We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it appears!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Save Saved
You added Victorian Motel to your Saves list
223 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Cape May
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than it appears!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for one night, on a Saturday, in August. Last minute booking, so we were very grateful they could accommodate us! At first glance, the place looks like an older motel that has seen better days. But the room we stayed in was completely updated and top notch. The bed was new and very comfortable, the AC unit was excellent, and you could tell the bathroom was completely re-done recently. Also great HD TV. Most importantly, the room was sound proof. The motel is in the heart of town off Washington Street Mall, so I was worried the noise would make sleeping and relaxing problematic. But once we closed our door, we really couldn't hear the outside world, and slept soundly. And I should mention the staff were very friendly and helpful, which made it all the nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    95
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
183
106
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been coming here for 12 years and just love it. We coordinate our week with 4 other couples and their children. Might not get to spend the whole week together(most of the time we do) but at least a few days. It our extended "beach" family. Service-
friendly,knowlegeable,approachable and very helpful. Value-can't beat the bang for your buck because of so many things: Location-at the end of the mall, 2 blocks from the beach, close to resturants and shops. Park for the week and walk where you need to go. Sit on the 2nd floor patio and people watch on the mall and weddings at Congress Hall. Rooms-spotless-the mng. wife checks after they have been cleaned.efficiency rooms are great.flat screen tv, renovated bathrooms are so pretty. Would like to see a flat screen in the bedroom area :-) Updates at the motel, coping around the pool is beautiful as well as the paint job, love the new umbrellas. We adore the managers who really run a fun, well maintained, clean and safe motel. John and Sue we luv ya-Your friends in Delaware Holly, Joe and Joseph

Room Tip: 2nd floor patio rooms are great-walk right out your door and you are on the patio. Keep in mind, peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Before we booked a room at the Victorian Motel we had a close friend that lives in Cape May go and check it out for us. He said it was very nice, clean and close to everything. He was right. And yes I would stay there again as you are within walking distance of most everything. One evening we ate at the Ugly Mug down the street and that was not good for an evening meal. It is more of a chicken wing and burger place. Next evening we had supper at the hotel accross the street from the Victorian Motel in the resturant of the Congress Hall Hotel. Pricy but much, much better. Also walked over to the Congress Hall Coffee Shop in the mornings for coffee to go. There is a decent full breakfast resturant behind the Congress Hall on the street by the beach.
If you don't want to go out first thing in the AM and are staying at the Victorian bring some coffee bags, sugar and milk to keep in your in-room fridge.
Again we were pleased....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have spent this 3 day weekend in Cape May for over 20 years with friends (3 other couples) at local B & Bs. They have since lost interest but WE are still enchanted and continue our "pilgrimage" each year reserving a room for Columbus weekend at really fair prices here compared to many of the offerings in the same neighborhood. There's much value in the size and appointments of the rooms, but I do agree with another reviewer-a coffeemaker would be the ultimate and really expected/assumed at even the budget chains...this is no chain, lots of caring, housekeeping evident from the owners/hosts...excellent location, very clean and will continue to receive our business-and that from family and friends we will send there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We chose the Victorian Motel based on the ratings on TripAdvisor, and were not disappointed! The location is wonderful, with Washington St. Mall directly across the street and the beach just a few blocks away. The weather in September was nice, and the pool was still open. The room was clean and comfortable. A coffeemaker in the room would be nice; even the lowest budget motel chains have those. Some guests brought their own. There is coffee available nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Ferry, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had to stay in Cape May for a wedding at Congress Hall. The Victorian offered a perfect location not only close to the wedding but literally steps away from Washington St shopping and dining and a short walk to the beach. Besides location, the rooms were modern and very clean and spacious. The staff was great! We also loved that there was a "kiddie" pool attatched the the regular pool. Because of this experience I will be staying at the Victorian the next time I visit Cape May. p.s. This motel was also very affordable!

Room Tip: We had 4 adults and 2 children and fit nicely in an efficiancy suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A great little gem in Cape May. Very friendly, clean, accommodating, great location, includes parking, renovated bathroom. We all forgot to bring shampoo and the front desk supplied. Used the grill at the pool for a meal of hamburgers and hot-dogs. Wonderful trip. Would do it again.

Room Tip: I like first floor convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptCookCapeMay, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback. We are in process of adding shampoon as an amentity and so glad you asked and we were able to provide.
At destination places like ours so many folks bring their own it hasnt been necessary.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope this is the first of many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Address: 223 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.