We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt gastro pub

Salt gastro pub
Salt, Byram, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Byram
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3rd time eating at Salt and I ordered the hangar steak this time, it was delicous!! Great atmosphere, we were here on a Friday night; they had a cover band which was great :) Salt is definitely a favorite for my bf and me :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went for an early dinner at Salt with our 5 month old son. They were super helpful in helping us set up his car seat at the table and he loved the live music, which was not overwhelming or loud. Food was also delicious. It's not that cheap, but worth a trip if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleville, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped here after a walk through nearby Waterloo Village with friends last Saturday. We had been wanting to try the restaurant for a while and were happy we did. We were seated promptly and took some time to peruse the menu. Lots of interesting choices. My wife had the catfish fillets, our friends each had a different steak dish, and I had sea scallops with portabella mushrooms and bacon chunks. We each agreed that our meal was excellent. We will be sure to stop again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Eat here about 20 times per year, & why (?) Simply the best !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great kitchen, not pub grub, although burgers & hand cut fries are on their menu
Seasonal menu changes !
Daily soups, salads & specials !
Food is the best in the county, if not the region !
They have an amazing herd of beers both on tap & in bottle !
A satellite Salt exists nearby for beer & food samplings !!!
& get this...
a couple of nights per month, musical performing artists of note & fame perform there; been about 5 times, it's special & intimate !
This is our favorite place in NJ/PA, great good, casual & a great village bohemian interior !!!
We often lunch there after mountain biking in local State Park !
Just go~~~you'll love it !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt gastro pub also viewed

Been to Salt gastro pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt gastro pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.