We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy escape to the Cape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
whitehall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy escape to the Cape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The charm of Cape May is well known and this property has a great reputation. Although it lacks a pool or hot tub like a modern property it has charm that makes up for it. The food is quite good and they do have entertainment on a small scale. The help is available and willing to please. I was happy to be able to get coffee from the bar to take up to my room. The location is just perfect for strolling around town or walking to great restaurants. The beach is lovely and just at the end of the block. There' s a restaurant just around the corner across from the beach that has a great earlybird deal with really good food.

Room Tip: there is a nice room on the main floor with its own porch but it books up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    279
    67
    25
    18
See reviews for
102
618
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having gotten married between semesters, our anniversaries come in winter. We spent our 54th anniversary at Carroll Villa amid a mild snowstorm. Despite the cold, we enjoyed the beauties of a windswept Cape. Having the Carroll Villa as an oasis of warmth made our two-night visit memorable. The room was large and lovely and the staff were very friendly. With a very good restaurant attached, we didn't have to brave the cold for an excellent meal. The breakfasts here exceed all norms; they could easily carry one through the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Congratulations on your 54th wedding anniversary..It is certainly something to celebrate! Pam and I will be married 30 years this month...We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come see us for your 55th anniversary. Mark Kulkowitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent a weekend in January at the Carroll Villa to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had a room on the second floor of the annex which is above the Bar and restaurant - not a big deal if you are out late as we were but definitely a consideration if you're planning on turning in early as the bar is a hot spot and there was (great) live music there both nights we were there. It ended at 11:00 pm but it is worth noting.

The hotel is conveniently located near quaint Washington Street Mall and just half a block from the shore, so it's easy to park the car and explore the town on foot. The Bar is very popular (with both locals and visitors) and is a great place to grab a happy hour drink (3 - 6 pm) and listen to some great talent or get some advice on what to do from one of the great bartenders. The owner, Mark, is definitely a presence and gets out and interacts with guests. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are directly above the bar - if you are bothered by noise and tend to turn in be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your remarks....Music is a big part of the hotel/restaurant...We try to stop all our music about 10:30 at nite as we want to be considerate of our guests...We have solo, duo and trios for our music...All different styles, genre..It changes weekly and right now we have music Thur-Sun...Open Mic on Thur and Sun. Hope to see you soon-Mark Kulkowitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I guess I can't blame the hotel for the fact that I just happen to be there for the two coldest days of the year! In fact, it's a good thing I was at a nice inn, as I spent more time indoors than I normally have while at Cape May, even in winter.

I booked one room on the second floor, and was a little dismayed that they took the liberty of moving my reservation to another, first floor, when I mentioned using a cane. I went along with it, though, and was glad I did. Room 20, their only first floor room was beautiful - nice size, gorgeous comfy bed, lovely furnishings. I wished there had been a tub and not just a shower, but, otherwise, it was a very nice room. There was a wonderful little front porch that it was too cold to use, but my husband and I talked about returning in the spring to take advantage of that.

The blustery winds made their ways indoors and the room grew quite cold, in spite of the heater. I asked for a space heater and had one set up very quickly and this remedied the problem completely.

The staff were friendly and helpful at every turn. I came down to Cape May on my own, but my husband joined me for the last night. I was treated right both as part of a couple and as a solo traveler - as any woman traveling alone can attest to, this doesn't always happen and it truly matters.

Only complaint about the room was the noise from the stairs just outside the door. Someone came running down these early in the morning and it sounded like the sky was falling over my head! I imagine the more frequent foot traffic of high season would make that a real annoyance. I'm not sure how insulated it would be from the restaurant's noise in summer either.

There's a very nice common area - living room - and there was a nice fire going in there. Location couldn't be better, just a few steps from either the heart of town or the beach. I would definitely stay here again...though maybe I will try to find a good long term weather forecast first if I am traveling in winter!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I surprised my husband with a "night away" homemade coupon for Christmas! The Caroll Villa was one of the few B&Bs that didn't have a 2 night minimum. I really appreciated that flexibility! The "Happy Hour" was the best! Loved the Irish Potato Martinis and the Cape May beer! The bar was packed, yet our bartender (Joanne?) managed to take care of everyone quickly, professionally and in a very friendly manner! Dinner and breakfast at the Mad Batter were excellent, though our dinner waitress was not the friendliest! The 30% coupon towards dinner, and the $30 voucher for breakfast was quite a surprise! Not sure if this is a regular thing, or just because it's winter. We live locally, and will be spreading the word to friends and family about our positive stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited the Caroll Villa Hotel in January and had a nice stay. The room was nice, although the heat was difficult to control. Also, we had purchased a living social escape, and while we liked the location of the hotel and the pasta making class, the breakfast/mimosa and dessert with dinner had catches associated such as time of day and mandatory ordering of an entree vs. light meal for dinner in order to use the dessert coupon. We have used living social escapes on many occasions and have not run into such roadblocks. As for the hotel, we have stayed at other B&B's in Cape May and enjoyed them more. I am unsure if we will go back to Carroll Villa. But, the pancakes at the Mad Batter are to die for!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It was nice meeting you last week.. We are glad that you enjoyed the room , the breakfast-especially the pancakes-the mimosas and bloody mary's and the pasta making class with Jon Davis...A couple points -we are different than any other bed and breakfast in that on weekends and in season you can enjoy our wonderful breakfasts from 8:00-3:00...That allows one to sleep late or eat early as you wish....That to us is the best of both worlds. In respect to the dessert given free with the purchase of two dinner entrees....That was stated in the offer with Living Social, when you checked in.....We were very transparent... We will look into the heat and see if there are any issues..Each room has its own heat plus baseboard heat that runs thru out the main building.
Happy New Year!-Mark Kulkowitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Six couples had dinner at the Batter New Year's eve and we slept over at the Carrol Villa. The food was great, the atmosphere electric and the drinks never ended. (Good thing we spent the night.)

Loved the music, lil dancing and a good time had by all.

Looking forward to doing it again and we appreciated great hosting.

Room Tip: We have stayed in may of the rooms over the years and found them all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#9 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.