We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husdand and I recently stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel for one night. The hotel is in a great location in Cape May. The room was small and the hallways and stairs are narrow but is it is a beautiful old victorian house so I guess that comes with the territory. The room was charming and had everything we needed. The only issue we had was parking. There is no parking at the hotel so you have to find street parking. Going in April wasn't too big of an issue as all the parking meters are free and it wasn't too crowded. However I don't know if I would return in the summer if you had to find your own parking. We had a great breakfast at the Mad Batter and used the $30 coupon. That was a nice feature.

All in all we had a great night at the Carroll Villa Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We wanted you to know that between May 1st and November 1st when the parking meters are activated we do have access to a municipal parking lot and will provide you with a permit to park there free of charge. The lot is an 8 minute walk from the hotel and we find this arrangement has worked out well for our guests. Also, if you have a Handicap permit it may be used in any of the regular parking meters in town. Hope to see you again.
Yours truly,

The Staff at The Carroll Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    280
    67
    25
    18
See reviews for
103
618
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Carroll villa hotel in first week of April in 2013 for two nights Saturday and Sunday for our wedding anniversary. We used the living social deal for Sunday night .the living social deal was perfect. On Saturday we had a small room with full size bed and bathroom outside. Queen size rooms were available on Saturday but we we were OK with the small room. The outside bathroom is bit inconvenient. Sunday we moved to bigger room with queen bed in the Annex building. I thing this building is newer and well maintained. The food at Mad Batter restaurant is amazing. They give you $30 coupon with the stay which can be used for Breakfast or Lunch.The hotel is very conveniently located to the beachfront and Washington street mall. In first week of April the weather was bit cold so not much was open on the beachfront. We had a amazing time at Cape may thanks to Caroll Villa hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My impression of B&Bs has always been that they are old and dirty. However, my husband and I decided to give the Carroll Villa Inn a try because we found a great deal with them through Travelzoo. We were pleasantly surprised to stay in a lovely room that was decorated tastefully and had all of the modern conveniences you could want. I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the nice sized bathroom. We enjoyed the happy hour and the wonderful breakfasts at the Inn's Mad Batter restaurant.

My only criticism is with the bed in our Room (18). The mattress really needs to be replaced. Thank you, Carroll Villa Inn for opening my world to B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent time spent with us. We are glad that we changed your thought about dirty and old and tired bed and breakfasts. We as a third generation business that takes pride In our hotel, bar and restaurant. We are working constantly to refresh, replace and renew. Our daughter,Marta, has worked very hard along with my wife, the housekeepers and our maintenance man ,Todd, to keep our National Landmark hotel as inviting as possible.
We will look into the sleeping accommodations in your room
Best Wishes
Mark Kulkowitz and Pam Huber Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stay at the Carroll Hotel was quite a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very quaint with antique furniture and mirrors, the linen was very clean, and what was very impressive was the big breakfast which has now become quite popular judging from the crowd. All in all a very relaxing experience. It was also within walking distance from the main shopping and restaurant area and also to the local sightseeing bus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room just overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Robert: Thank you for staying at the Carroll Villa Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and liked our great old hotel and our Mad Batter breakfast. We hope to see you again sometime when you feel like relaxing in Cape May.
Thanks again for your kind words.

The Staff at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had heard about Cape May from so many others and they always raved about breakfast at the Mad Batter. When we saw a special for the Carroll Villa that included breakfast at the Mad Batter we figured we would give it a try. We were welcomed very warmly at the desk and got our room key. The rooms are charming- roomy and lovely. The staff was terrific- telling us about specials (great Happy Hour and discount for dinner for those staying at the hotel) and very helpful. I can't say enough nice things about the staff- from the warm welcome at the front desk, to the dinner and breakfast staff- they were all warm, cheerful, and terrific. The hotel is right near the center of town- a quick and short walk to shops and within sight of the beach. We are so pleased we came and will come back again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and rooms are on the second and third floor. We were fine but it may be a conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A wonderful b&b with friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room (somewhat small, but did have a private bath). The hotel's breakfast is wonderful! They also have a bar with daily happy hour specials and a somewhat pricier restaurant in the evenings with live music (most weekend). The location is excellent, with many lovely, private b&bs found on the same block. It's about half a block from the beach and two blocks from the Washington Mall shops. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked one night through Travel Zoo. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. Breakfast the next day was very good. I took advantage of the 30% discount for the Mad Batter restaurant for people who stay at the bed and breakfast. Dinner was excellent; the crab cakes were the best I've tasted. One of the best restaurants in Cape May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Lorraine:
We are glad that you could join us at the Carroll Villa Hotel and delighted that you enjoyed The Mad Batter Restaurant as well. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a nice stay here with us in Cape May.

Yours truly,
Mark and Pam and the Staff at the Carroll Villa Hotel and the Mad Batter Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#9 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.