We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Save Saved
You added Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   605 Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Cape May
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised about the Madison Ave Beach Club Motel. Our friend recommended the motel. We have 2 small children and were looking for reasonably priced lodging. It was a last minute getaway and anyone who knows anything about the Jersey Shore knows that the hotels on the shore fill up quickly and are costly. We were able to thoroughly enjoy ourselves. We had a mini kitchenette. The cons were the stand-up only shower (no tub for small children) and the humidity level was so high INSIDE the room, so we had to have the air on blast. Not so good with small children. We made do though. The location is not near the beach, but not too far away. A little hard to sleep at night with the lights from outside beaming in. The curtain didn't cover the window completely. The staff was pretty friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the outside lights. We could barely sleep with all of the light coming into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past 2 months. It is very convenient and pet friendly! The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are pretty big. Other reviews said the room is dark but the rooms have blackout curtains as well as sheer curtains. The rooms are only dark if you keep the blackout curtains closed. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Me n my boyfriend went for fire mans weekend to wildwood, but wanted to be away from the crazy partying so we decided to stay in capemay at this hotel. We really were happy with it. It was in walking distance from beach and shops. Very clean!!! Very quite!!! Pool was nice. We would like to return again with friends next month...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The outside of this hotel looks great -- cheery, picnic area with BBQ grill, but don't open the door to the rooms -- we had #14. Dirty, old rug. Dark and smelly. Needed paint on wall, especially over the scratches above the futon bed. The bathroom was spacious, but when pulled out lumpy futon to make beds for kids, there was no room to move. Dirt scattered on the bottom of the pool when we touched it. The ladder was missing a rung and the underwater light was broken and hanging by wires. Shower never got hot, but bathroom did --lights put off lots of heat. Location is great, but not close to beach for kids (7 blocks) or downtown. Save money and stay further out -- benefit was pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our 4 day trip to Cape May was made all the better by friendly, clean accommodations and the staff who were attentive and professional. From the manager Christine to the housekeeping staff, our every request was accommodated. We would definitely consider staying here again. To top it off the price was unbelievably low for what we got. The location was surprisingly close to everything as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great motel. Away from the crowds but within walking distance to everything. Each unit has a small kitchenette, comfortable bedding and a flat screen TV. The bathrooms are spacious. They do not have a bath tub but offer a large shower. There is a nice pool and outdoor tables with a BBQ area. The prices are very reasonable and some units are even pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I just finished a visit to Cape May, NJ with another couple. We all stayed at the Madison Avenue Beach Club and overall enjoyed our time there.

Things we liked:
- Location: easy walk to the beach and the Washington Square "Mall" (center of town)
- Trolley stop outside the hotel
- Outdoor area: patio tables and grills for guests to use (We spent a few evenings playing games and having snacks here.)
- Pool area: very clean, good mix of sun and shady spots

Things that could be improved:
- Linens: Both the sheets and towels were worn and scratchy. Higher quality linens are needed.
- Room cleanliness: Our room smelly very musty, almost like a basement with mildew

Overall the hotel was a great value for the location. The Outdoor amenities especially make it a worthwhile choice in Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Also Known As:
Madison Avenue Beach Club Hotel
Madison Avenue Beach Club Hotel Cape May
Madison Avenue Beach Hotel
Madison Avenue Beach Motel
Address: 605 Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.