We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B&B experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MID-WEEK 7/2/14- 7/11/14
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersSilver level
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Our first B&B experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My impression of B&Bs has always been that they are old and dirty. However, my husband and I decided to give the Carroll Villa Inn a try because we found a great deal with them through Travelzoo. We were pleasantly surprised to stay in a lovely room that was decorated tastefully and had all of the modern conveniences you could want. I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the nice sized bathroom. We enjoyed the happy hour and the wonderful breakfasts at the Inn's Mad Batter restaurant.

My only criticism is with the bed in our Room (18). The mattress really needs to be replaced. Thank you, Carroll Villa Inn for opening my world to B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent time spent with us. We are glad that we changed your thought about dirty and old and tired bed and breakfasts. We as a third generation business that takes pride In our hotel, bar and restaurant. We are working constantly to refresh, replace and renew. Our daughter,Marta, has worked very hard along with my wife, the housekeepers and our maintenance man ,Todd, to keep our National Landmark hotel as inviting as possible.
We will look into the sleeping accommodations in your room
Best Wishes
Mark Kulkowitz and Pam Huber Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    216
    50
    15
    14
See reviews for
82
453
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stay at the Carroll Hotel was quite a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very quaint with antique furniture and mirrors, the linen was very clean, and what was very impressive was the big breakfast which has now become quite popular judging from the crowd. All in all a very relaxing experience. It was also within walking distance from the main shopping and restaurant area and also to the local sightseeing bus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room just overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Robert: Thank you for staying at the Carroll Villa Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and liked our great old hotel and our Mad Batter breakfast. We hope to see you again sometime when you feel like relaxing in Cape May.
Thanks again for your kind words.

The Staff at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had heard about Cape May from so many others and they always raved about breakfast at the Mad Batter. When we saw a special for the Carroll Villa that included breakfast at the Mad Batter we figured we would give it a try. We were welcomed very warmly at the desk and got our room key. The rooms are charming- roomy and lovely. The staff was terrific- telling us about specials (great Happy Hour and discount for dinner for those staying at the hotel) and very helpful. I can't say enough nice things about the staff- from the warm welcome at the front desk, to the dinner and breakfast staff- they were all warm, cheerful, and terrific. The hotel is right near the center of town- a quick and short walk to shops and within sight of the beach. We are so pleased we came and will come back again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and rooms are on the second and third floor. We were fine but it may be a conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A wonderful b&b with friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room (somewhat small, but did have a private bath). The hotel's breakfast is wonderful! They also have a bar with daily happy hour specials and a somewhat pricier restaurant in the evenings with live music (most weekend). The location is excellent, with many lovely, private b&bs found on the same block. It's about half a block from the beach and two blocks from the Washington Mall shops. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked one night through Travel Zoo. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. Breakfast the next day was very good. I took advantage of the 30% discount for the Mad Batter restaurant for people who stay at the bed and breakfast. Dinner was excellent; the crab cakes were the best I've tasted. One of the best restaurants in Cape May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Lorraine:
We are glad that you could join us at the Carroll Villa Hotel and delighted that you enjoyed The Mad Batter Restaurant as well. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a nice stay here with us in Cape May.

Yours truly,
Mark and Pam and the Staff at the Carroll Villa Hotel and the Mad Batter Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable room with private bath, great breakfast and friendly staff. Conveniently located with easy access to beach, stores, wineries an great restaurants! A great place to stay while visiting Cape May.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked a 2 night stay at the carroll villa "hotel" through groupon. Cost me 200 bucks ,but included breakfast and wine in our room. I booked it for our 5 year anniversary! We took the 3 hour drive up there from Brooklyn ny. I was very excited because this was our first trip to Cape may.. Although I know the weather wasn't perfect and it was off peek season I have to say I was royally disappointed.
I did more than my share of reviews that I feel like I was there several times lol. I read nothing but good reviews with an occasional reviewer saying it was too noisy (big deal). When we arrived the ladies at the desk were very helpful and nice. They were the only thing I liked about the place. They gave us our breakfast vouchers but informed us the restaurant was closed .it only opens for breakfast . The problem was we arrived around 1230pm and were hungry, plus where were we going to eat dinner. I know there were other restaurants around but we planned on staying there. On there website it says the restaurant was only closed in jan and feb ..said nothing about it being closed in march. Plus I was looking forward to happy hour..which didn't happen...
The other thing that got me was that every one leaves at 4 pm..so after that your on your own...which I could not believe...I put hotel in quotes for a reason and this is why.. Once we got to our room my wife was very uncomfortable about the lack of security and the fact that no one was going to be there after 4. My wife then checked under the bed , something she does every time we go away and the mattress was on ply wood...that was the last strike...for the first time ever we actually left the "hotel"... Never did I think I would have to do that especially with all the reviews I did.. We didn't want to go I'm being that it was our anniversary so booked a real hotel in Atlantic city which is not our cup of tea either but at least it was better than sleeping on plywood with no one around if you needed something. Called groupon up the next day and got a full refund

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It seems very unfair that hundreds of Carroll villa customers stay with us without being angry and upset that we don't stay all night at the hotel. We have been running the Carroll Villa for thirty five plus years and these comments are just frustrating. We are AAA rated, Mobil rated, members of the Professional Association of Inn Keepers.....
We have telephones in the room (free), are sprinklered throughout the building. We leave a number if there emergencies and live just minutes away.
Off season, we offer limited restaurant hours. We gave these nice people from New York a $30.00 breakfast voucher in our restaurant , bottle of wine, wine tour tickets, departure gift for $119.00! There are at least 7-10 restaurants that were open the day these people were to stay that they could have walked to.
To criticize us when you did not even stay with us for more than ten minutes is unbelievable. We have had hundreds of guests this winter take advantage of our hotel and some with this offer and have never had an experience like this.
To offer such a written review without even staying with us or asking how we could have helped have a good stay is unacceptable and rude. We have felt that this review is wrong and should be removed fron Trip Advisor. The review represents the idea that you can write anything you want and have it be seen as reality which is unreal and unfair. Thank you. Mark Kulkowitz-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.