We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who was Cooking?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caldwell Seafood Market & Cafe

Caldwell Seafood Market & Cafe
390 Bloomfield Avenue, Caldwell, NJ 07006
973 226 2031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Caldwell
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Who was Cooking?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Caldwell Seafood Market & Cafe is the premier go to place for seafood in the area.
We like their cooked seafood as well.

But something was not right the recent evening I picked up a to go order.

Ordered steamed clams - perfect.
Also got the lightly breaded seafood combo. Scallops were burnt, yes, bread crumbs burnt and scallops were chewy - not tender, shrimp were definately not jumbo and also tough, fish was tasty - once the bread crumb crust was removed -also over cooked.. French fries were soggy and I did not receive coleslaw which was part of the meal.

This meal was not up to their normal high quality standards and our previous happy dining with them. Their prices are not cheap.

Enjoy, but just be careful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hmmmm...left with a bad taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went to Caldwell Seafood last night for take out. I ordered the shrimp with escarole and beans. Aside from some very small, but very hard object in the meal, it was good. My husband ordered the lobster tails and scallops in a pink sauce with black linguine. It was just ok and the linguine was not black. The entrees came with absolutely nothing...no side salads...no bread, even though the shrimp was listed with garlic toast. We were a bit put off by the prices as we were charged more than the listed prices on their website. Even when I mentioned the price difference to the man who checked us out, he said the prices were the same on the website, and he did nothing. I thought I might have been mistaken, but I checked the prices on the website again, and I was correct. We were charged $3. more than the posted prices online. I called and spoke to the same man. He apologized and said he would reimburse us the next time we come in, but he didn't ask for our name, so I doubt that will happen. That left a bad taste, and I'm not sure we'll return anytime soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Shrimp cocktail to start was good. Sauce was okay.
We had the grilled salmon and grilled swordfish. Both were good. Atmosphere is simple. Bring your own beer and wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“If you like seafood, here is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

A fresh fish market in the back and a plain, simple restaurant in the front and great seafood dishes including pasta, broiled and fried. My favorite is grilled shrimp with escarole and beans. Nothing fancy, but can't beat the seafood here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best seafood place in the area. Bring your appatite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Started with a crab cocktail ( it was so good I bearly got a photo before it was gone). Then the grilled flounder special with lobster risotto I had the fried flounder and the other folks had the sea scollops Suggest splitting a meal unless your a world class eater.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caldwell Seafood Market & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Caldwell Seafood Market & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldwell Seafood Market & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.