We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Center of Cape May

Nature Center of Cape May
1600 Delaware Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
609-898-8848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Attractions in Cape May
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Harbor in Cape May City, this learning center and exhibit aquaria is dedicated to providing environmental education for people of all ages.
Nqlimor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great place to go on a rainy beach day. This is where i learned that horseshoe crabs have blue blood!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
National Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Nature Center of Cape May. Is a great place to visit, especially for bird lovers in the fall. They have marches with plenty of overlooks. You can walk along the beach and there are plenty of Nature trails to hike and see many verities of Birds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green4859
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Educational and fun place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went to the Nature Center during our stay at Cape May during the Labor Day Weekend. We spent most of our morning there just checking out what they have. We enjoyed ourselves checking out the fish and other creatures they had for exhibits. The tower was a great place to see a beautiful view of Cape May Harbor. We were able to relax and read at the upstairs lounge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small nature center, interesting marine animals in summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Nature Center of Cape May is located on Cape May Harbor, with a nice view of the boats and harbor birds. The center's focus is on their education programs, and they also offer kayak rentals and tours of the harbor, as well as paddle-board rentals.

The main building features a sizable gift shop with nature-themed items, an observation tower over the harbor, and displays of shells, bones, feathers and other nature items. A separate building houses aquariums with marine animals for viewing in the summer season. We enjoyed our personal tour from the knowledgeable teen intern.

There are other small buildings used for education programs. Parking is available on the street. Admission is free but donations are welcome.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Educational hands on fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Seeing, touching, doing, that's what the Nature Center of Cape May is all about. A nice man took us through to the marsh with a seine net and we collected all sorts of marine life. We learned how to tell a male from a female crab-my son still remembers! A little marine education on our vacation was a great way to spend a morning in Cape May.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Center of Cape May also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Nature Center of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Center of Cape May, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.