We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 (USD)
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersGold level
Manasquan, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed overnight for a wedding at Congress Hall. Great location to everything. Loved being in walking distance to the bars and Congress Hall. The room was great, perfect night sleep.

The room and especially the bathroom were much larger than expected from a non-traditional hotel. Plus I was greeted by a Giants fan, which was another pleasant surprise!!!

Food at the Mad Batter was great. My breakfast really hit the spot. What's better than walking downstairs for breakfast?

We plan on coming back to the Carroll Villa!

Room Tip: We used 14, facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    253
    64
    19
    17
See reviews for
87
558
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We were married in n j cape may court house in june and chose the carroll villa for our wedding night. The hotel experience was truely like finding the best kept secret in cape may. The warm and friendly staff was such a gift. We just spent an awesome weekend again in november and have allready booked new years eve and new years day in one of the hotels amazing rooms. If you love cape may you need to have the carroll villa and their restaurant mad batter experience. I hope the feeling of relaxation and hassle free vacationing will be yours too if you are lucky enough to treat yourself to the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A lovely small "Victorian" hotel very close to the beach. You eat in the Mad Batter as an extra, in the same building.

We stayed in the annexe at the front, first floor, in the first week of September. It had been recommended and we booked online via a very pleasant member of staff but I think the hotel is family owned and managed. The room was large with an ensuite, carefully updated and clean with a glimpse of the sea. The bed was comfy and the elderly furniture easily held our lothes but a rail rather than a wardrobe for hanging clothes.

An easy walk to the seafront (under 100 metres) and to the Washington Street open mall.

The hotel owns a restaurant called the Mad Batter on its ground floor, excellent, see my separate review and the hotel will sell you vouchers to eat there.

A couple of warnings. Being an old building, there is no lift (elevator) but the staff will carry your bags upstairs for you. And there is no car park. Outside in the street there are meters but it is difficult to find a space other than the loading bays which you can use for a few minutes. The hotel does supply a free parking pass to an outdoor, unsurfaced car park they advise is an 8 minute walk away. This was spot-on time-wise for me but (as happened once) eight minutes is eight minutes when it starts to rain.

This is written after the hurricane and I have seen photographs and TV about Cape May. I hope that this hotel and all the other buildings, (many quite beautiful if a little kitsch) have survived.

Room Tip: A small hotel across two buildings. We were in the annex on the first floor, overlooking the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Positives: Location on Jackson St., old time, congenial bar scene with live music, Mad Batter restaurant was nice with good serviceand on the premises, comfortable bed.

Negatives: The only hotel parking was at least 1/2 mile away, so darkne ss and inclement weather were inconveniences we hadn't planned on, and unlike other neighborhood hotels, Carroll Villa did not offer any valet services. Our second floor queen bedroom with blue walls (it's the room on their postcard) was shabby: upolsteted furniture worn, battered antiques, dusty pull shades and curtains. The in-room Poland Springs water bottles both had seals already broken and appear to have been simply refilled. Bathroom, very small, doll-sized sink, had broken and rusty baseboatd heating, no adequate reading lights in room or in the main living room of the hotel. Hallway curtains were full of dust, really grungy. One public room, other than the large bar in back, dark and somber, and this seems like neglect, not a reflection of the Victorian period; never saw anyone sitting in there. No place to read with lamp light and have a drink before dinner. The front porch was converted to the Mad Batter restaurant, and this seems to be the main priority for the hotel. At most B&Bs, the owners are visable, there are pleasant interactions with other guests or staff but the folks at Carroll leave you alone to the point if obscurity. I cannot recommend this hotel.

We DID find a lovely respite and dinner right next door from the Carroll at the Virginia Hotel, where we read and had a great dinner at the Ebbit dining room. The staff was welcoming and let us use one of their side visiting rooms to relax and read before dinner. They have valet parking too, at a lot on the next block.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend. I parked my car Friday and didn't get back in it until we were leaving Sunday. We did some sight seeing and took a walk to the beach. We shopped and ate delicious food. The Mad Batter, located on the first floor of the Carrol Villa Hotel, was awesome! Delicious food! Also, they had live music each night and the bloody Mary's are to die! They really were the best I ever had. Speaking of live music, not only the Mad Batter, but everywhere had live music! It was so much fun! Our weekend was too short! We spent a lot of money, but what are you gonna do? I love cape may and our stay there was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and mself were very pleasently surprised with every aspect of our one night stay at the Carrolla Villa Hotel. Our host was congeniel and made us feel so welcome in every way and was very accomodating about the parking.
Our room was charming and spotless. One does not expect a flat screen TV in Victorian lodgings, but with the convenient location and opportunity to explore charming Cape May, we had little time for viewing. Fall is a beautiful time of year to come.
Food at the Mad Batter was very good and offered a good variety. Again, the staff made the difference for a very pleasent dining experience.
Many Thanks to Carroll Villa and Living Social for giving us this excellent venue with generous inclusions for our much needed R & R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvm24
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We missed the whole summer without going to the beach even though we are only a couple of hours away. We decided on a last minute trip to Cape May and decided to stay at Carroll Villa since they had a special going on. We decided on just four days due to work schedule and labor day had already passed so we figured empty beach town. Boy were we wrong! The hotel is nice, old and rooms are bit smaller than photos but distance to everything made it worth it. Also having a restaurant right downstairs was great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner the most and the service was good too. We ate here often because they give you meal voucher and food was always good. Still a little pricey but we were on vacation so we expected it. The beach was gorgeous and still had lifeguards! Shops were open and town still a little crowded. There was Washington Square mall with all different kinds of shops down the street from hotel. We enjoyed trolley tours and mansion tours highlighting cape may history, unique houses lining the streets. All we wanted was a little time away from our stressful work schedules. What we got in return was a beautiful destination we visit again every year going forward!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa is a family owned and operated 21 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel and home of the Nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant. Our building is a registered Historic Landmark, circa 1882, located in the heart of Cape May's historic district, half block from the ocean, and one short block from the Victorian Mall. Our Rates include full breakfast for two. All rooms have antiques, private bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV's and phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.