early to check in, however, they were very accomodating in that they gave us the vouchers we were entitled to so we could start enjoying our stay. They told us about wine tastings in the area and a nice place to pick up some cheese and snacks for our visit there. When we came back to check in everything was ready as promised, and they gave us the key to our very nice room. We stayed in room #9. It was beautiful and very romantic. We had a great trip and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are pleased that you had a great time with the Living Social special and appreciate that you took the time to let us know that you enjoyed staying with us. We take pride in the appearance of the hotel and are glad you found you room beautiful and romantic. We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon. Thank you.
Jill, Front Desk and all the staff at the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was happy with our stay at the Carroll Villa, it was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful.
I may try a smaller Bed & Breakfast next time we visit Cape May.
The Mad Batter was excellant and would definitley eat there again.

Room Tip: The Carroll Villa was very nice; I would of like to stay in a smaller B&B with the more personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What does a hotel usually do when a reservation is missed? Well, I mixed up the dates of my reservation at Carroll Villa and arrived on a Thursday instead of Wednesday, the date of my reservation. I was upset and embarrassed by my error and fully expected to lose money for the night I missed, but Kathy at the front desk quickly put me and my partner at ease when she offered us a room without further cost! She settled us comfortably in a lovely room and because of her gracious offer, our 5-day vacation immediately was put back on track. Thank you Kathy and lovely hotel staff for going out of your way to assist us in every matter! You are indeed a roll model for other hotels who may be missing these very important customer service qualities!

Shirley Miller

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know that you had a great time.
Kathi is our manager and has been with the Carroll Villa for over 20 years. We have several staff members that have been with us for many years and we are proud of all of them and the good will they extend to our customers. Thanks again for your thoughtful comments.
Hope you can visit us during the summer.
Very truly yours,
The Carroll Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just returned from the Carroll Villa Hotel and enjoyed our one night stay immensely. Our room was perfectly clean and well appointed. We stayed in room 20, the only first floor room which we chose because it had a private porch. What fun, sitting out in the warm sun at 5:00 p.m., watching the world go by. Our room was spotlessly clean, and the bed was so comfortable we overslept. This hotel is less than one block from the beach in one direction and one block to the major shopping area, Washington Street Mall. We will return, even without the Living Social deal. What a gem!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 20. Others reported it as being noisy, but even though there was a guitar player/singe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your room with a porch. Thank you for choosing the Carroll Villa Hotel and we hope that you stay with us again when you visit Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only stayed one night, had dinner and breakfast at the Mad Batter, which was wonderful. The location is great (1/2 block to beach) and other attractions were very close. Overall a great visit to Cape May. The staff very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are glad that you chose the Carroll Villa for your getaway spot and enjoyed our restaurant and our town. Hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My mom and I went to Cape May in April for a little mother daughter bonding time. Neither of us had ever been there. We had a great time and enjoyed staying at Carroll Villa. We loved the Happy Hour! We met some local folks and had some great conversation. Our room at the Carroll Villa was perfect with a nice large bathroom. Breakfast at the Mad Batter was delicious! Perfect eggs benedict! Would love to go back in season.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are pleased to know that you had a great time visiting Cape May and staying at the Carroll Villa Hotel and enjoying the Mad Batter Restaurant. Please do visit us again during the season and enjoy the easy access to the beach and ocean. Yours truly, All of us at the CV and MB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.