We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun time for two couples traveling in Cape May” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Save Saved
You added Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   605 Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fun time for two couples traveling in Cape May”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I just finished a visit to Cape May, NJ with another couple. We all stayed at the Madison Avenue Beach Club and overall enjoyed our time there.

Things we liked:
- Location: easy walk to the beach and the Washington Square "Mall" (center of town)
- Trolley stop outside the hotel
- Outdoor area: patio tables and grills for guests to use (We spent a few evenings playing games and having snacks here.)
- Pool area: very clean, good mix of sun and shady spots

Things that could be improved:
- Linens: Both the sheets and towels were worn and scratchy. Higher quality linens are needed.
- Room cleanliness: Our room smelly very musty, almost like a basement with mildew

Overall the hotel was a great value for the location. The Outdoor amenities especially make it a worthwhile choice in Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This motel was exactly what my friends and I were looking for. It was clean and spacious. There were 4 friends traveling together and we had 2 rooms next to each other, great amount of space in the rooms, nice to have the little kitchenette in the room. Well maintained pool and grounds. Some areas are a little worn (like carpet in our room) but otherwise it was just what I had hoped. It's not right on the beach but it's a nice walk down to the water or into town. I would stay here again if/when I return to Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just completed a stay and were most pleased with the property. The management was friendly and accomodating. The room (Suncatcher Suite) was spacious enough for me, wife and kids (8 and 5). Location was ideal as it was easy to get to any number of beaches, Washington Street mall, Physick House, and was also on the trolley route! If you are the type of people who MAKE their own memories and do not rely on the property to do it for you, this is the place. If you are not pet people, do not worry. We stayed in a non-pet room and there was no evidence that it had every been used for pets of any kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenham, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The arrangement of the room, the A/C, the ability to accommodate our arrival by moving people around so we could stay in the same room and allowing our dog to be there was wonderful. We were a last minute reservation. The people work very hard to keep it clean and running smoothly. The pool was great. They knew local places for us to go with our dog. The only thing we still needed was restaurants that allowed dogs. They recommended 2 places, but one was closed by the time we got there. Our dog got ill and they information about vets in the area. I would go back!!!

Room Tip: Dogs need to be on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Every year my hsuband and I vacation in Cape May with our daughter and our dog. We have stayed at every pet friendly hotel in Cape May that there is and found out earlier in the year that the MABC was pet friendly so we figured we would give it a try. We loved it! It is the best pet friendly hotel/motel in Cape May. The office staff are wonderful and accomodating, you are never bothered. Housekpeeing does a phenomal job, the rooms are so clean that you would never know a pet was in your room. We stayed in the Sunset Suite which has a private bedroom with queen sized bed, full sized kitchen with all the cooking, drinking and eating amenities which includes a full sized refrigerator and table and chairs, living room has a pull out sofa bed. The Bathroom is large and has a washer and dryer. This suite was very roomy for the 3 of us and our a 150lb dog! Pool was beautiful and well maintained which includes a separate hot tub. Only suggestion would be to add another table and chair set with unbrella at the pool because currently there is only one. The office offers free passes to ride the trolley into town right outside of the hotel, which is so convenient. We will book our vacation for next summer early next year and definitely stay longer! We didn't want to leave! We will never stay at another pet friendly hotel in Cape May, MABC is the only place for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We traveled as a family with my daughter bringing a friend, so we needed more space than usual. we booked the second floor Sand Castle Suite. Although pricey, it exceeded my expectations. The kitchen was large and well furnished. The living/dining room was well decorated and comfortable, with a pullout sofa. The master bedroom had a king bed, with a good mattress. (I have back issues, and need a supportive mattress. I woke each day with NO back pain, and well rested.). The master bathroom had a jacuzzi tub (but no shower); the second bathroom had a standalone shower. The second bedroom was smalleer, with a double bed. There was also a washer/dryer in the unit, as well as flat screen tv's inthe living room and each of the bedrooms. The complex also has free wi -fi and cable tv. Our unit was very, very clean. Its spaciousness was greater than expected.

The outdoor pool was well maintained, and my children enjoyed it and the hot tub.

MABC is about eight blocks off the beach. Consequently, it is quieter than the more crowded beach front properties. However, it would be nice if MABC provided beach chairs/umbrellas at the beach, so guests did not have to haul all their stuff to and from the beach.

All in all,the accommodations were great and helped to create a a memorable Cape May vacation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in a Surf Studio Pet Friendly room with our 70lbs dog. The room was nicely updated and VERY clean. You would never know this was a pet friendly room! The space is limited, especially if you bring a dog crate with you…. (It is a studio), but the accommodations are more than adequate. The small kitchenette (with nice granite counters) allowed us to have breakfast and lunch in our room…which was nice for the budget. The staff and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. The location is about half a mile from the beach but about the same to the center of town. Location is nice if you bring a dog, because the quiet residential neighborhood allows for nice long walks with the pooch! The trolley stops right in front of the hotel for those of you who don’t want to drive. The pool was awesome and was a nice alternative to the beach. The only complaints I have is that parking is tight, however we parked our SUV behind the hotel in the bigger parking lot provided to avoid the congestion. Also, the water pressure in the shower is not very strong so be prepared to take a longer shower! We definitely will stay here again! This is the place to be if you go to Cape May!

Room Tip: All pet friendly rooms are on the bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Address: 605 Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Avenue Beach Club Hotel Cape May
Madison Avenue Beach Hotel
Madison Avenue Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.