We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Save Saved
You added Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   605 Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 hotels in Cape May
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stay at this motel frequently while visiting family in Cape May. It is situated in the middle of Cape May, near Coast Guard base and short drive into town center and beaches. Best feature is the efficiency kitchen set-up with dishes, sink, frig, and microwave for meal prep. when eating out is not on the schedule. Table and chairs inside and outside on the deck. Bathroom is spacious, beds are decent and daily maid service makes it an easy stay. Christine, who has worked there for some years, takes care of whatever you might need. We have also had our family Christmas celebration in one of the apartments available which has separate bedrooms with bathrooms and TV, full kitchen, and nice living room area. There are several room arrangements so ask the desk attendant for what you need.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised about the Madison Ave Beach Club Motel. Our friend recommended the motel. We have 2 small children and were looking for reasonably priced lodging. It was a last minute getaway and anyone who knows anything about the Jersey Shore knows that the hotels on the shore fill up quickly and are costly. We were able to thoroughly enjoy ourselves. We had a mini kitchenette. The cons were the stand-up only shower (no tub for small children) and the humidity level was so high INSIDE the room, so we had to have the air on blast. Not so good with small children. We made do though. The location is not near the beach, but not too far away. A little hard to sleep at night with the lights from outside beaming in. The curtain didn't cover the window completely. The staff was pretty friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the outside lights. We could barely sleep with all of the light coming into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past 2 months. It is very convenient and pet friendly! The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are pretty big. Other reviews said the room is dark but the rooms have blackout curtains as well as sheer curtains. The rooms are only dark if you keep the blackout curtains closed. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Me n my boyfriend went for fire mans weekend to wildwood, but wanted to be away from the crazy partying so we decided to stay in capemay at this hotel. We really were happy with it. It was in walking distance from beach and shops. Very clean!!! Very quite!!! Pool was nice. We would like to return again with friends next month...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The outside of this hotel looks great -- cheery, picnic area with BBQ grill, but don't open the door to the rooms -- we had #14. Dirty, old rug. Dark and smelly. Needed paint on wall, especially over the scratches above the futon bed. The bathroom was spacious, but when pulled out lumpy futon to make beds for kids, there was no room to move. Dirt scattered on the bottom of the pool when we touched it. The ladder was missing a rung and the underwater light was broken and hanging by wires. Shower never got hot, but bathroom did --lights put off lots of heat. Location is great, but not close to beach for kids (7 blocks) or downtown. Save money and stay further out -- benefit was pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our 4 day trip to Cape May was made all the better by friendly, clean accommodations and the staff who were attentive and professional. From the manager Christine to the housekeeping staff, our every request was accommodated. We would definitely consider staying here again. To top it off the price was unbelievably low for what we got. The location was surprisingly close to everything as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great motel. Away from the crowds but within walking distance to everything. Each unit has a small kitchenette, comfortable bedding and a flat screen TV. The bathrooms are spacious. They do not have a bath tub but offer a large shower. There is a nice pool and outdoor tables with a BBQ area. The prices are very reasonable and some units are even pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Address: 605 Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Avenue Beach Club Hotel Cape May
Madison Avenue Beach Hotel
Madison Avenue Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.