We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure on the Osprey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks

Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks
1218 Wilson Dr, Cape May, NJ 08204
609 884 3351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 30 Activities in Cape May
Type: Marinas, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fishing Boats Leaving Daily, March Thru December. 8AM Full Day Fishing, 9AM 3/4 Day Fishing, 8AM and 1PM Half Day Fishing, 7PM Full Night Fishing, Kayak Rentals, Tours, Surfing, and Sales. Rod and reel Rentals. Bait and Tackle. Whale Watching. Dolphin Watching. Bird Watching. Charter Boats. Fish Cleaning, Eco-Tours, Cruise Boats, Private Charters up to 400 people.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Adventure on the Osprey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We liked the slow trip through the marshes around Cape May. The staff were quite knowledgable and helped us identify many birds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back Bay boat ride on the Osprey was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Miss Chris marina offers two hour back bay boat rides on the Osprey, an amazing experience for anyone birding in Cape May. Bob, the boat operator, knows his birds, and knows where to find them. We saw night herons, a clapper rail, oyster catchers, a peregrin falcon roosting beneath the water tower. Bob maneuvered the boat into places we'd never get to on our own, and made sure everyone had a chance to see the birds we wouldn't know how to look for. He knows the salt marshes, the bay, and the birds, and is happy to share what he knows.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it a zero”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We bought a groupon deal for this place last year. The online site said they closed at 5. We got there at 2 and the guy was absolutely rude and miserable from the second we walked up. He told us we were too late so we left. We called to see what time they close today and the recording said they're open til 7. We got there at 3 and the same miserable guy told us we were too late. We said we called and the recording said it closes at 7. He responded with incredible attitude "that's not my responsibility". I don't know how these people stay in business with a guy like that running it. We drove 2 hrs to get here each time. We would neverhave came back the 2nd time if we didn't already pay for the tickets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53951Bob, Owner at Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Kayak Rentals were closed on the day these people came to kayak due to Gale Warnings with winds exceeding 40MPH. Sept 23. Check the weather. Them wanting to kayak does not override safety concerns. If they had complied with their groupon requirements and called ahead they could have been told. No fishing boats sailed that day due to the weather and the tackle shop was only open for people seeking fishing information for the week. We have serviced over 2000 kayak rentals through various deals without problems or complaint but we will not let a customer endanger themselves just to allow them to have their way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bad experience as a boater at the marina.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this marina four years ago and it was great. Unfortunately not this time. The two slips available for rent have shoaled so badly that we were sitting in mud at low tide. The owner should have been upfront with us when we asked prior to arrival. He tried to justify that by saying it would be the same at any marinaIn the area. Not so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53951Bob, Owner at Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
The owner was told of the water depth and that all boats at the marina would be sitting on the silty mud during the astronomically low tides during the new moon. I apologize to this boat owner that the moon has an effect on the tides. The high tides are high and the low tides are low. When he asked for a refund he got it then delayed leaving as long as he could while trying to talk the neighboring boat into leaving also. The other boat (much larger) stayed two more days and had quite a nice time. Boats up to 78 feet have stayed at the dock with no problems. I'm not sure what more we could have done for him than refund his money when he asked. Apparently he would have liked his money refunded and then been allowed to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was recently on a whale and dolphin watching tour out of this marina and upon our return I overheard talk about a "touch tank" on the dock that is used by Osprey Tours. A group of young concerned individuals were inquiring about the condition of the tank and the animals it housed. They were very professional and seemed to just be concerned. Captain Robert Lubberman identified himself as the owner of the touch tank as he approached this group. He insulted them and was extremely rude. I was appalled by his behavior. These people brought to his attention that he had an endangered turtle that was protected in his tank. He admitted that the turtle was indeed a diamond back terrapin. Not only did he have an, I don't care attitude, he actually said, "I do not care". To which that one young lady stated, "well you should and you should be thankful that others do care". For a person whose business thrives on the wildlife there in Cape May he handle this situation terribly. It was in poor taste and not the way one should conduct business. There were much better ways to handle the questions he was being asked. It was obvious that the one young man there had a knowledge about the animals being held captive there and was just speaking out of concern. I am glad I stuck around to listen in and witness the conversation that took place. It is bad enough that these animals are being kept there for the purpose of entertainment but the conditions they were kept in were completely unacceptable. The shark couldn't even swim properly because the water wasn't deep enough for him to be submerged and the turtle's shell was covered in algae. I will not support any of the businesses who Captain Lubberman is working for until these animals are released and this filthy touch tank is removed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53951Bob, Owner at Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
The terrapin in question was the last of 4 which we were asked to attempt to acclimate to the wild by a State Park Ranger that had been brought to a NJ State Park after being raised in private homes. We provided live food (shrimp, shiners, crabs) that the turtle would eat in the wild until we were satisfied they were eating on their own. The other 3 had been released several weeks prior.

The tank water level was being lowered for cleaning. Water was running into the tank and was being maintained at that level. We scrub the tank and siphon out the dirty water through a hose.

The so called expert in the group was trying to incite his group by pointing out various reasons why this was a captured wild terrapin which was simply not the case. The response "I don't care" was in response to his false accusation. I allowed them to release the terrapin and will no longer be able to assist the Park Rangers in their efforts with these home-raised terrapins.

I am sure this could have been handled better but I was not happy being falsely accused of something after having put out a great deal of effort on behalf of those 4 terrapins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Chris Marina and Kayaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.