We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Ideal Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carroll Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Carroll Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Relax & Unwine'd Package
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ideal Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Mark, Pam and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Breakfast on the front portch is amazing. Nice to relax with that second cup of coffee and watch the people go by.

The beach is a block away and and everything you need is in walking distance. The Mad Batter has a great bar with interesting people, live music and fun, fun, fun over cocktails.

Check out their dinner menu; always something different there and roll in to bed after dinner drinks. Nice to have a hotel, restaurant and bar on site and we could not have been happier.

Do not hesitate to stay a few nights and feel like you were away a whole week.

Thanks for having us!
Brian & Barbara

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    254
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
90
565
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I booked the room that the website characterized as great for a family - large. Really? With the trundle bed in use, you couldn't walk around the room -we had to crawl over the beds. It was tiny! The mattresses on the daybed and trundle were sagging so badly, my 7 year old complained about his back for days. I understand there being no elevator, and we've stayed at B&Bs for years, but at every one, some assistance was at least offered with bags. Not this time. The Mad Batter was nice, but be careful when ordering. I am allergic to eggs, and carefully read the menu and was pleased to see a yummy breakfast dish that didn't appear to have eggs (it was a seafood wrap kind of thing). When it arrived, lo and behold, it was full of eggs! When I pointed this out, the waitress said no, it wasn't listed, but after all, it is a breakfast menu (so what else could I have expected?). We made it work by trading parts of the rest of the family's dishes, but come on...
The kicker is that I paid as much for this room as I did for a moderately sized room on the beach (with a beach view) at the Royal Hawaiian in Waikiki! Definitely not planning a return visit to this hotel. Cape May, as always, is wonderful.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. The room was great, and the food at the Mad Batter was excellent. Overall the Carroll Villa is a great bargain and a great place to stay when you visit Cape May. P.S. The staff are super welcoming and accommodating!

Room Tip: Room 16 is a very good deal and very comfortable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I reserved a room for one night for June 10 two weeks in advance. We have two young boys 4 & 5 and have not had a weekend alone in several years. We were going to a wedding on a Friday eve in Cape May. One week later my wife's Father passed away. I called the Carol Villa on the Sunday before our reserved night (5 days prior) to cancel our reservation. First the manager Kathy said she could not refund our money. Then I spoke with both Pam and Mark (owners) and they both refused to refund our money. Their reason being they have a policy and we did not buy trip insurance from them. I understand the reason for their policy but I was asking them for some compassion and they could not find it in their money hungry hearts to refund our money. At first Pam (owner) said lets see if we can rent it and will talk next week. Well they didn't rent it. The next week I spoke with Mark (owner) and he was was very rude and half-heartedly offered for us to spend a night there when they are not busy. I mentioned it was not convenient for us to travel to Cape May and Mark said "we should make it convenient." I said to him, "you are unbelievable." He responded by hanging up. I still can't believe Mark's behavior. They charged us $250 for doing nothing, no service at all. We took the room off the market for one week. I'll bet they had more than one room vacant on Friday June 10 proving that our 1 week of taking the room off the market did not cost them a rental. In the end though, its about how we treat others, and for Mark, Pam and Kathy I hope what goes around comes around. To all searching to stay in Cape May please do not stay at the Carroll Villa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
As My mother told me, there are always two sides to a story. First, we want to again send our condolences to the family.
As per the "review", we made every attempt to help the man with the offer to come to the Carroll Villa another time. We said we were truly sorry about the loss of a loved one, and that aside try to explain that is why we offer trip insurance. That being said, we did offer another nite but that as we did not rerent the room we felt that by offering them another visit to our hotel down the road that we were being fair and considerate.....He refused saying it was not in the cards at which point I said there is nothing more I could offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Looking for somplace to go at the spur of the moment I chose the Carrol Villa in Cape May. It was very quaint as you would expect in an old Victorian Hotel but was very clean and accommodating. The staff was very friendly and if you spent time talking to them they were never in a rush to move you on. As far as price goes they were very reasonable especially if you factored in eating at their wonderful restaurant which they offered you discounts on when you stayed with them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Using my iphone Tripadvisor app for navigation, we pulled up to the Carroll Villa with no reservation and were warmly welcomed, given a lovely room (the balcony on the street) and enjoyed every moment. From the delicious dinner, the live music, the local beers, it was definitely the place to be. The lineup for the Mad Batter restaurant went down the street for both dinner and breakfast. It's right across from the beach, on a very quaint street (the oldest in town, I believe) with horsedrawn carriages and lots of people (not cars). Our trip to Cape May was quick, and we both hope to go back!

Room Tip: Go for the street-level room with the terrace! Only one in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here one night for our anniversary. Room was clean but small, probably due to the older age of the building. Our time at the hotel was limited but the proximity to the shopping and the beach made it worthwhile. Also enjoyed a nice breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. Overall a pretty nice place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers twenty unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.