We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overhyped - still good but pricey and average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calandra's Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Calandra's Bakery
234 Bloomfield Ave, Caldwell, NJ 07006 (Formerly Il Vecchio Cafe)
(973) 226-8889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Calandra's Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Caldwell
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bloomfield Ave
Description: The Calandra Family welcomes you to "Calandras Italian Village". The Calandras passion for their Italian heritage and the importance of family values and traditions is evident throughout the "Villaggio Italiano.” Experience the old world atmosphere with European charm. Calandras il Vecchio Café where you and your family can enjoy homemade pastas, panini sandwiches, burgers, entrees and salads as well as pizza, flatbreads and calzones made with natural whole grain ingredients on our stone deck wood burning oven.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“overhyped - still good but pricey and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Calandra's monolith has overgrown itself. The bakery is no better than any other although prices are higher. Not worth a special trip - stick with the bread if you go, other bakery items are average to subpar.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    24
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average food/overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We were seated outside and, frankly, you forget that you are in Essex County. They did a great job with the ambiance of the restaurant-both inside and out.
I've been to the restaurant for lunch, but this was my first time for dinner. The bread and cheese comes and it's fabulous. They deserve their fine reputation for their bread.
I ordered a chicken dish with white beans and spinach. The chicken came out looking like it was baked (pale with no marks) and tasted pretty much like I cooked it. My wife's tilapia/shrimp dish was served cold. The restaurant was busy, but not packed. This should not have happened. When you couple this with the fact that the average price of our meals was $25, and a bottle of beer is $7.25, the experience was a bit disappointing.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wow, this bakery is awesome. Great selection of miniature pastrys and giant cupcakes. Great service, kind and friendly ladies behind the counter.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Italian Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great place for a really good italian meal. Freshly baked bread served warm with olive oil and grated parmesan cheese (YUM!). Excellent salads and daily specials. I had the shrimp risotto, it was excellent. Good wine selection and they even allow you a sample. If you don't want to eat dessert right away, a copy of your receipt is worth 20% off the bakery goods. Take a nice stroll around the wine store and deli then end up at the bakery for scrupmtious dessert. Near the deli has cappuccino bar too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River NJ
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Italian Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

What fun is this place, had to buy the pepperoni bread to take home You can just come for a pie and a glass of wine, but we had made the reservation DO IT , and ate in the formal dining room, they also have a bar area where a young man played his guitar. Very noisy in there.They have a party room that sits about 25-30 which is great, and off the main door way.
But take the time to see the extensive food products that are guarenteed Italian.
Well known in the neighbor a family tradition at 234 bloofmield ave. We got there at 7 with a reservation and still had to wait 25 minutes, the kitchen was slow
the veal saltibucca was great, but did not come with a salad they charge about 6 for a small side salad, but the bread came with fresh oil and grated parmesan at your table.
enjoy , great for families for sure. Outfdoor seating in the better weather with MUSIC!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calandra's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Calandra's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calandra's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.