We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Live Music, Happy Hour
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
“Holiday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We needed a little getaway to relax and get in the holiday spirit....our stay at Carroll Villa was just what we needed! Staff at the hotel were very accommodating.....we had dinner and breakfast at the Mad Batter Restaurant - the lobster bisque was phenomenal! The Villa provided a 30% discount on dinner, and a $30 dollar credit for breakfast - food and service were excellent! We enjoyed the winter wonderland of Cape May - took a carriage ride to take in all the holiday lights....walked on the promenade Saturday morning - a glorious sunny day! Nothing better than being in Cape May and near the beach in December! Even though our stay was overnight, it felt like a full weekend away! We will be returning!

S&M

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It is always great to welcome back friends and friends of friends to celebrate the New Years party at The Mad Batter Restaurant at the Carroll Villa Hotel. We had a great New Year's party with over 175 happy diners enjoying great music and libation. We hope to see you again at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant. Mark Kulkowitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    253
    64
    19
    17
See reviews for
87
558
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

such a cute bed and breakfast. very clean and very quaint. love the mad batter resturant and bar too which is located right on the first floor. cheap happy hour! def check it out for your next cape may trip!

Room Tip: room 19 said full size bed but i feel like it was actually smaller- not a twin, but not as big as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very nice place...but did not get the specific room requested and reserved! Placed in smaller room which was unconfortable! Also "Promised Departure Gift" never explained or offered! Had to return later after checkout to "ask" for it! Staff was friendly and accomidating and FOOD (Dinner and Breakfast) was excellent as was the wait staff! Just had to endure some shortcomings as mentioned!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Carroll Villa Hotel. This is an older large B&B Victorian style building. If you are looking for the finer things in a hotel this may not be your choice of stays. But if you are looking to stay at a hotel that takes you back to the Victorian era with some added updated ammenities such as flat screen TV, then this is the place for you. We booked our 2-night stay by using a Living Social certificate which was a great deal at a great price. The staff at Carroll Hotel are xtra nice and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. I highly recommend you try both the breakfast and dinner at the Mad Batter. Both were beyond our expectations. The dinner menu seemed a little pricey, but by utilizing the different discounts that they offer the check at the end of the meal was a pleasent surprise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our first visit to The Carroll Villa will not be our last. We went on a Saturday in October. It was chilly and blustery outside but warm in all ways in the hotel. Our front desk reception was friendly and informative. We were told of all the features of the hotel and provided with Coupons to Cape May attractions. If you haven't been to this tourist beach town, you will be impressed by the four season efforts of local businesses to make your stay interesting.
Our room was cozy and stayed that way overnight and into Sunday morning in spite of a dip in temperature outside. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had good sleeps.
Sunday breakfast at the Mad Batter is not to be missed. I safely assume that this is true for the other six days. As an old breakfast chef, I had to have the oatmeal pancakes. They were everything pancakes should be, light in the mouth, substantial once they landed. The short stack was more than enough. You might want to split an order.
Our one somewhat negative experience was the Christmas comedy at the local Playhouse. We paid full price for tickets and then read the dinner and a play specials in the Play Bill. We could have had dinner at the Mad Batter and bought tickets for less than we paid for the show. How much? I thought I was being sent to seat number 102 when I was informed of the charge.
One negative - no reserved parking. We didn't have a problem in October but Sumer could present an issue. I do not think it too big a problem, however, this family-run establishment has been in business for 35 years.
Location: Ideal. You are steps from the pedestrian mall, the beach, and a number of prominent restaurants and cafes.
If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I visited the Carroll Villa along with some friends and we had a great time. Living Social had a special and we were going to take the Christmas tour of the Inns so we jumped on the deal. Rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. Mad Batter for breakfast had excellent french toast and the coffee in the morning hit the spot. Would definitely advise to try it. No onsite parking but, that was not a problem because of the time of year and also we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortescue, NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Enjoyed a cozy room facing Jackson Street with my 20-something granddaughter. Enjoyed the Happy Hour (coconut martini!), 30% off dinner and had the crab cakes which were delicious, then off to a concert in the new Convention Center. Ate the famous Chesapeake Bay Benedict for breakfast ($30 voucher), which has always been a favorite. They were very busy when we got done, so I would say to make reservations, whenever possible. Has always been a fun place to visit with an interesting menu and great food and drinks. Oh yeah, I'll be back.

Room Tip: The website shows a picture of all the rooms so you can see what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.