We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value...but no frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 International Drive South, Budd Lake, NJ 07828   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Budd Lake
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value...but no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is a nice size room in a good location. Easy access to Routes 80, 46 & 206. Plenty of restaurant choices and retail near by. There is access to a Walmart, supermarkets & drugstores near by. I was traveling with my family and we needed to stock up so this was a pleasant surprise that everything was so close by. The room itself is a standard chain hotel room. It was clean so that is all we asked. I call this a great value because it was significantly cheaper then surrounding hotel options

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
5
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Front desk hard to understand. Forget about rig parking. DONT TAKE ANYTHING LONGER THAN A 40 ft TRAILER AROUND BACK. Corridors smelled like burnt fish. No front desk 11pm to 7 am. I can't believe in an "International Trade Zone" this place and the holiday inn exist as they do. In the area maybe try the Marriot. Haven't been there yet but can't be worse.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This review is late, but well deserved... My college girlfriend got married during Columbus Day weekend 2013 in Parsippany/Whippany. Everything was booked, except StayAmerica in Budd Lake. I made the reservations and booked promptly online.

Drove from DC to NJ, and was a bit tired. But check-in was smooth. The manager (pardon me, I forgot her name) was nice and efficient. Upon entering our room, we were surprised by the cleanliness and space (see pictures). Amenities and snacks were offered at the desk, and available in the room, as well as food menus. There is a Chilli's, Walmart, mini-mall, McDonald's, and Staples nearby.

The only complaint I have is the bottom of the tub. I know those stains are HARD to remove, and the tub was cleaned thoroughly. However, a re-glazing will remedy that. I have no other complaints.

My family and I were impressed and enjoyed our stay. If we're ever in the area again, we will stay here again. The layout was clean, and welcoming. Thank you to the staff for making our visit awesome!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I work in the PTAC industry and immediately removed the cover to the Packaged Terminal Air Conditioner (in the room I stayed in) and the amount of debris and filth hidden by the unit's cover was sheer negligence. As I did not pull out the unit it was impossible to view the underlying drainage pan - but I'm guessing it had a large amount of long standing moldy bacterial water in it. This can be very dangerous and harmful to any guest even for a one night stay - even worse for longer stays with children. As an informed guest it is also your responsibility to check the PTAC in every hotel room you stay in. Because you are the one who will be breathing in the contaminated air during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The situation you described regarding the PTAC unit in your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I am going to talk to my Maintenance Engineer to ensure that he does a thorough cleaning of all of our PTAC units so we can provide more great stays our guests in the future.

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please feel free to contact me directly, at mto@@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This "Hotwire secret deal" turned out very good, as most do. Son is buying a home in the area and we needed a central base to work from and this is a good location, nice, quiet, and clean with very good free secure WIFI. The "complementary" breakfast is packaged muffins and fruit which is ok, but the coffee is really good. FYI, as this is an extended stay, don't expect daily housekeeping but you can get all the towels you want, and making a bed is no big deal...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Front Office Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our delicious coffee as well as our property's location. We thrive to impress our guests and accommodate them with all they need.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel frequently, and I must say the service here is wonderful. Kimberly has been very accommodating and even remembers me as a frequent guest, which is impressive due to the volume this hotel has. It is a great value and I will keep going back because it is clean, convenient, and the service is the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
The team and I appreciate your wonderful remarks. I am proud of our team for providing you with excellent service, especially Kimberly for acknowledging you every time you come to visit us. Our guests, just like yourself, are of utmost importance to us.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I think this place is fair with their price. Their front desk are really nice and friendly. The grab and go breakfast is good but its just until 9.30 and I woke up late. Still one of the front desk was nice enough to give me some coffee and muffins. My room was very clean and I called the front desk to ask for a pizza # they immediately helped me (which was really nice). I don't know what the other comment is talking about because the breakfast was free and also there is not pool there, so how can they have it under maintenance if there isn't one. Well my experience in the hotel was overall good .. I would def. come back to this place if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such an outstanding review. It's great to hear that our wonderful staff was able to help you and accommodate your needs. I am also pleased to hear that you found your room clean and enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake

Address: 71 International Drive South, Budd Lake, NJ 07828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Budd Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Budd Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.